Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:04 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 180 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 18  Next
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:24 pm 

GPS: Nuvi205W
Hi guys....I am totally new to the GPS unit. I have installed Mapsource in hoping to be able to contribute.

I am staying in Kota Warisan which is in Sepang, Selangor. Most of the roads in the housing estate are already there in the Mapsource but a lot has not been named.

I have been searching high and low in the forums and wikis but too much information for me to fathom. Appreciate if someone could guide me on how to name the roads in question.

Thank you.

Last edited by bartmp8 on Wed Dec 24, 2008 1:59 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Edited Title and Stickied

Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 5:29 pm 
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

GPS: Garmin Nuvi200
It really simple.

Since the roads are already in the map, you just provide the road names to the mapper. This is the steps:-

1. Download and install the latest map (public version V. 2.30) from here viewtopic.php?f=26&t=31 if you have not done so.
2. Open mapsource and go to the specific road (if you already know the road name only) and place POI marker (waypoint tool) and name the waypoint as the road name
3. If you are unsure of the road name, just bring your device to the road and mark the road name as POI using your device.
4. Tranfers all POI from your device to mapsoure using "receive from device" button.
5. Do some editing in order to avoid posting unnecessary POI such as your girlfriend's house etc (a lot of gatal men in this forum)
6. Save the POI in step 2 & 5 as .gdb file (you may name the file as Kota Warisan Roads names) and post it here viewforum.php?f=41

good luck

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:58 pm 

Thanks Badrol, for the pointers.

Will try and do that.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:54 pm