Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 6:15 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 425 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 43  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 7:22 pm 
Offline
Senior Mapper
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
Posts: 3027
Location: Sandakan
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
Dear Members,

Please continue your questions regarding MSM installation into NUVIs here.

A) MSM/Garmin NT Format Maps for Non Localised Units - Free but requires Unlock Code
(Click to read the whole topic, Latest map is the one with the highest number value - 2010.XX)

B) MSM/Garmin NT Format Maps for Localised Units - Free but requires Unlock Code.
Linked directly to Garmin Download Website.

C) Find the In-house MSM NT Format Maps in this Sub-Forum - Free and Unlocked
(Latest Map is the one with the highest number value - v5.xx)


Click here for:

1) Loading MSM into Nuvi part 2
2) Loading MSM into Nuvi part 3
3) Loading MSM into Nuvi Part 4

ATTENTION NUVI USERS

Zeus73 wrote:
To use MSM NT from SD card, you will need to change the file name.
    gmapprom1.img -> gmapsupp.img
    gmapprom1.unl -> gmapsupp.unl

For user of nuvi 3XX and 8XX series, your unit might not be able to read the unlock code from the UNL file. Please read http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=155211#p155211.

For user of nuvi 1XXX series, you can copy the maps into the "MAP" folder of main memory or SD card.



Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:50 pm
Posts: 3
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 1350
Thanks - I ended up downloading the MSM 4.34 file instead because I read that it is updated more frequently than the NT maps. The MSM map is working fine now. A quick follow-up question:

When I try to search for a particular location (e.g. 951 Bukit Timah Road), after keying in the street number 951, and the street name "Bukit Timah Road", the search results gives me 6 choices of "Upper Bukit Timah Road" and 6 choices of "Bukit Timah Road". How do I know which of the 12 choices is the right one? Shouldn't the MSM map know exactly where is 951 Bukit Timah Road?

I tried downloading the NT 2010.20 maps and it has the same issues. However, at least with the NT map, I can search by postal code, which identifies accurately the location.

How do I accurately search using the MSM map?

Thanks


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:19 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 1
GPS: USA
Redstorm,

I need ur advice, recently i've got this nuvi 255w w/usa map loaded. I would like to have Malaysia / Singapore map loaded in it too.How am i able to do so?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:55 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 2555
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550
renzanzan wrote:
Redstorm,

I need ur advice, recently i've got this nuvi 255w w/usa map loaded. I would like to have Malaysia / Singapore map loaded in it too.How am i able to do so?

:welcome:
Bro Redstorm is busy chasing "tiger" now. :rofl:

Try reading this.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:54 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:46 pm
Posts: 1
GPS: nuvi1300
Hi, Alwin from Penang, Malaysia, just had a fren's help to buy nuvi1300 from US. But the map is no able to use in Penang, too general. I had another fren's help to save Mysin.img into a micro SD card. Anyone can advise me how to install this map into my nuvi1300? Thanks!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:36 pm 
Offline
Senior Mapper
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
Posts: 3027
Location: Sandakan
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
alwinaeris wrote:
Hi, Alwin from Penang, Malaysia, just had a fren's help to buy nuvi1300 from US. But the map is no able to use in Penang, too general. I had another fren's help to save Mysin.img into a micro SD card. Anyone can advise me how to install this map into my nuvi1300? Thanks!


Hello :welcome: pls read this first:

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=134222#p134222

then this:

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=143679#p143679
After you finished, read the rest of the topic (2nd link)

Good luck


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Garmin Nuvi 310
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:07 pm
Posts: 1
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 210
Hi guys, i've been using Garmin 310 since 2007. However, I left Singapore and came recently. Singapore roads have changed tremendously to some extend. I got lost even though Nuvi 310 was by me. Maps are not updated and that's the reason for my lost.

The problem is I do not know how to upgrade the map. I tried several times but to no avail. I tried Garmin's web but I don't know why somehow Nuvi 310 seems missing from the list.

I hope you can assist me step by step on the installation and upgrading part of the map. I don't want to lost my way and takes almost 2 hours to travel from Raffles Place to Choa Chu Kang.

Your help is greatly appreciated and I thank you guys 1000 times for your altruism.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvi 310
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:05 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Please read this: Quick and Dirty Guide for Simple Garmin Streetpilot and Nuvi Users and get the map (GMAPSUPP.IMG) from here: viewtopic.php?p=179250#p179250 (gmapsupp_v435.zip).

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Garmin 205
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:23 pm
Posts: 2
GPS: Garmin 205 UK/ireland original
i am new to gps. i bought a unit of garmin 205 uk/ireland in uk. i will be back to malaysia 1 month after. can i install malaysia map on it??? it that free??? if i install malaysia map, the existing UK map still available after i intstall the malaysia map????


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin 205
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:34 am 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
Posts: 4842
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Panasonic ICE+Garmin
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad3
takumi0128 wrote:
i am new to gps. i bought a unit of garmin 205 uk/ireland in uk. i will be back to malaysia 1 month after. can i install malaysia map on it??? it that free??? if i install malaysia map, the existing UK map still available after i intstall the malaysia map????


Yes your unit can use our map. Download all in one gmapsupp.img and transfer the map file to your SD card/garmin directory

Before you do this backup all files ( inclusive of hidden files ) to your PC/Lappy

Your pre-installed map should reside in Main Memory under file name gmapprom.img.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 425 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 43  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group