Page 8 of 15

Need help on HTC HD Garmin Mobile XT installation

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:34 am
by Pink9tou
**** Deleted *****
**** Strictly no discussion on software hacking *******

Newbie need helps on Window mobile 6.1

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:45 am
by Pink9tou
Hi Guru,

Do I need to pay if I want to use Garmin??? Found the following and not sure if it is working:

Garmin Mobile XT for Windows Mobile, Ver. 5.00.20w, as of Sep 25, 2008
Garmin Mobile XT Free Basemap, Ver. 4.xx.xx, as of Apr 19, 2007
Garmin Mobile XT Support Files, Ver. 4.xx.xx, as of Jul 11, 2007

If these are free and it is working on window mobile 6.1....how to i install it and the Singapore and Malaysia
Map to my pda?

Many thanks in advance

Newbie

Re: Newbie need helps on Window mobile 6.1

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:04 am
by dvpro
Pink9tou wrote:Hi Guru,

Do I need to pay if I want to use Garmin??? Found the following and not sure if it is working:

Garmin Mobile XT for Windows Mobile, Ver. 5.00.20w, as of Sep 25, 2008
Garmin Mobile XT Free Basemap, Ver. 4.xx.xx, as of Apr 19, 2007
Garmin Mobile XT Support Files, Ver. 4.xx.xx, as of Jul 11, 2007

If these are free and it is working on window mobile 6.1....how to i install it and the Singapore and Malaysia
Map to my pda?

Many thanks in advance

Newbie
Unless you have a Garmin GPS receiver to pair with your PDA, those are meant only for updates. If you want to pair Garmin MXT with your PDA's built-in GPS receiver, you need to purchase the software sold in data card. More info here: https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=11413

If you need a free Garmin software to use Malsingmaps, read here: http://www.malsingmaps.com/wiki/index.p ... nd_BT_GPSr

need malaysia gps for windows mobile 6.1 -howTo -please =)

Posted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:35 pm
by jowunger
Hello,

I am so happy that I found this forum. I look for weeks to get a malaysian gps map to my windows mobile 6.1

I downloaded -MySin' and installed it but the .IMG filez are not readable and there is no executable to
start it.

My question:

Is there a malaysian GPS software for WM6.1 which works with built in GPS receiver? If yes
could you please give me a link to download it? I am unfortunately no professional, so
things like GarminProxy/Gate...etc I don't understand for which devices they are and how they has to be setup.
I not want to setup the wrong software in my phone.

Help is very much appreciated!
Thank you in advance
Jow

Re: need malaysia gps for windows mobile 6.1 -howTo -please =)

Posted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 2:32 pm
by moeyHC
Check out this LINK for Window Mobile. Hope this helps...cheers!

Re: HTC Touch Pro

Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:17 am
by pummkin
moomoo wrote:dear all...

i am totally new to this GPS thingy...and i bought my first WM PPC, HTC Touch Pro...totally clueless man cos i have been a mac user all my life :-(

can anyone out there recommend me a good GPS software that will work for this phone & also with the maps available here...for eg. should i get a Garmin or Mapking 2007 or R12,,,i have been reading up but feel very lost...i am currently on WM 6.1, please advise me...i am willing to buy the software, dun need free or crack ones.

moomoo

Moomoo, I suggest that you start with the usage of Garmin Que & GPSProxy 2.2 to get the hang of using a GPS on your mobile/pda first. I believe that your processor can handle Mapking version 2007 pretty well, with no issues of hanging & such but install that only after you get familiar with the operations of patching & sending maps to your device.

You need Garmin Roadtrip on your Mac to plot or view maps or even plan your journey before your trip. It's the Mac version of Mapsource just out of beta mode. What you see may not show on your pda because Garmin Que doesn't support icon (yet, I hope).

Get it here:- [url]http://www8.garmin.com/macosx/[url]

Follow the instructions to send map to your device. Use the Map Installer program on the download page. However, what I usually do is invoke Windows on my Mac to do all the necessary & transfer to my unit (Asus P750 on WM 6.1 with 500MHz processor speed is more than adequate so if yours exceed this spec, it should work better).

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide

Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:33 am
by jchoong
I am not familiar with Mac, but for the HTC Touch Pro, isnt it easier to just purchase the GMXT in SD card from Garmin so that it can run with the built-in GPSr, and then download/use MSM's free unlocked maps?

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide

Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:54 am
by low4
YUP, follow bro JChoong, you will never get lost! or... get GARMIN or get LOST!!! :thumbsup:

Garmin Mobile XT with HTC TYTN II voice files

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:28 pm
by whacker
Okay, I give up... ](*,)

I've been trying to troubleshoot why I cannot get my Cantonese, Hakka, Hokkien, etc. files to work in my Garmin. :cry:

HTC TyTn II
Garmin Mobile XT Version 5.00.20w (just upgraded yesterday)
Windows Mobile 6 Professional (CE OS 5.2.1620 - Build 18125.0.4.2)
What else?

Here's what I did:
1) I've downloaded the files (Cantonese__.vpm, Hakka__.vpm, etc.) from rapidshare.
2) I copied them into the Garmin/voice folder in my Storage Card (that's where I've installed Garmin)

But when I run the software, I can only see the default language listing, e.g. American English, British English, Deutsch, etc.). I cannot see the newly added (copied) files. Did I do something wrong?

My friend is also using Garmin and with the same files. He can see and use the files but he's running on Symbian on a Nokia E71.

It can't be I need to change the PHONE! :ko:

One funny thing though. I downloaded Voice Editor and open the vpm files. I can open American English (default) vpm but not the Cantonese, Hakka one. What's wrong?

Can someone please help? I think I'm missing something here.

Thanks in advance. :thumbsup:

Re: Garmin Mobile XT with HTC TYTN II voice files

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:51 pm
by jchoong
Somehow you won't be able to see in GMXT the Cantonese, Hakka, etc voice files that you copied onto your SD card. But they are there - you can see them when you are on ActiveSycn. A trick taught to me by Bro Low4 is to select any of the existing voice files that you are not using, eg Spanish, and rename it as, say, Spanish1. After that rename your Cantonese file as Spanish, making sure you maintain the ORIGINAL name text (including space, underscore, etc). When you next startup GMXT, select Spanish and you will get Cantonese as your voice.