Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
nglt23
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:40 pm
GPS: MIO520
Contact:

Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#1 Post by nglt23 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:06 pm

Hi,

I am thinking of buying a Mio c520 from overseas but is worried if there are any Singapore Maps support for it. Could anyone advise on this pls? Tks in advance.

Rgds
Last edited by bartmp8 on Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Apologies to Nglt23 for changing and hijacking this topic. Newbies, pls use this thread to ask before buying if unsure.

User avatar
jaguar
Councillor
Councillor
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 310, 60CSx, 10x
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Can Singapore Map support for Mio c520?

#2 Post by jaguar » Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:01 pm

I just took a look at the specs for Mio C520 on this link:
http://www.mio-tech.be/en/gps-navigatio ... ations.htm

Beautiful features.. but I am afraid it does not support Malsingmaps as is... as our hobby maps run on the Garmin platform.

Code: Select all

Software  
Operating System           Microsoft Windows CE .Net 5.0 
Navigation Software        MioMap v3.3 
Picture Viewer                Yes 
Audio Player                   Yes 
Calculator                      Yes 
I am not the expert here.. but I do notice the operating system is Microsoft Windows CE .Net 5.0 ... hmm... don't know can load Que and Gpsproxy or not... probably not... .....

take care..
Look on the bright side ya? :muak:

User avatar
sabre23t
Councillor
Councillor
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi1350 and Google Maps Android
Location: Klang, Selangor
Contact:

Re: Can Singapore Map support for Mio c520?

#3 Post by sabre23t » Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:39 pm

jaguar wrote:I do notice the operating system is Microsoft Windows CE .Net 5.0 ... hmm... don't know can load Que and Gpsproxy or not... probably not...
When they say CE Net 5.0 it likely would not be able to run GPSProxy, Garmin Que or Garmin Mobile XT.
Users should look for Windows Mobile 6, Windows Mobile 5 or Windows Mobile 2003 if they want to run said software with our Malsingmaps.
The world is my 4sq venue!

nglt23
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:40 pm
GPS: MIO520
Contact:

Re: Can Singapore Map support for Mio c520?

#4 Post by nglt23 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:47 pm

Thanks everybody. I notice that Mapking can support Windows mobile, so guess I will have to purchase Mapking if I wish to buy the Mio C520

uptempo8
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:10 pm
GPS: None yet...
Contact:

GPS Units from the US?

#5 Post by uptempo8 » Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:28 pm

Hi everyone... I'm new to the GPS scene, and wondering if a portable unit purchased in the United States will work here in Singapore? It seems as though Garmin is the brand of choice here, given the Malsing map compatibility, etc... just wondering if there is any reason why a unit bought in the States wouldn't work? If no problem, can you offer any suggestions on specific Garmin models given the conditions here in Singapore?

Thanks!

623MRB1
Regular
Regular
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:42 pm
GPS: nüvi 750
Contact:

Re: GPS Units from the US?

#6 Post by 623MRB1 » Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:40 pm

Garmin bought from US will work here.

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: GPS Units from the US?

#7 Post by SilverBeauty » Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:14 pm

uptempo8 wrote:Hi everyone... I'm new to the GPS scene, and wondering if a portable unit purchased in the United States will work here in Singapore? It seems as though Garmin is the brand of choice here, given the Malsing map compatibility, etc... just wondering if there is any reason why a unit bought in the States wouldn't work? If no problem, can you offer any suggestions on specific Garmin models given the conditions here in Singapore?

Thanks!
:welcome: bro uptemo8, to malsingmaps forum where all garmin is discussed.

GPS are universal tools that derived its co-ordinates from satellites that roam the globe in outer space, so it can be used anywhere in the world. You should be concern with availability of maps. =D>

As to what model is suited for you, suggest you read the wiki section for newbies to gain a little knowledge of GPS and its functions / usage. Then determine a want / wish list that you want to benefit from the acquisition of the GPS. Visit Garmin website ( http://www.garmin.com, look under products ) to get a feel of the various models and specification. :-k

Pay a visit to the various Garmin dealers ( ie... PW at SLS ) for a first hand feel of the various models and prices. Buy according to you budget and needs. :thumbsup:

enots
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:53 pm
GPS: nuvi 200
Location: Singapore, TP
Contact:

Re: GPS Units from the US?

#8 Post by enots » Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:11 pm

Hi uptempo8,

I support what the others say because I also bought a US Nuvi200 thru internet purchase. Its a risk.... but also a good bargain (cost me SDG297 inclusive of shipping charges).

http://www.malsingmaps.com/wiki/index.p ... _Nuvi_GPSr

I had accidentally corrupted the US maps. But in any case, I followed the steps STRICTLY (and blindly, haha ) mentioned above and it works fine. The most important thing is that "gmapsupp.img" (containing SGP and MAL maps) must be in either the SD card or in the "garmin" directory of the unit.

So now I am a happy owner of a US bought Nuvi200 ..... with the forum provided MAL/SIN maps ..... and a set of corrupted US map. :mrgreen:

Good luck!

uptempo8
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:10 pm
GPS: None yet...
Contact:

Re: GPS Units from the US?

#9 Post by uptempo8 » Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:54 pm

Hey guys - thanks for the quick replies and helpful info! The reason I ask is that I was recently given a Garmin Nuvi 200W as a Christmas gift in the States... So I was wondering first if it would work here in Singapore, and second if the performance was adequate for the very urban landscape... I don't want to have to keep pulling off to the side of the road so the GPS can reacquire the satellite signal as several articles have mentioned is a drawback of some of the cheaper models... Any experience on whether this particular model is adequate for S'pore and advice on whether I should upgrade to a more sophisticated unit?

Thanks again!

User avatar
psionsiena
Regular
Regular
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:26 pm
GPS: 60csx, 3790T
Location: Central Singapore
Contact:

Re: GPS Units from the US?

#10 Post by psionsiena » Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:54 pm

Hi bro uptempo8, with so many members here using your model in Singapore you can be sure it will work well!

All Nuvi models come with high-sensitivity receivers (either SiRF III, MTK or Bravo), so probably the only reason to go for the more 'sophisticated' models is if you need those extra features eg. Text-to-speech
A people that values its privileges above its principles soon loses both.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests