Loading MSM into NUVI Part 5

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
rodasegi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 11:59 pm
GPS: Nuvi 1250
Location: port dickson
Contact:

Re: How to update gps unit

#21 Post by rodasegi » Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:02 pm

so the next best thing to do is just wait and download the most recent map available.?

User avatar
B2Bomber
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 9:49 am
GPS: (Nüvi765, E90, SGHi900)+AR50
Location: N08 38.9746 E101 22.1606
Contact:

Re: How to update gps unit

#22 Post by B2Bomber » Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:23 pm

yes, upload/contribute then wait. :zzz:
but if these are WPs that are not uploadable (say, your GF's, family's, etc.'s houses) you could always either upload them as mentioned earlier or create CPoIs.
hth
ʇɐʞө uoʇµ!uɓ p∩ʇ ʍɐʎ bo!uʇƨ, ꞁөɐ٨ө uoʇµ!uɓ p∩ʇ pʁөɐq ⅽʁ∩wpƨ, ʞ!ꞁꞁ uoʇµ!uɓ p∩ʇ ʇ!wө.

msm1350
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:22 pm
GPS: nuvi 1350
Contact:

msm on nuvi1350

#23 Post by msm1350 » Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:30 pm

hi im a newbie,
how can i upload my msm map from my garmin to mapsource, so that i can backup and create my own route from mapsource?

i've done some reading on this, but the explaination a bit confusing. any other simple method can be done? thanks.

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: msm on nuvi1350

#24 Post by SilverBeauty » Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:55 pm

msm1350 wrote:hi im a newbie,
how can i upload my msm map from my garmin to mapsource, so that i can backup and create my own route from mapsource?

i've done some reading on this, but the explaination a bit confusing. any other simple method can be done? thanks.

I will assume you have Mapsource installed inside your PC / Lappy
If you do not have, then refer to this link on how to get it http://gpsmaps.wikia.com/wiki/GPS_Maps_Wiki

Hook up either your Nuvi 1350 to your PC / Lappy
PC / Lappy will auto-detected go into data mode ( A graphic of a PC with cable will appear on Nuvi screen )

Run Mapsource in your PC / Lappy

On to of screen, there is a set of pull-down menu
Click on Transfer
Select Receive from Device
A pop of box-menu box will appear
Wait for PC / Lappy to detect your device.
Depending on which of your device is attached, it will mention it on menu
Select it
Click Receive from device
When done all your POI that is inside your device will be transferred to Mapsource

Click "File" Pull down menu and select "save as"
Enter a valid file name of your choice and select appropriate drive / directory

msm1350
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:22 pm
GPS: nuvi 1350
Contact:

Re: msm on nuvi1350

#25 Post by msm1350 » Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:59 pm

hi.. thx for your quick reply.
done all that.
except when i select MAPS, it says "The selected device has no maps on it"
rest of the things i can select and received eg, ways, routes and tracks.

fyi, i have install mapsource ver 6.12 from garmin website.
just would like to copy my msm map from my GPS to PC.

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: msm on nuvi1350

#26 Post by dvpro » Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:46 pm

msm1350 wrote:except when i select MAPS, it says "The selected device has no maps on it"
rest of the things i can select and received eg, ways, routes and tracks.
Selecting "Maps" when receiving data from device does not transfer the map installed in device to Mapsource.
msm1350 wrote:fyi, i have install mapsource ver 6.12 from garmin website.
just would like to copy my msm map from my GPS to PC.
For that you need to install this (MSM Mapsource mapset installer): http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewt ... 57#p180157
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

msm1350
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:22 pm
GPS: nuvi 1350
Contact:

Re: msm on nuvi1350

#27 Post by msm1350 » Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:33 pm

owhhh.. i understand now... after do some reading another time. i understand that maps from garmin cannot be copy out to pc, it has to be installed using map installer v4.39 and view from mapsource.
thx a lot for ur help!!

nozzle
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:35 pm
GPS: Garmin
Contact:

Garmin Nuvi 350 newbie

#28 Post by nozzle » Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:01 pm

Hi, I'm new to Garmin and using a Garmin Nuvi 350 NA... bought in US... and how can i update the latest map? and should i update my Garmin web updater to 3.30 version? it said that will erased user memory... what about all the location i've saved? HELP pls... urgent...

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: Garmin Nuvi 350 newbie

#29 Post by dvpro » Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:35 pm

nozzle wrote:Hi, I'm new to Garmin and using a Garmin Nuvi 350 NA... bought in US... and how can i update the latest map?
Latest Sg/My map is available here: http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewt ... 42#p180142 For your Nuvi350, download "gmapsupp_v439.zip", unzip it and place GMAPSUPP.IMG into \Garmin folder either at internal memory or data card.
nozzle wrote:and should i update my Garmin web updater to 3.30 version? it said that will erased user memory... what about all the location i've saved? HELP pls... urgent...
If there is an update via Webupdater, it's recommended to run your Nuvi through the update. As for backing up user memory, back up all GPX files within Nuvi:\Garmin\GPX folder. Later the GPX can be copied back to this folder but any backed up CURRENT.GPX should be renamed to another name before placing back in Nuvi:\Garmin\GPX folder.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

kennice
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 3:59 pm
GPS: NUVI310
Contact:

Can't be installed to Nuvi310

#30 Post by kennice » Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:39 am

I tried to install it to my Nuvi310.
But the error message says "there's not enough space on the device".
Actually the software is 725mb. But 310 has only 400mb memory.

Is there any way to install ?

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests