Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:23 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 9  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:33 am 
Offline
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 71
GPS: ASUS P535
oh yea..
another thing, where can we can more voice clip?

1st alarm at 500m is too short, i'm trying to set it to 800m
2nd alarm at 250m is even too near, mine is set to 500m

if 1st warning at 500m, most probably you've already kena tangkap by the camera.. hehe

i'm trying to look for something like "Warning... speed camera infront"

or if possible, give the distance is even better..


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:52 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
richnet wrote:
I found some errors within the database, how can I update it?

Any feedbacks regarding wrong location of Speedtrap POIs, etc should be posted at the Speedtrap POIs thread maintained by Bro Pauchai.

Anyway, what kind of error do you mean?

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 1:18 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
richnet wrote:
oh yea..
another thing, where can we can more voice clip?

1st alarm at 500m is too short, i'm trying to set it to 800m
2nd alarm at 250m is even too near, mine is set to 500m

if 1st warning at 500m, most probably you've already kena tangkap by the camera.. hehe

i'm trying to look for something like "Warning... speed camera infront"

or if possible, give the distance is even better..

More alert sounds:
1. speedcam 500.wav = Attention! Speed Camera in 500 mtrs!
2. speedcam 1k.wav = Attention! Speed Camera in 1 km!
3. speedcam ahead.wav = Attention! Speed Camera ahead!


Attachments:
speedcam alerts.zip [187.4 KiB]
Downloaded 108 times

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.
Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 7:16 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:02 am
Posts: 21
Location: Alor Star
GPS: Garmin Que Version 2.9 + O2 IIs
Bro Dvpro,

Thanks for the additional speed limit file. Very much appreciated.

:tq: & :good:


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 9:46 am 
Offline
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 71
GPS: ASUS P535
thanks bro.. :) nice voice clips...

regarding the distance for 1st and 2nd alarm... after i set the distance and i tried today...
fuh yoh... my device is sooooooo 'bising' la...
hehe. i'm living in Penang island, small island ma..

my setting is:
1st alarm : 800m
2nd alarm : 500m

these are all in radius, where if i'm not on that road, it will detect any speedcam POI within that radius.. I pass by under the penang bridge, but the device bising for the cam on the bridge.. i pass by queensbay there, the cam bising for the cam on the coastal...

I'm thinking of re-setup the distance.. any good recommendation other than 500 and 250 ?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 9:50 am 
Offline
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 71
GPS: ASUS P535
hmm....

this is not for voice clip or distance.. but more on the settings..
last night, i was playing with the settings, then i found out that, i can actually run the speed sentry without GPSproxy... hehe

now, I can setup 2 settings...

1st settings
- GPSProxy on with virtual port com3 and com5
- GarminQue port set to com5
- Speedsentry port set to com3

2nd settings
- GPSProxy disabled.
- GarminQue not running
- Speedsentry port set to com2 (GPS device)
- tick on the SIFR chipset in the settings area.
- it works and it seems faster than going thru the GPSProxy.

But I think the 1st setting more suitable but it seems there's a little bit of delay there.
Anyone tried this before?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:37 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
richnet wrote:
thanks bro.. :) nice voice clips...

regarding the distance for 1st and 2nd alarm... after i set the distance and i tried today...
fuh yoh... my device is sooooooo 'bising' la...
hehe. i'm living in Penang island, small island ma..

my setting is:
1st alarm : 800m
2nd alarm : 500m

these are all in radius, where if i'm not on that road, it will detect any speedcam POI within that radius.. I pass by under the penang bridge, but the device bising for the cam on the bridge.. i pass by queensbay there, the cam bising for the cam on the coastal...

I'm thinking of re-setup the distance.. any good recommendation other than 500 and 250 ?

Since the POI got no elevation data, no way to tell if the Speedcam is above or under. But to minimise "false alerts" you can at least set a narrower detection angle, that way approaching Speedcams which are directly infront of you will be alerted, the rest at the sides out of the angle will be ignored. But of course, you have to go thru trial and error to get the optimal setting for the detection angle.

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:44 am 
Offline
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 71
GPS: ASUS P535
my current detection angle is set at 60 degress. (default)
is that too much?

got anyone tried with a good settings?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:13 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Not sure about optimal settings, just remember that the detection angle value is for each side, so if you set at 30, the detection angle is 60°.


Attachments:
detect-angle.gif
detect-angle.gif [ 7.04 KiB | Viewed 542 times ]

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.
Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:28 am 
Offline
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 71
GPS: ASUS P535
ooo
cool info bro...

i just set my detection angle to 30.
hopefully it's better.. gonna try it in a short while when going for lunch.. :)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group