Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
bartmp8
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3060
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
Location: Sandakan
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#271 Post by bartmp8 » Sat Aug 28, 2010 9:20 pm

manulm wrote:do you fear my document is saved as gmapprom1.unl.txt ?

or does it have to do with file encoding ? (unicode, ANSI ...)

just tried it, does not work :(
Another thing: did you use your GPSID to generate the unlock code or did you use the serial no?

Read this first then the rest of the topic:
http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewt ... 10#p172310

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#272 Post by Redstorm » Sat Aug 28, 2010 9:54 pm

manulm wrote:do you fear my document is saved as gmapprom1.unl.txt ?

or does it have to do with file encoding ? (unicode, ANSI ...)

just tried it, does not work :(
No, read my comments carefully. It's about saving your unlock code files, if you do so using Notepad.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

manulm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 8:14 am
GPS: garmin
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#273 Post by manulm » Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:39 pm

I did use the GPSID taken from settings menu of the GPS, unlock code confirmed by Garmin.
Same issue no way to get the maps unlocked.
And my file was saved as "gmapprom1.unl" using "save as" and choosing "all files".

same issue :-k

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#274 Post by Redstorm » Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:48 pm

manulm wrote:I did use the GPSID taken from settings menu of the GPS, unlock code confirmed by Garmin.
Same issue no way to get the maps unlocked.
And my file was saved as "gmapprom1.unl" using "save as" and choosing "all files".

same issue :-k
Since yours is an Euro version, you can forget about installing the MSM NT map. No loss to you since your version is not able to view the JCV. In fact, the MSM ver 4.39 is more up-to-date than the MSM NT map as the former is updated every Sun/Mon whereas the NT map is quarterly.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

manulm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 8:14 am
GPS: garmin
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#275 Post by manulm » Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:52 pm

OK.

Guys, thanks for your support !

Dieselord
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:45 pm
GPS: Route 66
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#276 Post by Dieselord » Thu Sep 02, 2010 6:39 pm

Hi,

I've bought a 2nd hand kenwood dnx7320... it doesn't comes with sd card.

Right now, i have a 256mb sd card, but how do i d/l the garmin map & poi?

thks

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#277 Post by dvpro » Thu Sep 02, 2010 7:03 pm

Create a \Garmin folder in SD card and place GMAPSUPP.IMG (Garmin detailed map for device) in the folder, and (optionally) place cPOI files (*.GPI files) in \Garmin\POI folder.

ie. SD:\Garmin\GMAPSUPP.IMG and SD:\Garmin\POI\*.GPI.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

PRODIKEY
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:07 pm
GPS: Marbella M550 slim gps Navigator
Contact:

can MArbella device us Map King map ?

#278 Post by PRODIKEY » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:13 pm

Hi All,
I have a Marbella M550 GPS Navigator.
Can I used the MAPKING map, if yes what forat I should select and how to update the map.

Thanks

cheongk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:43 pm
GPS: Nuvi 310
Contact:

Australian version of Nuvi 1250 - okay for loading MSM?

#279 Post by cheongk » Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:59 pm

Hi Malsingers,

I think that its okay but better safe than sorry eh. Okay, my question is that - I am thinking of buying a Nuvi 1250 (Australian version). Has anyone heard of any problems with using this Australian device for loading of Malsing maps?

Thanks in advance lah.

Kind regards,
Cheong

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Australian version of Nuvi 1250 - okay for loading MSM?

#280 Post by Redstorm » Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:19 pm

cheongk wrote:Hi Malsingers,

I think that its okay but better safe than sorry eh. Okay, my question is that - I am thinking of buying a Nuvi 1250 (Australian version). Has anyone heard of any problems with using this Australian device for loading of Malsing maps?

Thanks in advance lah.

Kind regards,
Cheong
No issue at all. Regardless of whether your set is from Australia, Timbaktu, Antartica or North Pole, as long as it is a Garmin, it can install our MSM map without any problem.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 11 guests