nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
shiawasekun
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:54 pm
GPS: nothing yet
Contact:

nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#1 Post by shiawasekun » Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:51 pm

Good day all,

I have a nuvi 3560 and trying to update it. I followed the steps in Newbies Pitstop, copied the file "gmapsupp.img" to map. However I can't find the .systems folder to upload the JCV file from the zip. I've already enabled "Show hidden files" and "Do not hide protected operating system files", still no sight of .systems folder.

It's a local GPS set and I'm running Windows 7.

Any help on this?


Thanks

wsian
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1246
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: SIRFstar III
Contact:

Re: nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#2 Post by wsian » Fri Mar 15, 2013 3:31 pm

It will not appear as a folder. Just type it in the folder address bar.

shiawasekun
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:54 pm
GPS: nothing yet
Contact:

Re: nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#3 Post by shiawasekun » Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:34 pm

I have tried multiple combinations but it seems like it can't be found. Any further help on this?

http://imgur.com/XkLoZuz

Another question, I can see 5 different maps (all ticked) under myMaps
- Apac Dem
- 3D Landmark S & M CN NT 2011 3D
- CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL
- CN SGMY NT 2012.40 Malsing ALL
- CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Navteq ALL

Am I supposed to tick only 1?

thanks

User avatar
alharis288
Qualified Mapper
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 12:18 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 2465
Location: Alor Setar
Contact:

Re: nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#4 Post by alharis288 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:02 pm

shiawasekun wrote:I have tried multiple combinations but it seems like it can't be found. Any further help on this?

http://imgur.com/XkLoZuz

Another question, I can see 5 different maps (all ticked) under myMaps
- Apac Dem
- 3D Landmark S & M CN NT 2011 3D
- CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL
- CN SGMY NT 2012.40 Malsing ALL
- CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Navteq ALL

Am I supposed to tick only 1?

thanks
Yes, tick 1 map only.

:rokz:

User avatar
miezarnd
Senior Mapper
Posts: 591
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:24 am
GPS: Yang dalam kereta punya
https://goo.gl/XBdH3k
Location: Puncak Alam, SEL
Contact:

Re: nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#5 Post by miezarnd » Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:54 pm

shiawasekun wrote:I have tried multiple combinations but it seems like it can't be found. Any further help on this?

http://imgur.com/XkLoZuz

Another question, I can see 5 different maps (all ticked) under myMaps
- Apac Dem
- 3D Landmark S & M CN NT 2011 3D
- CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL
- CN SGMY NT 2012.40 Malsing ALL
- CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Navteq ALL

Am I supposed to tick only 1?

thanks
Hi shiawasekun,

As for 3560 unit, to see 3D landmark and DEM, you need to tick:
1. If you want to use CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Navteq ALL; tick "Apac DEM", "3D Landmark S & M CN NT 2011 3D" and "CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Navteq ALL"
2. If you want to use CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL; tick "Apac DEM" and "CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL"
3. If you want to use CN SGMY NT 2012.40 Malsing ALL; tick "Apac DEM" and "CN SGMY NT 2012.40 MalSing ALL"

For Malsing & Malfree, 3D landmark is already included in the map files itself. (Last time I update my 3790 maps la..)

Please note that 3D landmark & DEM, are only to utilise 3560 unit capabilities. AFAIK, it does not effect any routing from Point A to B.
Temerloh - Sekinchan - Sg. Puyu = 7
2575LM / 3790 / 4592LM / GPSMAP 64s / Montana 650
Jalan-jalan cari makan

shiawasekun
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:54 pm
GPS: nothing yet
Contact:

Re: nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#6 Post by shiawasekun » Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:12 pm

miezarnd wrote:
shiawasekun wrote:I have tried multiple combinations but it seems like it can't be found. Any further help on this?

http://imgur.com/XkLoZuz

Another question, I can see 5 different maps (all ticked) under myMaps
- Apac Dem
- 3D Landmark S & M CN NT 2011 3D
- CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL
- CN SGMY NT 2012.40 Malsing ALL
- CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Navteq ALL

Am I supposed to tick only 1?

thanks
Hi shiawasekun,

As for 3560 unit, to see 3D landmark and DEM, you need to tick:
1. If you want to use CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Navteq ALL; tick "Apac DEM", "3D Landmark S & M CN NT 2011 3D" and "CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Navteq ALL"
2. If you want to use CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL; tick "Apac DEM" and "CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL"
3. If you want to use CN SGMY NT 2012.40 Malsing ALL; tick "Apac DEM" and "CN SGMY NT 2012.40 MalSing ALL"

For Malsing & Malfree, 3D landmark is already included in the map files itself. (Last time I update my 3790 maps la..)

Please note that 3D landmark & DEM, are only to utilise 3560 unit capabilities. AFAIK, it does not effect any routing from Point A to B.
Hi miezarnd,

Thanks for the detailed walk-through! As of now, my 3rd map which is "CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL" has been changed into "MSM 2013 NT v6.08" after I copied "gmapsupp.img" to the "map" folder. Unfortunately I can't solve my 1st issue which I can't find the .systems folder to copy the Product.JCV over.

Question
- If I were to enable "MSM 2013 NT v6.08", will Junction View still work without "Product.JCV"?
- Does "MSM 2013 NT v6.08" support Postal Code search? When I click on "Address", there's no Postal Code tab.
- Will buying a micro SD card, manually create both Map & JCV folder solve my current issues?

Thanks!

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#7 Post by Redstorm » Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:18 pm

shiawasekun wrote:
Hi miezarnd,

Thanks for the detailed walk-through! As of now, my 3rd map which is "CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL" has been changed into "MSM 2013 NT v6.08" after I copied "gmapsupp.img" to the "map" folder. Unfortunately I can't solve my 1st issue which I can't find the .systems folder to copy the Product.JCV over.

Question
- If I were to enable "MSM 2013 NT v6.08", will Junction View still work without "Product.JCV"?
- Does "MSM 2013 NT v6.08" support Postal Code search? When I click on "Address", there's no Postal Code tab.
- Will buying a micro SD card, manually create both Map & JCV folder solve my current issues?

Thanks!
I think you faced the same problem as me when I first got my 3560 and couldn't access the .system folder no matter what I did. The 3560 by default is set to MTP (Media Transfer Protocol) and needs to be changed in the settings to UMS (USB Mass Storage). With MTP, the System directory is hidden and cannot be uncovered. UMS is just like a hard drive. The GPS may rename UMS as MSC but both mean the same thing. Go to the main screen which is "Where To? and View Map" and then click the Volume button below. Once you see the Master Volume page, hold your finger in the upper right corner for about 5-6 seconds and you will see the Diagnostics Page. Scroll down one page and you will see the MTP Settings. Set it to Mass Storage (not Single Session - so that it stays that way). Once done, your device will be re-set as another mass storage and you can access the system folder by typing ".system".
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

shiawasekun
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:54 pm
GPS: nothing yet
Contact:

Re: nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#8 Post by shiawasekun » Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:13 pm

Redstorm wrote:
shiawasekun wrote:
Hi miezarnd,

Thanks for the detailed walk-through! As of now, my 3rd map which is "CN SGMY NT 2012.31 Malfree ALL" has been changed into "MSM 2013 NT v6.08" after I copied "gmapsupp.img" to the "map" folder. Unfortunately I can't solve my 1st issue which I can't find the .systems folder to copy the Product.JCV over.

Question
- If I were to enable "MSM 2013 NT v6.08", will Junction View still work without "Product.JCV"?
- Does "MSM 2013 NT v6.08" support Postal Code search? When I click on "Address", there's no Postal Code tab.
- Will buying a micro SD card, manually create both Map & JCV folder solve my current issues?

Thanks!
I think you faced the same problem as me when I first got my 3560 and couldn't access the .system folder no matter what I did. The 3560 by default is set to MTP (Media Transfer Protocol) and needs to be changed in the settings to UMS (USB Mass Storage). With MTP, the System directory is hidden and cannot be uncovered. UMS is just like a hard drive. The GPS may rename UMS as MSC but both mean the same thing. Go to the main screen which is "Where To? and View Map" and then click the Volume button below. Once you see the Master Volume page, hold your finger in the upper right corner for about 5-6 seconds and you will see the Diagnostics Page. Scroll down one page and you will see the MTP Settings. Set it to Mass Storage (not Single Session - so that it stays that way). Once done, your device will be re-set as another mass storage and you can access the system folder by typing ".system".
Hi Redstorm,

That method on activating UMS worked! Finally I found the .systems folder and uploaded "product.jcv" onto it.

Thanks a lot :champ:

moris
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:09 pm
GPS: eTrex, 60CSx, nuvi 200W, WBT-201 Data Logger, HTC 3407
Contact:

Re: nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#9 Post by moris » Mon Apr 01, 2013 2:40 pm

(...)

I think you faced the same problem as me when I first got my 3560 and couldn't access the .system folder no matter what I did. The 3560 by default is set to MTP (Media Transfer Protocol) and needs to be changed in the settings to UMS (USB Mass Storage). With MTP, the System directory is hidden and cannot be uncovered. UMS is just like a hard drive. The GPS may rename UMS as MSC but both mean the same thing. Go to the main screen which is "Where To? and View Map" and then click the Volume button below. Once you see the Master Volume page, hold your finger in the upper right corner for about 5-6 seconds and you will see the Diagnostics Page. Scroll down one page and you will see the MTP Settings. Set it to Mass Storage (not Single Session - so that it stays that way). Once done, your device will be re-set as another mass storage and you can access the system folder by typing ".system".
Thanks a lot @Redstorm. That's exactly what I was looking for.
:rokz:

User avatar
hayamaguchi
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: eTrex Vista HCx, Nuvi 3560, GPS Essentials on Android.
Location: Acme Township, Ulu Michigan, USA and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: nuvi 3560 & .systems folder

#10 Post by hayamaguchi » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:22 pm

And from me too, Bro. Redstorm! I just got a 3560, and was stumped until I found the post! Thank you !!!
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests