GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

Discussions on Palm /Windows Mobile PDA & PDA Phone + GPS combo

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
genkis3
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 12:35 am
GPS: holux m1000 + dopod838pro
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#51 Post by genkis3 » Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:47 am

help~~ im using gps speed sentry 1.52 + mapking g10 ,if i open this 2 program together, the speed sentry will keep repeating disconnect/reconnect to gps... if close mapking, no problem at all. anyone using mapking facing this problem? issit cause by using same port for this 2 software?
now i only can choose either one to use... :(

User avatar
araboy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 7:18 pm
GPS: Mobile 10X on Ipaq 2490(Navigating)
GPSProxy on ASUS P535 (tracking)
WM6 on ASUS P750 (phone)
Location: Ara Damansara
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#52 Post by araboy » Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:33 am

dear bro,
u can try the built in com splitting software in 'start';'settings';'system';'gps';'programs' with program port fixed to a free com port and at 'hardware' tab fixed to gps device port. i understand the 'program port' is able to feed a number of programs like mapking and sentry. before loading the prgs, you may have to soft reset first. if cannot prg gpsgate can help. happy trying

genkis3
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 12:35 am
GPS: holux m1000 + dopod838pro
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#53 Post by genkis3 » Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:14 am

thanks alot!!!
it works!

User avatar
sabre23t
Councillor
Councillor
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi1350 and Google Maps Android
Location: Klang, Selangor
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#54 Post by sabre23t » Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:58 am

I think this thread is worth a sticky, right guys? :mrgreen:
The world is my 4sq venue!

drthein71
Regular
Regular
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:50 pm
GPS: Dopod d810 on Mapking 2007 and Garmin Que
Nuvi 310
Location: KL
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#55 Post by drthein71 » Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:09 am

Hi sifus,
Some newbie doubts that I have

1)I'm running on GPS proxy 2.2c with garmin que.
I am able to connect to GPS when running on GPS Speed sentry independently without using the Garmin que but when I run my GPS proxy 2.2c with garmin que and GPS sentry together either the GPS proxy or the Speed Sentry gets disconnected. Ineed to use the GPS proxy in order to view the latest Malsing maps
That means I can't run both these applications together..am I right here ?

Second question, if it is possible to run both applications ie. Speed sentry and GPS proxy 2.2 together what are the necessary settings required?

My current impression is that I can't use GPS proxy 2.2c with GPS sentry simultaneously or can the sentry only run along Franson GPS gate ?

Kindly advise
TQ

User avatar
araboy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 7:18 pm
GPS: Mobile 10X on Ipaq 2490(Navigating)
GPSProxy on ASUS P535 (tracking)
WM6 on ASUS P750 (phone)
Location: Ara Damansara
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#56 Post by araboy » Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:17 pm

gps proxy can be activated to have function similar to gpsgate prg
gpsproxy will feed to both
a)garmin que through the garmin protocol output( under gpsproxy-'menu';'extensions';'gps protocol output';'configure';'..')choose a com port which is a gpsproxy virtual com port and to be the same as (under garmin q-'menu';'system setup';'interface';'communication port')
b)gps speedsentry will then feed through the output com port (under gpsproxy-'menu'; 'extensions';under gps provider'configure';under output com port;'..') choose another com port which is a gpsproxy virtual com port. click'ok' and tick mirror gps input to output port.
c)two virtual com ports will be required -under gpsproxy 'menu';virtual com ports:;'add' com ports as required.
d) under c above, in order to free for the two gpsproxy virtual com ports , i used gpsgate to remove association between com 3 with irrcom and com 4 with irda as my pda dont have infra red and tv remote communications.(click "output" tab,select from list "Virtual Com Port", click "Add",click "More" under new window 'for advanced users only',click "edit", select active com ports to be removed, click "remove" as required. if u change ur mind u can "activate" back under 'removed com ports' window. ) of course all under owner's own risk. my p535 requires above adjustments before can operate proxy.
rgds
Last edited by araboy on Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

drthein71
Regular
Regular
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:50 pm
GPS: Dopod d810 on Mapking 2007 and Garmin Que
Nuvi 310
Location: KL
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#57 Post by drthein71 » Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:35 pm

araboy wrote:gps proxy can be activated to have function similar to gpsgate prg
gpsproxy will feed to both
a)garmin que through the garmin protocol output( under gpsproxy-'menu';'extensions';'gps protocol output';'configure';'..')choose a com port which is a gpsproxy virtual com port and to be the same as (under garmin q-'menu';'system setup';'interface';'communication port')
b)gps speedsentry will then feed through the output com port (under gpsproxy-'menu'; 'extensions';under gps provider'configure';under output com port;'..') choose another com port which is a gpsproxy virtual com port. click'ok' and tick mirror gps input to output port.
c)two virtual com ports will be required -under gpsproxy 'menu';virtual com ports:;'add' com ports as required.
d) under c above, in order to free for the two gpsproxy virtual com ports , i used gpsgate to remove association between com 3 with irrcom and com 4 with irda as my pda dont have infra red and tv remote communications.
rgds

Hi araboy,

Followed your steps till "C" then didn't know how to proceed . After some trial and error on my sentry and proxy settings I managed to get the sentry,Gpsproxy and Que working simultaneously without problems :thumbsup:
I've totally disabled my Franson GPS gate altogether

My settings:

On GPS Sentry:
Menu ..setup...Com Port -Com4: GPSproxy VirtualCOM Port...Baud Rate 4800

On GPSProxy
Menu..extensions..NMEA input..configure..GPS com Port- COM9
enable Mirror GPS input to output port

Output COM Port- COM4
GPS protocol output...configure...Application COM Port- COM2

Under Garmin Que
Menu...System set up...Interface...Communications Port- GPSProxy Virtual COM Port on COM2

With these setup the the sentry GPS proxy and Que run flawlessly.
I'm currently using the trial /unregistered version of the Sentry.
Ha Ha now need to get the full/registered version :wink:

Anyway thanks for your tips..really useful :tq:
Cheers

bmcdonald
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:52 pm
GPS: Dopod 810
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#58 Post by bmcdonald » Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:51 pm

dvpro wrote:The latest Speedtraps POIs in CSV converted from Mapking: Speedtraps POIs v2.02 in .POI format updated 6-Sep-2007 compiled by Bro Pauchai. Unzip and import this file into GPS Speed Sentry.
Where can I get GPS Speed Sentry? I am using Garmin Que.

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#59 Post by dvpro » Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:56 pm

bmcdonald wrote:
dvpro wrote:The latest Speedtraps POIs in CSV converted from Mapking: Speedtraps POIs v2.02 in .POI format updated 6-Sep-2007 compiled by Bro Pauchai. Unzip and import this file into GPS Speed Sentry.
Where can I get GPS Speed Sentry? I am using Garmin Que.
Pls see first post of this thread, and BTW :welcome: to Malsingmaps.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

drthein71
Regular
Regular
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:50 pm
GPS: Dopod d810 on Mapking 2007 and Garmin Que
Nuvi 310
Location: KL
Contact:

Re: GPS Speed Sentry & Garmin Que

#60 Post by drthein71 » Sun Nov 04, 2007 8:17 pm

Have been using the GPS speed sentry along with Garmin Que for a couple of weeks. Am using the Sept SPEEDTRAPS_V202_070906.CSV.zip
Results: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
System very stable. The advantage of speed sentry over the GPI format of Nuvis is that there will be two alert sounds before approaching the speed cameras which in this case depending on the distance before the camera that you set into the Speed sentry system. For me my first alert is 1000m before approaching the camera which should give me ample time to slow down. The second alert is 500m before reaching the camera. I've set the angle of detection to 60 degrees.
I find this setup ok for me.
The only downside is if you're travelling i a vicinity filled with speed cameras then your unit will be very noisy :rolleyes:
But I think I can tolerate this.
Overall I'm fully satisfied with this programme (have purchased the registered version of speed sentry)
Now hope to get the new updated speed traps for the Que/csv file/POI format

Cheers

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests