How Fast Your GPS Updating

Discussions on Palm /Windows Mobile PDA & PDA Phone + GPS combo

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Prometheus
Regular
Regular
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:57 am
GPS: Garmin GPS 10x + iPAQ hx2750 (Holux GPslim236 backup)
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#11 Post by Prometheus » Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:11 pm

OK just reached Ipoh.. GPS showing speed about 10kmh liddat less than the speedo.. I guess its right, Stock sppedo is the one thats not that accurate.. still analog speed.. but i realize at higher speeds the GPS and the car speedo accurate. Tried at 205kmh, speedo and GPS show same speed..
Please view my featured blog at Cnet Asia: http://asia.cnet.com/member/Prometheus/blog/

User avatar
khanuar23
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: No GPS
Location: Shanghai, PRC
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#12 Post by khanuar23 » Wed Aug 22, 2007 5:42 pm

Prometheus wrote:Tried at 205kmh, speedo and GPS show same speed..

Wow!!...so fast aaa.....what car u drive.... [-X but be carefull becos now is bus accident season... :zzz: :ko:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/keroll23/

User avatar
sotongkia
Community POI leader
Community POI leader
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 310 (OZ)
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#13 Post by sotongkia » Wed Aug 22, 2007 5:57 pm

pelurusilver wrote:
:-k mm... the logic is there. but why arr like that? gpsr should updated by satelite rite then push it to the pda/mobile.
seems like the satelite "overlooked" where the btgpsr meh.. :ko:

coz of that I missed 2 turn so far using this GPS. just driving 100kph in the highway. :fire:


The GPS updates is always given.. it is how the program treats it. One or 2 spurious data may wreak havoc if the software doesn't know how to manage the stream of data coming in.

What if your satellite data got one error.. then it recalculate for no apparent reason because a tree block a bit and it detect that you are on the foot path instead of the road..

So of course the unit needs to be error tolerant..

Plus your CPU need to redraw the maps, especially when it is 3D. And need to check for POI to see if need to alert you to speedtrap.. Need to constantly check that you are on the route that is given.. And need to constantly check if the distance is near the next turn to give you audio warning..

100km/h on highway can miss 2 exits ?

Or you driving 100km/h in residential road ?
---------------
Blur Blur Sotong

User avatar
chrisean
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:14 pm
GPS: GPSlim240
HTC P3452
MapkingG10
GMXT
GPSProxy
Location: PENANG GEORGETOWN
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#14 Post by chrisean » Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:22 pm

[quote ...Tried at 205kmh, speedo and GPS show same speed..[/quote] :thumbsup:

Bro,

slow slow lah.. Drive until speed 205kmh must take care the safety first, :shock: not a gps...
[-X [-X

User avatar
civic98
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:07 pm
GPS: Nuvi 1350
Nuvi 55LM
Location: Langkawi
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#15 Post by civic98 » Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:50 pm

As always my setting's Que (PDA) shows slower speed than my car's speedometer. But last night I tried with my notebook, just a GPS reading software that shows speed and location, the speed is almost same as car's speedometer.

Somehow Que is slower, maybe because of GPSProxy since I am not using Garmin GPSR.

User avatar
pelurusilver
Regular
Regular
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:55 pm
GPS: Dopod 838 Pro/N73
I iBlue 737/10x
GMXT/Mapking
Location: Ampang
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#16 Post by pelurusilver » Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:02 am

sotongkia wrote:
pelurusilver wrote:
:-k mm... the logic is there. but why arr like that? gpsr should updated by satelite rite then push it to the pda/mobile.
seems like the satelite "overlooked" where the btgpsr meh.. :ko:

coz of that I missed 2 turn so far using this GPS. just driving 100kph in the highway. :fire:


The GPS updates is always given.. it is how the program treats it. One or 2 spurious data may wreak havoc if the software doesn't know how to manage the stream of data coming in.

What if your satellite data got one error.. then it recalculate for no apparent reason because a tree block a bit and it detect that you are on the foot path instead of the road..

So of course the unit needs to be error tolerant..

Plus your CPU need to redraw the maps, especially when it is 3D. And need to check for POI to see if need to alert you to speedtrap.. Need to constantly check that you are on the route that is given.. And need to constantly check if the distance is near the next turn to give you audio warning..

100km/h on highway can miss 2 exits ?

Or you driving 100km/h in residential road ?


1stly i never been used that h/way before. further more when u reach the intersection like this with 100kph speed and u r 100% rely on the gps.
like i said, becoz of the late update, i missed it. #-o
Attachments

[The extension bmp has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


User avatar
alanchia67
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: Vista Cx
S'pore-R 3.97
Malsing NT5.27
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#17 Post by alanchia67 » Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:31 am

The speedo of my car matches the speed reported in my Vista Cx.

User avatar
civic98
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:07 pm
GPS: Nuvi 1350
Nuvi 55LM
Location: Langkawi
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#18 Post by civic98 » Thu Aug 23, 2007 5:37 pm

pelurusilver wrote:
sotongkia wrote:
pelurusilver wrote:The GPS updates is always given.. it is how the program treats it. One or 2 spurious data may wreak havoc if the software doesn't know how to manage the stream of data coming in.

What if your satellite data got one error.. then it recalculate for no apparent reason because a tree block a bit and it detect that you are on the foot path instead of the road..

100km/h on highway can miss 2 exits ?

Or you driving 100km/h in residential road ?


1stly i never been used that h/way before. further more when u reach the intersection like this with 100kph speed and u r 100% rely on the gps.
like i said, becoz of the late update, i missed it. #-o


1. When routing, should always set "Show Location" to "On Roads".
2. GPS is meant to assist navigation, not to drive your car for you. If someone knows that a turn is coming and still maintain driving speed at 100kph, then it's a user problem, not the GPS system, or GPSr or PDA or whatever. If anyone expects relies on GPS 100%, he/she is better off getting a cab.
3. Dont blame on the late update, instead zoom out a little more to see further and expect your turn coming, slow down. This is basic driving skill.

User avatar
pelurusilver
Regular
Regular
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:55 pm
GPS: Dopod 838 Pro/N73
I iBlue 737/10x
GMXT/Mapking
Location: Ampang
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#19 Post by pelurusilver » Fri Aug 24, 2007 9:08 am

[quote=

1. When routing, should always set "Show Location" to "On Roads".
2. GPS is meant to assist navigation, not to drive your car for you. If someone knows that a turn is coming and still maintain driving speed at 100kph, then it's a user problem, not the GPS system, or GPSr or PDA or whatever. If anyone expects relies on GPS 100%, he/she is better off getting a cab.
3. Dont blame on the late update, instead zoom out a little more to see further and expect your turn coming, slow down. This is basic driving skill.[/quote]

yeah.. u r rite =D>

lelong..!! lelong..!! Evo 6 for RM20k. =P~ :$gone: =P~ :$gone: =P~


err.. by the way, how to zoom out/in in mapking without it automatically zoom back to normal. ](*,) ](*,) ](*,)

johnliew
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:19 am
GPS: nüvi 200, finally!
Contact:

Re: How Fast Your GPS Updating

#20 Post by johnliew » Fri Aug 24, 2007 10:03 am

Silverbullet: Actually I know that stretch of road, coming from Putrajaya Link right? I don't think is your GPS problem, it's the map. I have been driving to Cyberjaya for the past week and my Nuvi200 always fails on that "Ring of Death"... So, for that part of the road, I strongly recommend watching out for the sign.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests