Garmin gmapsupp.img ?

General chat about GPS technology

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
exz8
Regular
Regular
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 8:14 am
GPS: Nuvi 200
Location: Melaka
Contact:

Garmin gmapsupp.img ?

#1 Post by exz8 » Fri May 09, 2008 12:43 pm

if i has other .img file.
exm, of japan.
so, what must i do with it?
on my nuvi has gmapsupp.img.
can i rename the japan map to japan.img?

libra6868
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:37 pm
GPS: Nokia5800
Location: Yishun, SG
Contact:

Re: question about .img file

#2 Post by libra6868 » Fri May 09, 2008 2:25 pm

exz8 wrote:if i has other .img file.
exm, of japan.
so, what must i do with it?
on my nuvi has gmapsupp.img.
can i rename the japan map to japan.img?
cannot.....garmin only read img file with certain names...like gmapsupp, gmapsup2, gmapprom and gmapbmap....but nuvi can have 2 gmapsupp.....1 in internal memory, 1 in SD card......

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: question about .img file

#3 Post by SilverBeauty » Fri May 09, 2008 2:32 pm

exz8 wrote:if i has other .img file.
exm, of japan.
so, what must i do with it?
on my nuvi has gmapsupp.img.
can i rename the japan map to japan.img?
You can rename it should you want to use maps of other countries. Just rename back to gmapsupp.img to use it back.

exz8
Regular
Regular
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 8:14 am
GPS: Nuvi 200
Location: Melaka
Contact:

Re: question about .img file

#4 Post by exz8 » Sat May 10, 2008 9:41 am

can i lies the gpsR device?
GMAPBMAP.IMG is a world based map right.
so, what happen if i renamed the japan.img to GMAPBMAP.IMG?
is that device know i try to cheat it?

LeonCheong
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:33 am
GPS: Nuvi 350
Contact:

Re: question about .img file

#5 Post by LeonCheong » Sat May 10, 2008 5:07 pm

exz8 wrote:can i lies the gpsR device?
GMAPBMAP.IMG is a world based map right.
so, what happen if i renamed the japan.img to GMAPBMAP.IMG?
is that device know i try to cheat it?
The you will have Japan map but not malsing map.

Another way is to patch the maps so that malsing map and Japan map are combined into 1. There is an utility here that can do that. Also mapsource can do that.

rling
Regular
Regular
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:17 am
GPS: HTC Touch Dual, Nokia E61, MTK 32 receiver, Tomtom, iGo & Garmin Mobile XT
Contact:

Re: question about .img file

#6 Post by rling » Tue May 20, 2008 2:33 pm

exz8 wrote:can i lies the gpsR device?
GMAPBMAP.IMG is a world based map right.
so, what happen if i renamed the japan.img to GMAPBMAP.IMG?
is that device know i try to cheat it?
Without the basemap, you lose navigation. Not even sure if the map will display!

You are left with:
1)Gmapsupp.img - map 1
2)Gmapsup2.img - map2
3)Gmapprom.img - map3

Surely three maps is more than enough at one time? If not, you have to do the renaming as mentioned above.

An alternative would be to use mapsource, and select multiple countries' maps and export it to your device. That way, the gmapsupp.img will have maps of multiple countries.

genekl
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 6:02 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 200
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Contact:

Re: Garmin gmapsupp.img ?

#7 Post by genekl » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:03 am

Newbie here stumbled onto something (?) :

I copied free Japan map to old 32MB camera SD, named it to gmapsupp.img

Put it into my USA Nuvi200, turned on simulation, guessed at some starting coordinates and set the location.

Can see Tokyo streets!

Repeat to get back with Malsing on SD.

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: Garmin gmapsupp.img ?

#8 Post by dvpro » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:36 am

genekl wrote:Newbie here stumbled onto something (?) :

I copied free Japan map to old 32MB camera SD, named it to gmapsupp.img

Put it into my USA Nuvi200, turned on simulation, guessed at some starting coordinates and set the location.

Can see Tokyo streets!

Repeat to get back with Malsing on SD.
What do you mean? :-k
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

sbc55
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:20 am
GPS: HTC Diamond
Contact:

Re: Garmin gmapsupp.img ?

#9 Post by sbc55 » Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:25 am

I wonder Garmin version 4.20.50W can read map with name gmapsup2.img?

I have tried and it seem can't.

But version 4.10.60TW can read gmapsup2.img + gmapsupp.img. Can anyone confirm this? Thanks. :ko:

User avatar
low4
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 524
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:51 pm
GPS: Dopod_D810 + GMXT.
Nuvi 650,
Holux m241
Location: Southern KL
Contact:

Re: Garmin gmapsupp.img ?

#10 Post by low4 » Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:07 pm

sbc55 wrote:I wonder Garmin version 4.20.50W can read map with name gmapsup2.img?

I have tried and it seem can't.

But version 4.10.60TW can read gmapsup2.img + gmapsupp.img. Can anyone confirm this? Thanks. :ko:
Bro,

I confirmed that GMXT 4.20.50W is able to read gmapsup2.img mapset. I using it without problems.
:thumbsup:
岂能尽如人意,但求无愧吾心。- 刘四

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest