Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
bernGPS
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3369
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Garmin 10x, GPSmap78s (now become a lemon) & etrex Vista HCx
Location: Sabah & Sarawak
Contact:

Re: Car GPS system

#241 Post by bernGPS » Sat Sep 26, 2009 10:34 pm

Nope. TomTom uses Tom Tom maps while Garmin uses Garmin map
Last edited by bartmp8 on Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: This Topic will be merged into "Can My GPS use MSM" at a later date

ytooi77
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:54 pm
GPS: Garmin 200W
Contact:

Re: Car GPS system

#242 Post by ytooi77 » Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:13 am

Thanks Sifu!!! =D>

User avatar
stay
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:30 am
GPS: 60CSx, Nuvi 255W(Asian Set)
Location: Miri, Sarawak / Brunei
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#243 Post by stay » Sun Sep 27, 2009 2:35 pm

daleylay wrote: *snip*
5. can MSM use in Miri Town, Sarawak? ( I going there to work)

You won't get lost using Miri Map but there're still plenty of roads and POIs to be added. All the help to improve is much appreciated. If you ever get lost in Miri, just PM me. I'll send a search party to look for you :nehneh:

6. Any map ready for Miri -> Kuching route ? how detail ?

Good enough to get you to your destination. Of course, it all depend on the user. If the user enters the wrong route or destination and got lost, not much MSM can do to assist. If all else fails, just do the proven conventional GPS (Ground Position system) method.....ask the local folks for direction :mrgreen:

sorie abt my confusing questions. Hope improve by time later. MANY THX !!

brchoo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:14 pm
GPS: mapking format
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#244 Post by brchoo » Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:46 pm

Hi All,

New to GPS, need some advise. Recently bought a entry level GPS ( GPS Bay E668 ) which powered by MapKing and included Mapking and Malsing Map.
What is MSM you all mention here ? Can I install map besides Malaysia east/west and singapore map ? Like Thailand, Taiwan, China area (thinking to bring it along for future trip) ?

Since it is powered by Mapking, is it means I can't download other brand map like Garmin ?

Thanks for the advise..

User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2619
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#245 Post by Zeus73 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:17 am

brchoo wrote:Hi All,

New to GPS, need some advise. Recently bought a entry level GPS ( GPS Bay E668 ) which powered by MapKing and included Mapking and Malsing Map.
What is MSM you all mention here ? Can I install map besides Malaysia east/west and singapore map ? Like Thailand, Taiwan, China area (thinking to bring it along for future trip) ?

Since it is powered by Mapking, is it means I can't download other brand map like Garmin ?

Thanks for the advise..
:welcome:
This topic is for pple to ask before buying.

Since you have already brought, you can read this. :mrgreen:

imranz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:36 am
GPS: Garmin 885T
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#246 Post by imranz » Sat Jan 30, 2010 11:37 am

My brother who is studying in US is buying a garmin 885T. May I know, is it possible to use it here in Malaysia? And can I load this device with MSM? Any advise? Thanks in advance ;)

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#247 Post by Redstorm » Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:05 pm

imranz wrote:My brother who is studying in US is buying a garmin 885T. May I know, is it possible to use it here in Malaysia? And can I load this device with MSM? Any advise? Thanks in advance ;)
Doesn't matter whether your Garmin is bought in USA, Taiwan, Timbaktu, Antartica or anywhere else in the world, it can be used in any country as long as you have the map of the country you are in loaded in the device. Yes, you can always install the device with MSM maps or any other third party maps provided they are created for Garmin. Thank you.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

imranz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:36 am
GPS: Garmin 885T
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#248 Post by imranz » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:36 pm

Redstorm wrote:
Doesn't matter whether your Garmin is bought in USA, Taiwan, Timbaktu, Antartica or anywhere else in the world, it can be used in any country as long as you have the map of the country you are in loaded in the device. Yes, you can always install the device with MSM maps or any other third party maps provided they are created for Garmin. Thank you.
I'm just receive the Garmin 885T from my brother in US. When I turned on the device, it asked me the country but I cannot find MALAYSIA in the list. Do I need to configure something in this device?

User avatar
badrol
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 736
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:12 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi200
Location: Bandar Baru Bangi, Selangor Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#249 Post by badrol » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:43 pm

imranz wrote: I'm just receive the Garmin 885T from my brother in US. When I turned on the device, it asked me the country but I cannot find MALAYSIA in the list. Do I need to configure something in this device?
You have not upload any Malaysian map into the device.
Image

imranz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:36 am
GPS: Garmin 885T
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#250 Post by imranz » Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:01 pm

badrol wrote:
You have not upload any Malaysian map into the device.
I already upload gmapsupp.img which I got from here in my SD card in garmin. Then how to load Malaysian map?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests