GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Sisophon2001
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:34 pm
GPS: GARMIN ETREX SUMMIT HC
Location: Cambodia & Thailand.
Contact:

Installing maps in htc phone

#91 Post by Sisophon2001 » Sat Dec 05, 2009 8:34 pm

A friend of mine has a Htc phone with GPS and an installed map of Cambodia, running Garmin mobile xt. He will be travelling to Italy soon for study, and asked me if he can get any maps of Italy for his phone. I said yes, (I can make the maps from OpenStreetMap data) but am now concerned about data size and the possibility of erasing his existing maps. My friend says he has 8GB of memory in his phone.

Can I backup the original map before I install a new map? What is the data size limit? I think all of Italy exceeds the memory size of the phone, so I may have to create tiles and let him upload them through mapsource (if that is possible with his phone).

Does anybody have experience of this?

Thanks

Garvan

jchoong
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:16 pm
GPS: 2575 + 40LM
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Installing maps in htc phone

#92 Post by jchoong » Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:48 pm

My GMXT card has the Garmin NA map and it is 1GB. So, should not be a problem to rename the Cambodia map and then save the Italy map into the same 8GB SD card.

benleez
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:43 am
GPS: HTC Snap
Contact:

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2

#93 Post by benleez » Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:51 am

Sorry if I'm rehashing an old question, how do I get Garmin Mobile XT to use my HTC Snap's serial internal GPS rather than always searching for a bluetooth GPS?

I've read somewhere about using software like GpsGate or GpsViewer etc to "warm up" the gps but no avail for me.
I know the htc snap's gps uses com4 port.

Thanks for any experts in helping me out here...

Cheers.

mnd_43
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 950
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:51 am
GPS: 6210 Navigator
Location: MALAYSIA
Contact:

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2

#94 Post by mnd_43 » Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:11 am

benleez wrote:Sorry if I'm rehashing an old question, how do I get Garmin Mobile XT to use my HTC Snap's serial internal GPS rather than always searching for a bluetooth GPS?

I've read somewhere about using software like GpsGate or GpsViewer etc to "warm up" the gps but no avail for me.
I know the htc snap's gps uses com4 port.

Thanks for any experts in helping me out here...

Cheers.
I never used your htc b4
but u can try this ...
at gmxt main page move the cursor to the satellite signal ( top left ) ... enter
disable the current gps setting ( bottom left )
select/enable " use attached/built in GPS " .... done

hope this help

:D
:D ... de 9W2BPN

benleez
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:43 am
GPS: HTC Snap
Contact:

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2

#95 Post by benleez » Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:22 am

mnd_43 wrote: t gmxt main page move the cursor to the satellite signal ( top left ) ... enter
disable the current gps setting ( bottom left )
select/enable " use attached/built in GPS " .... done
Thanks for the reply mnd. Sorry I didn't mention earlier that my gmxt version is v4.10.00ws, so I don't actually see a satellite signal in the top left, just a bluetooth signal. When I click on that, it allows me to disable bluetooth, but after that, there is no way to select "using attached/built in GPS".

Does that mean that only gmxt v5 allows using of internal gps?

mnd_43
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 950
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:51 am
GPS: 6210 Navigator
Location: MALAYSIA
Contact:

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2

#96 Post by mnd_43 » Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:01 pm

benleez wrote:
Thanks for the reply mnd. Sorry I didn't mention earlier that my gmxt version is v4.10.00ws, so I don't actually see a satellite signal in the top left, just a bluetooth signal. When I click on that, it allows me to disable bluetooth, but after that, there is no way to select "using attached/built in GPS".

Does that mean that only gmxt v5 allows using of internal gps?
AFAIK all versions of gmxt can use BT or built in
It is depend on the hardware like N95 8GB ... the genuine software wont allowed the use of the internal GPS ... BT instead
The reason is it doesnt have SD card !

pls do some setting on your set to enable the internal GPS if available

... Just wait other sifu with the same hardware like yours to answer this ...

:D
:D ... de 9W2BPN

parit
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:45 pm
GPS: Garmin Mobile 10 for smartphones and Nuvi 205
Contact:

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2

#97 Post by parit » Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:36 pm

last year i bought asus P320...just to install garmin gps but fail coz too low memory...
only manage to install mapking....

tlchuan
Junior Mapper
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:20 pm
GPS: 10x, Oregon 300, 255w(retire) 2575RLM
Location: Subang Jaya
Contact:

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2

#98 Post by tlchuan » Thu Dec 10, 2009 1:37 pm

parit wrote:last year i bought asus P320...just to install garmin gps but fail coz too low memory...
only manage to install mapking....
can something must have gone wrong when you install
Ham Callsign = 9W2KDX
http://9w2kdx.blogspot.com/
Now In Subang Jaya

riku
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 10:55 pm
GPS: empty
Contact:

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2

#99 Post by riku » Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:30 am

sorry , i wondering is it possible for me to merge two country map together? is that any way?
because i m studying in INdia and stay in malaysia .. :(

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2

#100 Post by SilverBeauty » Fri Dec 18, 2009 6:56 am

riku wrote:sorry , i wondering is it possible for me to merge two country map together? is that any way?
because i m studying in INdia and stay in malaysia .. :(

Yes you can. Use Mapsource if you have versions of respective maps installed in it or if you only have map files gmapsupp.img then use GMapTool program.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests