For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

General chat about GPS technology

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#31 Post by dvpro » Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:30 pm

jsliau wrote:...
by the way, i a bit confuse on how the whle malsingmaps work...i seen something like contributor etc etc.

how does the whole things actually work?
Please browse thru this topic for more info: FAQ: How and what can I contribute to obtain unlock codes?
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

jsliau
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:48 pm
GPS: P1i phone with HGE100
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#32 Post by jsliau » Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:13 pm

dvpro wrote: Please browse thru this topic for more info: FAQ: How and what can I contribute to obtain unlock codes?
Hi,

thanks for the link

what does the GPSProxy2.2 do? as i read thru the obtain unlocked code section. it said have to get either the garmind unit ID or GPSID from gpsproxy2.2?

As my garmin xt using my internal GPS instead of external bluetooth GPS.....so i still need to install this gpsproxy?

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#33 Post by dvpro » Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:20 pm

jsliau wrote:what does the GPSProxy2.2 do? as i read thru the obtain unlocked code section. it said have to get either the garmind unit ID or GPSID from gpsproxy2.2?

As my garmin xt using my internal GPS instead of external bluetooth GPS.....so i still need to install this gpsproxy?
GPSProxy is not needed for GMXT, just use GMXT's Software Unit ID when requesting for unlock codes.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

bt-6
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 7:39 am
GPS: igo
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#34 Post by bt-6 » Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:41 pm

deani77 wrote:AFAIK you can't install Garmin application to that unit. Since it not running on Garmin required platform (WM, Symbian, Palm or Windows)
thank for your respond, one more question, can we remove the existing OS and install it with OS like you said above (WM, Symbian, Palm or Windows).

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#35 Post by dvpro » Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:19 am

bt-6 wrote:thank for your respond, one more question, can we remove the existing OS and install it with OS like you said above (WM, Symbian, Palm or Windows).
No.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

20vanda01
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:24 pm
GPS: Samsung mobile navigator
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#36 Post by 20vanda01 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:11 am

It says in this thread that first time user can use the files posted on this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=70&t=16332

Is this also useable in my Samsung SGH-i780 powered by Windows Mobile 6.1 with Samsung Navigator Garmin?

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#37 Post by dvpro » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:37 am

20vanda01 wrote:It says in this thread that first time user can use the files posted on this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=70&t=16332

Is this also useable in my Samsung SGH-i780 powered by Windows Mobile 6.1 with Samsung Navigator Garmin?
Yes, if the Unit ID is available at Garmin's about page, use that Unit ID (or maybe Software Unit ID) when requesting for unlock codes.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

20vanda01
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:24 pm
GPS: Samsung mobile navigator
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#38 Post by 20vanda01 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:05 am

Hi dvpro thanks for the quick response. Appreciate that.
I'm now able to unlock the msm map using the garmin website.
But I can not load the msm map. I also tried renaming it to gmapsupp but still can not be loaded.
What is currently loaded by default is a US map namefile GMAPBMAP.

When I check my map sets, here what is being displayed
WW Autoroute Basemap NR
\Storage card2
- this is the map that is loaded by default.

Detailed maps
\Storage card2
- this is the msm 2009.5

*Detailed maps
\Storage card2
- this is a EUR NT that comes with my unit and it has * because its not yet unlock.

Why is my msm 2009.5 map not being loaded?

Thanks.

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#39 Post by dvpro » Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:10 am

I believe EUR NT is using GMAPPROM.IMG map file name, so rename MSM NT's *.IMG and *.UNL to GMAPSUPP.IMG + GMAPSUPP.UNL. If GMAPSUPP.IMG map file name is already used, you need to rename current GMAPSUPP.IMG to something else. If that still does not work, rename original GMAPPROM.IMG to another name, and use that IMG/UNL name for MSM NT.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

20vanda01
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:24 pm
GPS: Samsung mobile navigator
Contact:

Re: For First-Time Visitors (The FAQ of all FAQs!) UPDATED 24/7

#40 Post by 20vanda01 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:42 am

Thanks again dvpro for the response.
Let me clarify my situation.

This is the map currently loaded
WW Autoroute Basemap NR - this is a USA map
Filename: GMAPBMAP.IMG (no corresponding *.UNL file)

MSM 2009.5 map - can not be loaded
Filename: GMAPPROM.IMG + GMAPPROM.UNL

EUR NT - not loaded and its okay not to use
Filename: GMAPSUP.IMG (no corresponding *.UNL file)

Now what I did I removed the USA map and EUR NT map from the Garmin folder.
What is now remain in the Garmin folder is the MSM 2009.5 and I renamed the GMAPPROM.IMG + GMAPPROM.UNL to GMAPBMAP.IMG + GMAPBMAP.UNL
Result: map did not load
Then, I renamed again the files to GMAPSUPP.UNL and GMAPSUPP.IMG
Result: map did not load

Any thoughts?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests