Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 5:51 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:11 pm 
Offline
Regular
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:57 am
Posts: 110
GPS: Garmin GPS 10x + iPAQ hx2750 (Holux GPslim236 backup)
OK just reached Ipoh.. GPS showing speed about 10kmh liddat less than the speedo.. I guess its right, Stock sppedo is the one thats not that accurate.. still analog speed.. but i realize at higher speeds the GPS and the car speedo accurate. Tried at 205kmh, speedo and GPS show same speed..

_________________
Please view my featured blog at Cnet Asia: http://asia.cnet.com/member/Prometheus/blog/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 5:42 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 105
Location: Shanghai, PRC
GPS: No GPS
Prometheus wrote:
Tried at 205kmh, speedo and GPS show same speed..

Wow!!...so fast aaa.....what car u drive.... [-X but be carefull becos now is bus accident season... :zzz: :ko:

_________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/keroll23/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 5:57 pm 
Offline
Community POI leader
Community POI leader
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 77
Location: Sydney
GPS: Nuvi 310 (OZ)
pelurusilver wrote:

:-k mm... the logic is there. but why arr like that? gpsr should updated by satelite rite then push it to the pda/mobile.
seems like the satelite "overlooked" where the btgpsr meh.. :ko:

coz of that I missed 2 turn so far using this GPS. just driving 100kph in the highway. :fire:


The GPS updates is always given.. it is how the program treats it. One or 2 spurious data may wreak havoc if the software doesn't know how to manage the stream of data coming in.

What if your satellite data got one error.. then it recalculate for no apparent reason because a tree block a bit and it detect that you are on the foot path instead of the road..

So of course the unit needs to be error tolerant..

Plus your CPU need to redraw the maps, especially when it is 3D. And need to check for POI to see if need to alert you to speedtrap.. Need to constantly check that you are on the route that is given.. And need to constantly check if the distance is near the next turn to give you audio warning..

100km/h on highway can miss 2 exits ?

Or you driving 100km/h in residential road ?

_________________
---------------
Blur Blur Sotong


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:22 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:14 pm
Posts: 51
Location: PENANG GEORGETOWN
GPS: GPSlim240
HTC P3452
MapkingG10
GMXT
GPSProxy
[quote ...Tried at 205kmh, speedo and GPS show same speed..[/quote] :thumbsup:

Bro,

slow slow lah.. Drive until speed 205kmh must take care the safety first, :shock: not a gps...
[-X [-X


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:50 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:07 pm
Posts: 486
Location: Langkawi
GPS: Nuvi 1350
Nuvi 55LM
As always my setting's Que (PDA) shows slower speed than my car's speedometer. But last night I tried with my notebook, just a GPS reading software that shows speed and location, the speed is almost same as car's speedometer.

Somehow Que is slower, maybe because of GPSProxy since I am not using Garmin GPSR.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:02 am 
Offline
Regular
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:55 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Ampang
GPS: Dopod 838 Pro/N73
I iBlue 737/10x
GMXT/Mapking
sotongkia wrote:
pelurusilver wrote:

:-k mm... the logic is there. but why arr like that? gpsr should updated by satelite rite then push it to the pda/mobile.
seems like the satelite "overlooked" where the btgpsr meh.. :ko:

coz of that I missed 2 turn so far using this GPS. just driving 100kph in the highway. :fire:


The GPS updates is always given.. it is how the program treats it. One or 2 spurious data may wreak havoc if the software doesn't know how to manage the stream of data coming in.

What if your satellite data got one error.. then it recalculate for no apparent reason because a tree block a bit and it detect that you are on the foot path instead of the road..

So of course the unit needs to be error tolerant..

Plus your CPU need to redraw the maps, especially when it is 3D. And need to check for POI to see if need to alert you to speedtrap.. Need to constantly check that you are on the route that is given.. And need to constantly check if the distance is near the next turn to give you audio warning..

100km/h on highway can miss 2 exits ?

Or you driving 100km/h in residential road ?


1stly i never been used that h/way before. further more when u reach the intersection like this with 100kph speed and u r 100% rely on the gps.
like i said, becoz of the late update, i missed it. #-o


Attachments:
[The extension bmp has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]
Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:31 am 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 11
GPS: Vista Cx
S'pore-R 3.97
Malsing NT5.27
The speedo of my car matches the speed reported in my Vista Cx.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 5:37 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:07 pm
Posts: 486
Location: Langkawi
GPS: Nuvi 1350
Nuvi 55LM
pelurusilver wrote:
sotongkia wrote:
pelurusilver wrote:
The GPS updates is always given.. it is how the program treats it. One or 2 spurious data may wreak havoc if the software doesn't know how to manage the stream of data coming in.

What if your satellite data got one error.. then it recalculate for no apparent reason because a tree block a bit and it detect that you are on the foot path instead of the road..

100km/h on highway can miss 2 exits ?

Or you driving 100km/h in residential road ?


1stly i never been used that h/way before. further more when u reach the intersection like this with 100kph speed and u r 100% rely on the gps.
like i said, becoz of the late update, i missed it. #-o


1. When routing, should always set "Show Location" to "On Roads".
2. GPS is meant to assist navigation, not to drive your car for you. If someone knows that a turn is coming and still maintain driving speed at 100kph, then it's a user problem, not the GPS system, or GPSr or PDA or whatever. If anyone expects relies on GPS 100%, he/she is better off getting a cab.
3. Dont blame on the late update, instead zoom out a little more to see further and expect your turn coming, slow down. This is basic driving skill.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 9:08 am 
Offline
Regular
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:55 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Ampang
GPS: Dopod 838 Pro/N73
I iBlue 737/10x
GMXT/Mapking
[quote=

1. When routing, should always set "Show Location" to "On Roads".
2. GPS is meant to assist navigation, not to drive your car for you. If someone knows that a turn is coming and still maintain driving speed at 100kph, then it's a user problem, not the GPS system, or GPSr or PDA or whatever. If anyone expects relies on GPS 100%, he/she is better off getting a cab.
3. Dont blame on the late update, instead zoom out a little more to see further and expect your turn coming, slow down. This is basic driving skill.[/quote]

yeah.. u r rite =D>

lelong..!! lelong..!! Evo 6 for RM20k. =P~ :$gone: =P~ :$gone: =P~


err.. by the way, how to zoom out/in in mapking without it automatically zoom back to normal. ](*,) ](*,) ](*,)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 10:03 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:19 am
Posts: 28
GPS: nüvi 200, finally!
Silverbullet: Actually I know that stretch of road, coming from Putrajaya Link right? I don't think is your GPS problem, it's the map. I have been driving to Cyberjaya for the past week and my Nuvi200 always fails on that "Ring of Death"... So, for that part of the road, I strongly recommend watching out for the sign.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group