Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:57 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 689 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 69  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:30 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
jsliau wrote:
...
by the way, i a bit confuse on how the whle malsingmaps work...i seen something like contributor etc etc.

how does the whole things actually work?

Please browse thru this topic for more info: FAQ: How and what can I contribute to obtain unlock codes?

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:13 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 5
GPS: P1i phone with HGE100
dvpro wrote:
Please browse thru this topic for more info: FAQ: How and what can I contribute to obtain unlock codes?


Hi,

thanks for the link

what does the GPSProxy2.2 do? as i read thru the obtain unlocked code section. it said have to get either the garmind unit ID or GPSID from gpsproxy2.2?

As my garmin xt using my internal GPS instead of external bluetooth GPS.....so i still need to install this gpsproxy?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:20 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
jsliau wrote:
what does the GPSProxy2.2 do? as i read thru the obtain unlocked code section. it said have to get either the garmind unit ID or GPSID from gpsproxy2.2?

As my garmin xt using my internal GPS instead of external bluetooth GPS.....so i still need to install this gpsproxy?

GPSProxy is not needed for GMXT, just use GMXT's Software Unit ID when requesting for unlock codes.

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 7:39 am
Posts: 2
GPS: igo
deani77 wrote:
AFAIK you can't install Garmin application to that unit. Since it not running on Garmin required platform (WM, Symbian, Palm or Windows)


thank for your respond, one more question, can we remove the existing OS and install it with OS like you said above (WM, Symbian, Palm or Windows).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:19 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
bt-6 wrote:
thank for your respond, one more question, can we remove the existing OS and install it with OS like you said above (WM, Symbian, Palm or Windows).

No.

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:11 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:24 pm
Posts: 4
GPS: Samsung mobile navigator
It says in this thread that first time user can use the files posted on this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=70&t=16332

Is this also useable in my Samsung SGH-i780 powered by Windows Mobile 6.1 with Samsung Navigator Garmin?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:37 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
20vanda01 wrote:
It says in this thread that first time user can use the files posted on this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=70&t=16332

Is this also useable in my Samsung SGH-i780 powered by Windows Mobile 6.1 with Samsung Navigator Garmin?

Yes, if the Unit ID is available at Garmin's about page, use that Unit ID (or maybe Software Unit ID) when requesting for unlock codes.

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:05 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:24 pm
Posts: 4
GPS: Samsung mobile navigator
Hi dvpro thanks for the quick response. Appreciate that.
I'm now able to unlock the msm map using the garmin website.
But I can not load the msm map. I also tried renaming it to gmapsupp but still can not be loaded.
What is currently loaded by default is a US map namefile GMAPBMAP.

When I check my map sets, here what is being displayed
WW Autoroute Basemap NR
\Storage card2
- this is the map that is loaded by default.

Detailed maps
\Storage card2
- this is the msm 2009.5

*Detailed maps
\Storage card2
- this is a EUR NT that comes with my unit and it has * because its not yet unlock.

Why is my msm 2009.5 map not being loaded?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:10 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
I believe EUR NT is using GMAPPROM.IMG map file name, so rename MSM NT's *.IMG and *.UNL to GMAPSUPP.IMG + GMAPSUPP.UNL. If GMAPSUPP.IMG map file name is already used, you need to rename current GMAPSUPP.IMG to something else. If that still does not work, rename original GMAPPROM.IMG to another name, and use that IMG/UNL name for MSM NT.

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:42 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:24 pm
Posts: 4
GPS: Samsung mobile navigator
Thanks again dvpro for the response.
Let me clarify my situation.

This is the map currently loaded
WW Autoroute Basemap NR - this is a USA map
Filename: GMAPBMAP.IMG (no corresponding *.UNL file)

MSM 2009.5 map - can not be loaded
Filename: GMAPPROM.IMG + GMAPPROM.UNL

EUR NT - not loaded and its okay not to use
Filename: GMAPSUP.IMG (no corresponding *.UNL file)

Now what I did I removed the USA map and EUR NT map from the Garmin folder.
What is now remain in the Garmin folder is the MSM 2009.5 and I renamed the GMAPPROM.IMG + GMAPPROM.UNL to GMAPBMAP.IMG + GMAPBMAP.UNL
Result: map did not load
Then, I renamed again the files to GMAPSUPP.UNL and GMAPSUPP.IMG
Result: map did not load

Any thoughts?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 689 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 69  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group