How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
steven913
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:27 am
GPS: nuvi
Contact:

How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

#1 Post by steven913 » Tue Jan 12, 2016 3:21 pm

Dear all,

Did you guy know how to update Toyota Vios 2015 navi system map?
Attachments
2015-toyota-vios-updates-4.jpg

User avatar
moeyHC
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 300, 205W, 2575, Papaga N1, iGo, 5800, M1200, M1000B/C
Location: Penang
Contact:

Re: How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

#2 Post by moeyHC » Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:40 pm

Do you know what is the navigation system is in the VIOS? eg Papago, Garmin... etc. If you can, show us a screenshot of the navigator.

Cheers!
MSM Glossary/Index - viewtopic.php?p=57986#p57986

steven913
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:27 am
GPS: nuvi
Contact:

Re: How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

#3 Post by steven913 » Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:40 pm

this is the photo of navigation system info.
Attachments
61981954917857649.jpg

User avatar
moeyHC
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 300, 205W, 2575, Papaga N1, iGo, 5800, M1200, M1000B/C
Location: Penang
Contact:

Re: How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

#4 Post by moeyHC » Fri Jan 15, 2016 5:41 pm

Good news! This should be a Garmin navigator as it is using Malsingmaps. If you can take a shot of the maps screen then we can be sure.

If it is Garmin, go find the SD card in your unit and remove it. Replace the map file with the latest from MSM.

If you don't know which file to replace do post the screen shot of the Garmin/Map and or .System folder. The .System folder is hidden and you have to enable viewing hidden folder in Win Explorer to see it.

Hope this helps..... Cheers!
MSM Glossary/Index - viewtopic.php?p=57986#p57986

lengzaii33
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 12:10 pm
GPS: Garmin
Contact:

Re: How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

#5 Post by lengzaii33 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:38 pm

moeyHC wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2016 5:41 pm
Good news! This should be a Garmin navigator as it is using Malsingmaps. If you can take a shot of the maps screen then we can be sure.

If it is Garmin, go find the SD card in your unit and remove it. Replace the map file with the latest from MSM.

If you don't know which file to replace do post the screen shot of the Garmin/Map and or .System folder. The .System folder is hidden and you have to enable viewing hidden folder in Win Explorer to see it.

Hope this helps..... Cheers!
Sorry to revive this old thread. I have extracted the data from the sdcard for this Toyota pioneer headunit.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hJFlI9 ... NbxnP/view
May I require the guide to update the maps? Thanks.

User avatar
miezarnd
Senior Mapper
Posts: 588
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:24 am
GPS: Yang dalam kereta punya
https://goo.gl/XBdH3k
Location: Puncak Alam, SEL
Contact:

Re: How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

#6 Post by miezarnd » Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:09 pm

lengzaii33 wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:38 pm

Sorry to revive this old thread. I have extracted the data from the sdcard for this Toyota pioneer headunit.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hJFlI9 ... NbxnP/view
May I require the guide to update the maps? Thanks.
Bang lengzaii33,

The map that preloaded into Pioneer AVN was from MSM but the file format developed by Pioneer for Toyota AVN. The map can only be updated by Toyota SC. I do asked around on this since my brother also using Pioneer AVN (using MSM 2015 maps) on his Altis 2017 but got the same answer.

I guess, we all stuck with old map on this HUD... ](*,) ](*,)
Temerloh - Sekinchan - Sg. Puyu = 7
2575LM / 3790 / 4592LM / GPSMAP 64s / Montana 650
Jalan-jalan cari makan

User avatar
bartmp8
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3123
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
Location: Sandakan
Contact:

Re: How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

#7 Post by bartmp8 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:21 am

miezarnd wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:09 pm
lengzaii33 wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:38 pm

Sorry to revive this old thread. I have extracted the data from the sdcard for this Toyota pioneer headunit.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hJFlI9 ... NbxnP/view
May I require the guide to update the maps? Thanks.
Bang lengzaii33,

The map that preloaded into Pioneer AVN was from MSM but the file format developed by Pioneer for Toyota AVN. The map can only be updated by Toyota SC. I do asked around on this since my brother also using Pioneer AVN (using MSM 2015 maps) on his Altis 2017 but got the same answer.

I guess, we all stuck with old map on this HUD... ](*,) ](*,)

I have updated this map for a few friends using our weekly map. The thing is, the sd card ID no is locked to the head unit so you need to use back the original SD card.
If I remember correctly, create a "Map" folder inside "Garmin" and put the latest map file into that. Disable the pre-loaded NT map and you are good to go. I suggest you back up the whole
content of the SD card before proceeding. If anything goes wrong, just copy back everything. I updated for Hilux and I assume they use the same unit.

User avatar
miezarnd
Senior Mapper
Posts: 588
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:24 am
GPS: Yang dalam kereta punya
https://goo.gl/XBdH3k
Location: Puncak Alam, SEL
Contact:

Re: How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

#8 Post by miezarnd » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:57 am

bartmp8 wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:21 am

I have updated this map for a few friends using our weekly map. The thing is, the sd card ID no is locked to the head unit so you need to use back the original SD card.
If I remember correctly, create a "Map" folder inside "Garmin" and put the latest map file into that. Disable the pre-loaded NT map and you are good to go. I suggest you back up the whole
content of the SD card before proceeding. If anything goes wrong, just copy back everything. I updated for Hilux and I assume they use the same unit.
Bang bart,
Ada 2 model bang... One from Panasonic & one from pioneer.

Panasonic version using .img extension and pure garmin native app. While the pioneer ones, can only use updater pgm to update the maps which nowhere available on the net.

But since you mentioned can use gmapsupp.img, I will try update it using normal PND update method. (Dunno when la..) \:D/
Temerloh - Sekinchan - Sg. Puyu = 7
2575LM / 3790 / 4592LM / GPSMAP 64s / Montana 650
Jalan-jalan cari makan

User avatar
bartmp8
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3123
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
Location: Sandakan
Contact:

Re: How to update toyota vios 2015 navi system map?

#9 Post by bartmp8 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:37 am

Bro Miezarnd,

Thanks for the heads up. Saya ingat yang aku update unit Panasonic (Hilux).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests