Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 8:20 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:50 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 561
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Thought I advised you to get an sd card in another post? :-.

Well, if you want to take risk, and I'm assuming that you are a newbie, please understand the following sentence, if your device becomes unusable, cannot startup, cannot do this or that.......please don't come here and complain how whatsoever, we owe you nothing and we promise you nothing... You decide and you make your own choice on how to proceed. O:)

Ok, good, now that the disclaimer is communicated to you, we can go to your query. :wink:

1. If in the garmin directory of your device, there is also a file named gmapsupp.img, that means it is a map of somewhere or place. Do you know where is this place?
2. If you decides that you do not need that file and you do not mind to overwrite it, than you can take the file downloaded from here and overwrite it.

So what is the consequences or possible scenarios?
1. Assuming that luck and good fortune is with you, nothing wrong will happen, the map is fine and your device works perfectly.
2. However, if in the process of downloading, the file gets corrupted and you overwrite the original file, your device may not be working fine, it can shut down by itself, the map may not load properly and the device may malfunction.
3. You may send the faulty device for repair, if it is repairable, it will cost you some money. Or Garmin may not repair for you and you are left with a broken device which could serve some good purpose like as a paper weight.

This faulty outcome can be mitigate if the map is despatch to an SD card. Because if it is a map issue, removing the SD card will allow the device to start up normally. However, if the map is not the issue but a device issue, than obviously, your recourse is to the dealer or Garmin.

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:12 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 3
GPS: nuvi 1300
Hi there. I bought my Nuvi 1300 from USA.

I downloaded the file MSM 2012 NT v5.40, saved the .img and .jcv file into the micro sd card.

However i don't see any Sing/Mal maps in my unit. Is there anything that i missed out?

I am a newbie and really appreciate your help. Thanks!

Rizal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Mapper

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
Posts: 2031
Location: Penang, Malaysia
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2575R, 3560 & Etrex 30
lovebelow wrote:
Hi there. I bought my Nuvi 1300 from USA.

I downloaded the file MSM 2012 NT v5.40, saved the .img and .jcv file into the micro sd card.

However i don't see any Sing/Mal maps in my unit. Is there anything that i missed out?

I am a newbie and really appreciate your help. Thanks!

Rizal

How did you save those files in your SD card?

Did you create a \Garmin folder to save the gmapsupp.img file in and create a \Garmin\JCV subfolder to save the product.jcv file in? If you did, you will be able to see our Sing/Mal map provided you uncheck all other maps.

_________________
Lean not on your own understanding


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:31 am 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 561
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Other than what Bro Jasonlee has mentioned above, have you get your first fix with the satellites, since you say you brought the set in the USA?

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 3
GPS: nuvi 1300
hi jasonlee, yes i did that.

however i did not know how to 'uncheck all other maps' as i do not know how to do that.

@ace - what do you mean by getting first fix with satellites?

thanks all for your help :)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:21 pm 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
Posts: 2740
Location: Hougang, Sg
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
lovebelow wrote:
hi jasonlee, yes i did that.

however i did not know how to 'uncheck all other maps' as i do not know how to do that.

@ace - what do you mean by getting first fix with satellites?

thanks all for your help :)


To uncheck all other maps, at the home page of your device, go to Tools > Setting > Map Info. At Map Info, it will display all the maps that are stored in your device, both internal and microSD card. Check on only the map you want to use and uncheck the rest. Getting the first fix with satellites meaning log onto the satellites for the first time. Get your device and go into the open. Make sure you are not surrounded by tall buildings and wait for your device to log onto the satellites.

_________________
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:29 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 3
GPS: nuvi 1300
thanks! i have unchecked the USA map. will go outdoor now to get first fix of the satellites.

:)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:22 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 2:36 pm
Posts: 2
GPS: Nuvi 50LM
Hi,
I owned a Nuvi 50LM, bought from US. I've the same problem trying to get unlock code from http://www.garmin.com.sg/mapupdate/4community . Keep saying "Invalid ID or password. Please try again." And yes, I'm using Unit ID from Setup...->About and not serial#. Has the issue been resolved? Thx in advance.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 4:23 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 2555
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550
alpiner wrote:
Hi,
I owned a Nuvi 50LM, bought from US. I've the same problem trying to get unlock code from http://www.garmin.com.sg/mapupdate/4community . Keep saying "Invalid ID or password. Please try again." And yes, I'm using Unit ID from Setup...->About and not serial#. Has the issue been resolved? Thx in advance.

:welcome:
Try this map. No unlock code is required.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 3:19 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 2:36 pm
Posts: 2
GPS: Nuvi 50LM
It works. Thx. Though some of the street names are close but not exact, for Penang state. And Garmin does not behave like google by suggesting alternatives to select, that's the frustration part. Nevertheless, appreciate the work done by this community. Kudos!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group