Now a TomTom you can plug in

General chat about GPS technology

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
irwinsim
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:26 am
GPS: Nuvi 200W
Contact:

Now a TomTom you can plug in

#1 Post by irwinsim » Wed Oct 03, 2007 12:02 pm

Just sharing some information/knowledge...

Image
If you love your sat-nav but are fed-up with suction pads and obscured vis­ion, Toyota and TomTom have the solution. The companies have teamed up to offer a clever device for drivers who want somewhere secure to mount their portable unit.

Described by TomTom as “the first embedded portable sat-nav in the world”, it’s essentially a stereo which incorpor­ates a cubby for a remov­able navigation unit. The system will initially be an optional extra on the Toyota Yaris, and will appeal to the growing band of owners who move their sat-nav from car to car.

It has a number of advantages over a traditional sucker-mounted set-up. Not only can the device draw power from the integrated socket, it also plays navigation commands via the vehicle’s speaker system in the same way a factory-fit unit would.

And it’s not only car makers which are getting in on the portable sat-nav craze. Sony has announced its PSP games console will be available with a route guidance option early in 2008.

The Go! Explore GPS add-on turns the hand-held unit into a fully portable sat-nav. Prices are expected to be con­firmed closer to the set-up’s launch.

original source: http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/autoe ... atnav.html

User avatar
deani77
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 547
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 42 (Navigation)
Location: Gua Musang, Kelantan
Contact:

Re: Now a TomTom you can plug in

#2 Post by deani77 » Wed Oct 03, 2007 12:32 pm

Too bad it can't use our map here... :thumbsdown:

User avatar
eskay
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:40 pm
GPS: Dopod P100, Nuvi 610
Contact:

Re: Now a TomTom you can plug in

#3 Post by eskay » Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:44 pm

Now a Garmin Nuvi you can also plug in ...

Image

this is how i install my garmin nuvi into my car .

Maybe “the first embedded portable sat-nav in Malaysia” ?
"GPS"
"NAVSTAR GPS"
"Navigation Satellite Time and Ranging GPS"

User avatar
prawnmee
Regular
Regular
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 1:35 pm
GPS: Nuvis, Forerunner
Location: KL, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Now a TomTom you can plug in

#4 Post by prawnmee » Fri Oct 05, 2007 6:37 am

My car also has one of those top load compartment.

Did you change the Cover of that compartment to a custom one?

User avatar
eskay
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:40 pm
GPS: Dopod P100, Nuvi 610
Contact:

Re: Now a TomTom you can plug in

#5 Post by eskay » Fri Oct 05, 2007 1:48 pm

no .. it came with the car .
"GPS"
"NAVSTAR GPS"
"Navigation Satellite Time and Ranging GPS"

psp
Regular
Regular
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 4:47 pm
GPS: Nuvi, GVN52 and 60CSx
Location: South
Contact:

Re: Now a TomTom you can plug in

#6 Post by psp » Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:20 pm

Is that a Nuvi6xx series? DOes the compartment affect the signal? or u r using a external antenna?

Very NICE setup, love it. =D> =D>

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Now a TomTom you can plug in

#7 Post by SilverBeauty » Sun Oct 07, 2007 2:07 pm

eskay wrote:no .. it came with the car .
Hi Bro eskay, may we know what is the make of your car and did you go to a ICE to have the Nuvi mounted ? I assume that you are using an external antenna or still using the internal one as its location may allow its use with degrading reception too much

psp
Regular
Regular
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 4:47 pm
GPS: Nuvi, GVN52 and 60CSx
Location: South
Contact:

Re: Now a TomTom you can plug in

#8 Post by psp » Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:06 pm

If I am not wrong, it is a Lexus IS200 or Toyota Altenza.

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Now a TomTom you can plug in

#9 Post by SilverBeauty » Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:19 pm

Hi Bro psp, we do not have a Toyota Altenza here in Sin, and I don't remember that a Lexus IS200 has that dashboard layout but I could be wrong.

User avatar
eskay
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:40 pm
GPS: Dopod P100, Nuvi 610
Contact:

Re: Now a TomTom you can plug in

#10 Post by eskay » Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:50 pm

Toyota Altezza and Lexus IS200 has the same outlook, sharing the same dashboard, different engine.

But there are few models, some with the navi compartment, some doesn't. Some with super live sound system, some doesn't... bla bla bla... (Japanese domestic car model has many variation)

The one in the picture is a Toyota Altezza that come with the auto tilt navi compartment. Meaning that the compartment still remain as stock. I just took out the screen and put in a nuvi 610. The auto-tilt motor is still working. Before i step out from my car, i just close the navi screen by pressing the button beside. Leaving my dashboard clean as stock.

For the signal part, i m still using the internal antenna, means i don't use any external antenna, at first i thought i need to add an external antenna, amazingly i find it almost as accurate as mounting on the windscreen. I guess the reason might be the cover made by plastic so it doesn't affect the performance. :wink:
"GPS"
"NAVSTAR GPS"
"Navigation Satellite Time and Ranging GPS"

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests