how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thailand

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
enrell
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:56 pm
GPS: garmin nuvi 1250
Contact:

how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thailand

#1 Post by enrell » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:41 am

hi folks

sorry if this is the wrong thread for this.

im new here and not that familiar with the gps system

i have a gps unit which was bought in thailand

the gps is now to be used in singapore. i emailed garmin and they said that to install SEA maps, i have to get an all-in-one maps costing more than usd90

can i use the maps available from here and if so how do i upgrade it?

any advise much appreciated

thanks !!!

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thail

#2 Post by Redstorm » Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:05 pm

enrell wrote:hi folks

sorry if this is the wrong thread for this.

im new here and not that familiar with the gps system

i have a gps unit which was bought in thailand

the gps is now to be used in singapore. i emailed garmin and they said that to install SEA maps, i have to get an all-in-one maps costing more than usd90

can i use the maps available from here and if so how do i upgrade it?

any advise much appreciated

thanks !!!
Unless you need a map to cover many SEA countries, why waste money on a map when you can get a free one here albeit covering only Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei, which I think should be sufficient for your use. The map here can be used on any Garmin device regardless of country of purchase. You can download the latest MSM v5.37 map from here - http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewt ... 73#p196273. Just follow the instructions.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

enrell
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:56 pm
GPS: garmin nuvi 1250
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thail

#3 Post by enrell » Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:19 pm

Redstorm wrote:
enrell wrote:hi folks

sorry if this is the wrong thread for this.

im new here and not that familiar with the gps system

i have a gps unit which was bought in thailand

the gps is now to be used in singapore. i emailed garmin and they said that to install SEA maps, i have to get an all-in-one maps costing more than usd90

can i use the maps available from here and if so how do i upgrade it?

any advise much appreciated

thanks !!!
Unless you need a map to cover many SEA countries, why waste money on a map when you can get a free one here albeit covering only Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei, which I think should be sufficient for your use. The map here can be used on any Garmin device regardless of country of purchase. You can download the latest MSM v5.37 map from here - http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewt ... 73#p196273. Just follow the instructions.
Thats true. I just need a map that covers Singapore and Malaysia.

Thank you for the link. Will try it later.

enrell
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:56 pm
GPS: garmin nuvi 1250
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thail

#4 Post by enrell » Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:46 am

hi there

i have downloaded the zip file. copied over the files to the directory but when i load up the gps, the map is not listed in it.

btw do i need to add in the .unl file? i tried to get the code from the website, but everytime it says wrong password even though i have entered the right one...

jinteik
Regular
Regular
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 1:36 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 765
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thail

#5 Post by jinteik » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:13 am

nope you dont need the unl file.

did you put the map in the correct directory?

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thail

#6 Post by Redstorm » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:18 am

enrell wrote:hi there

i have downloaded the zip file. copied over the files to the directory but when i load up the gps, the map is not listed in it.

btw do i need to add in the .unl file? i tried to get the code from the website, but everytime it says wrong password even though i have entered the right one...
You cannot copy the zip file straightaway to the directory. It doesn't work this way. The Zip file is compressed and you need to unzip it before you can see the map file (gmapsupp.img), then you copy the map file to the Garmin folder in your microSD card. It doesn't need any unl (unlock code file).
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

enrell
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:56 pm
GPS: garmin nuvi 1250
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thail

#7 Post by enrell » Wed Jan 18, 2012 3:01 pm

Redstorm wrote:
enrell wrote:hi there

i have downloaded the zip file. copied over the files to the directory but when i load up the gps, the map is not listed in it.

btw do i need to add in the .unl file? i tried to get the code from the website, but everytime it says wrong password even though i have entered the right one...
You cannot copy the zip file straightaway to the directory. It doesn't work this way. The Zip file is compressed and you need to unzip it before you can see the map file (gmapsupp.img), then you copy the map file to the Garmin folder in your microSD card. It doesn't need any unl (unlock code file).
Yup, that is what i did. I unzip the file, saw the file inside. extracted it to the Garmin folder in it. Btw mine doesnt come withe microSD card. The directory is in the internal memory.

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thail

#8 Post by SilverBeauty » Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:24 pm

enrell wrote: Yup, that is what i did. I unzip the file, saw the file inside. extracted it to the Garmin folder in it. Btw mine doesnt come withe microSD card. The directory is in the internal memory.

Go buy a microSD card, 2G is sufficient which is now very cheap. Create a garmin folder and put the map file gmapsupp.img in there.
Our recommendation is NOT to add any files into internal memory as Nuvi is very UNFORGIVING to any file corruption.

enrell
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:56 pm
GPS: garmin nuvi 1250
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thail

#9 Post by enrell » Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:26 pm

SilverBeauty wrote:
enrell wrote: Yup, that is what i did. I unzip the file, saw the file inside. extracted it to the Garmin folder in it. Btw mine doesnt come withe microSD card. The directory is in the internal memory.

Go buy a microSD card, 2G is sufficient which is now very cheap. Create a garmin folder and put the map file gmapsupp.img in there.
Our recommendation is NOT to add any files into internal memory as Nuvi is very UNFORGIVING to any file corruption.
so if i get the microsd and do as instructed, i could get the map to work?

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade maps for Garmin Nuvi 1250 bought in thail

#10 Post by ace » Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:53 pm

enrell wrote:..so if i get the microsd and do as instructed, i could get the map to work?
If there are no special reason, yes, the map should work.

By the way, I'm curious as to why the map in the directory does not work. Could you identify the path of this Garmin directory in the device e.g. c:\timbaktu\garmin that you stored the map initially?
I don't have free fish......

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests