Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:40 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 533 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 50, 51, 52, 53, 54  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Mapper

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
Posts: 2026
Location: Penang, Malaysia
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2575R, 3560 & Etrex 30
SilverBeauty wrote:


I am using 3790 and 1350 and 765 with MSM NT 5.40. All found the address, though POI is a little offset :-'

I am replicating what Bro JasonLee says in his thread but in more detail step-by-step .....
MainMenu - WhereTo - Address - ChangeCountry - Enter Country as MALAYSIA - Select MALAYSIA - SearchAll - EnterHouseNumber as 46 - EnterStreet as Jalan Anson - Select Jalan Anson - Select GeorgeTown, Pen - 2 Jalan Anson will appear. It is not spot on the POI but is nearby and then use common sense to search for address # 46.

Thanks Bro Silverbeauty,

One word of advice in making searches. Although we are purging our map of inconsistencies (and it will take time), there are still many as our map is a collaborative effort done by many people over the years. So try not to spell a name completely or be too specific. USE KEYWORDS. The keyword for Jalan Anson is ANSON. There may be many versions of Jalan XXX in our map. It may exist as Jalan XXX or Jln XXX or J. XXX or XXX Road or XXX Rd or XXX, J or XXX Jln etc. If you key in the wrong version, the result will be NO MATCH FOUND. However had you keyed in XXX, you still have a chance to decide if what you found is what you want.

_________________
Lean not on your own understanding


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:02 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:20 pm
Posts: 11
GPS: nuvi 255W
Hi Seniors,

Thank you for all the reply. Yes I manage to find the places in Penang.

Thanks again.

:rokz:

Regards,
mac81


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 10:44 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:26 am
Posts: 1
GPS: nuvi 2465
Hi everyone,

1)i would like to know how can i find

Quayside Isle, 31 Ocean Way #01-01, Sentosa, 098368

can't seem to find it in my nuvi2465

i tried searching for
"098368"
"quayside"
"ocean"
"sentosa"

but either there is "no results" or not the exact address.

2) i have use an old nuvi300, and now using nuvi2465

on my 300, when i type "simon" i am able to get "simon road"

but on my 2465, i cant find "simon road"

the search function on my 2465 seems to be less powerful than my old 300.

i there anything i can do??

Thanks!!!!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:40 pm 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
Posts: 4848
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Panasonic ICE+Garmin
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad3
puateikor wrote:
Hi everyone,

1)i would like to know how can i find

Quayside Isle, 31 Ocean Way #01-01, Sentosa, 098368

can't seem to find it in my nuvi2465

i tried searching for
"098368"
"quayside"
"ocean"
"sentosa"

but either there is "no results" or not the exact address.

Using Garmin NT Map version CN SGMY 2013.30 Navteq
Where To - Address - Search All - Enter House Number as 31, Enter Street as Ocean Way - Done - Nuvi reports Ocean Way - Touch Ocean Way - Choose from list :thumbsup:


2) i have use an old nuvi300, and now using nuvi2465

on my 300, when i type "simon" i am able to get "simon road"

but on my 2465, i cant find "simon road"

the search function on my 2465 seems to be less powerful than my old 300.


Using Garmin NT Map version CN SGMY 2013.30 Navteq
Where To - Address - Search All - Enter House Number ( ANY NUMBER ), Enter Street as Simon Road - Done - Nuvi reports Simon Road - Touch Simon Road - Choose from list :thumbsup:


i there anything i can do??
What version map you have ? It may be need updating. Check with Garmin if you are entitled


Thanks!!!!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:09 pm
Posts: 1
GPS: Garmin 42LM
SilverBeauty wrote:
puateikor wrote:
Hi everyone,

1)i would like to know how can i find

Quayside Isle, 31 Ocean Way #01-01, Sentosa, 098368

can't seem to find it in my nuvi2465

i tried searching for
"098368"
"quayside"
"ocean"
"sentosa"

but either there is "no results" or not the exact address.

Using Garmin NT Map version CN SGMY 2013.30 Navteq
Where To - Address - Search All - Enter House Number as 31, Enter Street as Ocean Way - Done - Nuvi reports Ocean Way - Touch Ocean Way - Choose from list :thumbsup:


2) i have use an old nuvi300, and now using nuvi2465

on my 300, when i type "simon" i am able to get "simon road"

but on my 2465, i cant find "simon road"

the search function on my 2465 seems to be less powerful than my old 300.


Using Garmin NT Map version CN SGMY 2013.30 Navteq
Where To - Address - Search All - Enter House Number ( ANY NUMBER ), Enter Street as Simon Road - Done - Nuvi reports Simon Road - Touch Simon Road - Choose from list :thumbsup:


i there anything i can do??
What version map you have ? It may be need updating. Check with Garmin if you are entitled


Thanks!!!!


Does that mean we need to use Navteq to search first then use MSM to navigate?
I am in SG and have Garmin 42LM. I am on latest MSM NT v6.48

basically when I doing search with MSM NT v6.xx selected, this is the result:
Method 1:
Where To=> Search => type keyword of address (like "botanic" for botanic garden), returns nothing to me
Method 2:
Where To=> Address => search All => house number => street name, it usually can find the street i want but the house number usually get ignored..

What I have to do is: search in Navteq first, then save the address. then switch to MSM NT map and start navigation. which is very troublesome if you need to change destination during the trip...


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:27 am 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 569
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Springf wrote:
Does that mean we need to use Navteq to search first then use MSM to navigate?
I am in SG and have Garmin 42LM. I am on latest MSM NT v6.48

basically when I doing search with MSM NT v6.xx selected, this is the result:
Method 1:
Where To=> Search => type keyword of address (like "botanic" for botanic garden), returns nothing to me
Method 2:
Where To=> Address => search All => house number => street name, it usually can find the street i want but the house number usually get ignored..

What I have to do is: search in Navteq first, then save the address. then switch to MSM NT map and start navigation. which is very troublesome if you need to change destination during the trip...


Well, nothing beats planning before starting your journey.

For me, I accept the limitation of our map. I used various ways to get the GPS coordinates and saved them into the GPSr before taking a drive... of course unplanned detour will result in a scenic drive.. minus the frustration..

But end of the matter is this. The GPSr is just a tool, Singapore is not big and using some common sense will still get you to the place you want to go. Too dependent on the GPSr is an obsession which is unhealthy. :mrgreen:

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 9:59 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 6:18 pm
Posts: 4
GPS: none
Hi all!

I've got an old Nuvi 1390 that was previously used in Australia, i got it updated with the latest MSM 2014 NT v6.59, fired it up, got signal and displayed the map fine..
but then i wanted to search for addresses in Singapore, none showed up, its strange as when i try to manually scroll to the Singapore map it displayed all the street names fine.

What do i do to get to do address searches again?
Any advise will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Eugene


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 12:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Mapper

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
Posts: 2026
Location: Penang, Malaysia
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2575R, 3560 & Etrex 30
apocalypzeus wrote:
Hi all!

I've got an old Nuvi 1390 that was previously used in Australia, i got it updated with the latest MSM 2014 NT v6.59, fired it up, got signal and displayed the map fine..
but then i wanted to search for addresses in Singapore, none showed up, its strange as when i try to manually scroll to the Singapore map it displayed all the street names fine.

What do i do to get to do address searches again?
Any advise will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Eugene

Have you changed the country for search?

You may still be trying to find a Singapore address in Australia.

_________________
Lean not on your own understanding


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 1:25 pm 
Offline
Senior Mapper
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
Posts: 3022
Location: Sandakan
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
jasonlee wrote:
apocalypzeus wrote:
Hi all!

I've got an old Nuvi 1390 that was previously used in Australia, i got it updated with the latest MSM 2014 NT v6.59, fired it up, got signal and displayed the map fine..
but then i wanted to search for addresses in Singapore, none showed up, its strange as when i try to manually scroll to the Singapore map it displayed all the street names fine.

What do i do to get to do address searches again?
Any advise will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Eugene

Have you changed the country for search?

You may still be trying to find a Singapore address in Australia.


I think he is expecting to search by house number perhaps? Our maps do not support street no.

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=142901#p142901


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 6:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 6:18 pm
Posts: 4
GPS: none
Thank you Sirs for the reply.
It was just a plain street name search, no street number nor postcode.
I have overwritten the Australian/New Zealand map that was previously inside.


Thanks again


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 533 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 50, 51, 52, 53, 54  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group