Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

Discussions on running GPS applications on your PC, Notebook or other mobile PCs

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
bimmer
Regular
Regular
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:47 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 660
Location: KL
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#21 Post by bimmer » Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:02 pm

sabre23t wrote:
bimmer wrote:I was using: - TrainingCenterForWindows_323.exe (this one installs ok)
Mmm ... Did you run it after installation? Which Windows are you on? XP or Vista? :-k
No. Did not run it after installation. Do i need to? I'm on WinXP.
- bimmer

sabre23t
Councillor
Councillor
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi1350 and Google Maps Android
Location: Klang, Selangor
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#22 Post by sabre23t » Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:39 pm

bimmer wrote:
sabre23t wrote:Did you run it after installation? Which Windows are you on? XP or Vista? :-k
No. Did not run it after installation. Do i need to? I'm on WinXP.
It is possible TrainingCenter needs to be run to complete its installation. Try that and make sure Training Center runs properly, then only install Mapsource on your XP.

Vista has problem with older version of Mapsource.
The world is MyMaps!

bimmer
Regular
Regular
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:47 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 660
Location: KL
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#23 Post by bimmer » Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:29 pm

sabre23t wrote: It is possible TrainingCenter needs to be run to complete its installation. Try that and make sure Training Center runs properly, then only install Mapsource on your XP.

Vista has problem with older version of Mapsource.
It works now! Yay! Thank you. \:D/
- bimmer

sabre23t
Councillor
Councillor
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi1350 and Google Maps Android
Location: Klang, Selangor
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#24 Post by sabre23t » Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:03 pm

bimmer wrote:It works now! Yay! Thank you. \:D/
Thanks for informing us. I've updated Use Mapsource for your error reporting with your experience. 8-)
The world is MyMaps!

techracing
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 1:44 am
GPS: nuvi 200 v3.40 Tracking,
Garmin Que + Asus BT238 GPSr
MapKing - HTC TytnII
GPSMAP 60csx
COLORADO
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#25 Post by techracing » Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:57 am

I have installed TrainingCenterForWindows_323.exe but when i run the apps a pop-up window says: "Welcome to Garmin Training Center (tm). Since this is your first time using the program, your device must be added to Garmin Training Center. Please connect your device to the computer. "OK".

Nothing happens the same pop up window message will appear everytime i click "ok". till i have to terminate the TrainingCenter by clicking CANCEL.

any ideas?

But i manage to install the MapSource ......

2. Install "MapSource_6124.exe"
3. Install maps from MalSingMaps "GM-MySin v1.26.exe" and "GM-Borneo v1.13.exe"

and get all of them working & running on Windows xp, accept for the TrainingCenter with doesn't work. All in order?
I don't profess to know all the answers, no one does, there's a good chance that I know something about your problem or question or can point you in the right direction for more info. Constructive feedback from other forum members is also invited

User avatar
deani77
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 547
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 42 (Navigation)
Location: Gua Musang, Kelantan
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#26 Post by deani77 » Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:13 am

Sifu, correct me if i'm wrong...

Installing Training Center is the way for you to get free mapsource. By installing training center you can update your mapsource program to the latest version. But we not use that training center program because it was program for specific garmin GPS only.

ehyeoh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:33 pm
GPS: Nuvi350, StreetPilot c320, MainNav MG-950d logger
Location: Butterworth, Penang
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#27 Post by ehyeoh » Sat Oct 06, 2007 11:03 am

You can uninstall Training Center software to save your hardisk space after your MapSource is installed completely. I did try on several PC with no issue.

kepco
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 5:39 pm
GPS: Nuvi 300 + Colorado 300
Location: Bayan Lepas, Penang
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#28 Post by kepco » Sun Oct 07, 2007 12:13 pm

ehyeoh wrote:You can uninstall Training Center software to save your hardisk space after your MapSource is installed completely. I did try on several PC with no issue.
I second that, tried on my PC, workaround MapSource still running.

jagr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:48 pm
GPS: HTC Tytn II
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#29 Post by jagr » Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:31 pm

after installation of training centre, it prompted me to connect my device. i am using my pda with garmin que and gpsproxy. i connected my pda and ran garmin que but training centre was unable to detect my device.

i went ahead and tried to install mapsource anyway, the setup says to click the next button but there is no next button on the setup screen and it just stops there

sabre23t
Councillor
Councillor
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi1350 and Google Maps Android
Location: Klang, Selangor
Contact:

Re: Getting Mapsource to use for POI & Tracks contributions

#30 Post by sabre23t » Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:35 am

jagr wrote:after installation of training centre .... install mapsource anyway, the setup says to click the next button but there is no next button on the setup screen and it just stops there
Follow the steps given by Bro shah in the "Mapsource - Trip & Waypoint Manager" in Newbie Lounge ...
Shah wrote:Bingo!
It's working now. O:)
These are the steps that I followed:
* Uninstall all Garmin applications (nroute, updater, mapsource & training center)
* Clean up any mention of Garmin in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE/GARMIN as Bro Magnus has suggested
* Install Training Center
* Run Training Center & when it requests for Garmin device just press Cancel
* Install MapSource 6.13.0.1 Beta
* After installation, Run 6.13.0.1 Beta. It will indicate that the version has expired and expect you to download the latest MapSource version.
* Install MapSource version 6134
:thumbsup:
The world is MyMaps!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest