GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

Discuss about external antenna, batteries, mount and other GPS accessories

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
revslide
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:21 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 3790T
GTM 35 Receiver
Contact:

GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#1 Post by revslide » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:41 pm

Hi I have just bought the local Nuvi 3790T that comes with the GTM 35 receiver. However, i have yet to receive any form of traffic alerts to date.
Does anyone have any idea how to check if it is working? If not, i might have to sent it back for a replacement.. :cry:

Btw, i have already done the following checks;

- Navtec maps enabled / MSM disabled
- Receiver charges Nuvi with power signal.
- External antenna attached
- Specific destination routed during morning peak hours on CTE (9+am)

Thanks in advance!

adrianyujs
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:13 pm
GPS: Nuvi 205W/1350/1460/3790
HP Ipaq HX2750 + Holux GPSlim 236
Nokia 5800 + Garmin XT S60 / Mapking R12
Contact:

Re: GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#2 Post by adrianyujs » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:47 pm

where u use it?

only available for singapore, malaysia not yet implemented..

orgsyn
Regular
Regular
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 10:48 pm
GPS: Nuvi 205w and 2465
Contact:

Re: GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#3 Post by orgsyn » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:50 pm

Singapore since he mentioned CTE

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#4 Post by SilverBeauty » Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:22 pm

revslide wrote:Hi I have just bought the local Nuvi 3790T that comes with the GTM 35 receiver. However, i have yet to receive any form of traffic alerts to date.
Does anyone have any idea how to check if it is working? If not, i might have to sent it back for a replacement.. :cry:

Btw, i have already done the following checks;

- Navtec maps enabled / MSM disabled
- Receiver charges Nuvi with power signal.
- External antenna attached
- Specific destination routed during morning peak hours on CTE (9+am)

Thanks in advance!
Real-time traffic message channel works only in Singapore with preloaded Garmin NAVTEQ map + GTM35, nothing else.

User avatar
revslide
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:21 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 3790T
GTM 35 Receiver
Contact:

Re: GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#5 Post by revslide » Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:34 pm

SilverBeauty wrote:
Real-time traffic message channel works only in Singapore with preloaded Garmin NAVTEQ map + GTM35, nothing else.
Yea I have and already using everything you mentioned but nothing comes up..

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#6 Post by SilverBeauty » Thu Dec 09, 2010 12:06 am

revslide wrote:["SilverBeauty"]

Real-time traffic message channel works only in Singapore with preloaded Garmin NAVTEQ map + GTM35, nothing else.

Yea I have and already using everything you mentioned but nothing comes up..

Did you fix the FM wire antenna to side of the traffic module ?

Here is a YouTUbe video on a 265W but functions is similar to 3790. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOJDRzmevf8

Do you have the green icon on left top of screen ( the green circle with two cars icon ) ?

User avatar
revslide
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:21 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 3790T
GTM 35 Receiver
Contact:

Re: GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#7 Post by revslide » Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:33 am

SilverBeauty wrote: Did you fix the FM wire antenna to side of the traffic module ?

Here is a YouTUbe video on a 265W but functions is similar to 3790. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOJDRzmevf8

Do you have the green icon on left top of screen ( the green circle with two cars icon ) ?
Yes, that too. Anyway, I've just made a trip down to the local distributor yesterday to enquire about it and they said it was a Garmin problem.

According to them, quite a few users have also complained about not having any messages coming up.

Though it is not a manufacturing fault on the device, I feel that it should be pointed out that the system is not functionable yet instead of advertising and selling the receiver at the Expo.

Well just sharing this piece of information in case anyone else has similar experiences with this receiver.

Thanks for the responses though!

rowver
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 1:07 pm
GPS: garmin ique3600
Contact:

Re: GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#8 Post by rowver » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:49 am

sorry to bring this topic up again, but does anyone know if the GTM 35 is finally working on the Nuvi 3790? i am hugely disappointed that it doesn't. i bought the unit in singapore and use it here. there is no car icon at all to show it works. I updated the maps, selected only the Navteq map and updated the firmware to 2.5 (just today). if this doesn't work, i am at a lost as to how to get it working.

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#9 Post by SilverBeauty » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:12 pm

rowver wrote:sorry to bring this topic up again, but does anyone know if the GTM 35 is finally working on the Nuvi 3790? i am hugely disappointed that it doesn't. i bought the unit in singapore and use it here. there is no car icon at all to show it works. I updated the maps, selected only the Navteq map and updated the firmware to 2.5 (just today). if this doesn't work, i am at a lost as to how to get it working.

Yes it has been working since I bought it since it was launched in Sin Show middle last year.

Take note it works only with Garmin NavTeq maps. If you run MSM NT, the icon will show green and remain at green, nothing will happen. You need to disable all maps except Garmin Navteq map for it to function,

rowver
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 1:07 pm
GPS: garmin ique3600
Contact:

Re: GTM 35 Traffic Receiver

#10 Post by rowver » Tue Feb 01, 2011 6:14 am

i finally get the icon! yes, i noticed it remains green throughout if i select all the maps.

do i also have to de-select the 3D buildings map?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests