eTrex Venture HC

Discussions on Garmin eTrex, GPSMap60, GPSMap76, Rino & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
pumbaa
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi300
GPSMap76CSx
N82
Location: Penang
Contact:

eTrex Venture HC

#1 Post by pumbaa » Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:13 pm

Hi...

This is my first time want to upload maps into Venture HC.

It doesnt have a memory card.

Once its connected to the PC using USB, there is no additional drive appear.

How do I upload MalsingMaps into it ah ??

Thanks in Advance..

Pumbaa
1913 16082008
I'll start DIET tomorrow !!

BURP !!

udaloy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:16 pm
GPS: Legend C
Contact:

Re: How to upload maps to VENTURE HC ??

#2 Post by udaloy » Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:14 pm

pumbaa wrote:Hi...

This is my first time want to upload maps into Venture HC.

It doesnt have a memory card.

Once its connected to the PC using USB, there is no additional drive appear.

How do I upload MalsingMaps into it ah ??

Thanks in Advance..

Pumbaa
1913 16082008
Because Venture does not use external memory, when connected to your PC, it will not show up as an additional drive.

If you are using free malsing maps, the easiest way to load maps is, first, the maps need to be installed in Mapsource, then from mapsource, transfer to device.

If you are using locked maps, there is a small problem. Because it has only 24Mb memory, it will not fit maps V2.27, and later. One way to getting around this problem is to use Sendmaps to delete the HDB POIs, and that would reduce the map size just below 24Mb.

:D

pumbaa
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi300
GPSMap76CSx
N82
Location: Penang
Contact:

Re: How to upload maps to VENTURE HC ??

#3 Post by pumbaa » Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:44 pm

udaloy wrote: Because Venture does not use external memory, when connected to your PC, it will not show up as an additional drive.

If you are using free malsing maps, the easiest way to load maps is, first, the maps need to be installed in Mapsource, then from mapsource, transfer to device.

If you are using locked maps, there is a small problem. Because it has only 24Mb memory, it will not fit maps V2.27, and later. One way to getting around this problem is to use Sendmaps to delete the HDB POIs, and that would reduce the map size just below 24Mb.

:D

OK..... I tried to load with v2.15 whcih is the free map.

I tried to install in Mapsource, and I transfer to the Venture HC.

It says Cant Unlock Map.

How to get the gmapsupp.img to send into the Venture ah ??

Sigh...

Thanks...

Pumbaa
2344 16082008
I'll start DIET tomorrow !!

BURP !!

tympg
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Holux Slim 236 + Dopod 838pro (WM6); Garmin eTrex Vista HCx
Location: George Town South
Contact:

Re: How to upload maps to VENTURE HC ??

#4 Post by tympg » Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:14 am

pumbaa wrote:OK..... I tried to load with v2.15 whcih is the free map.

I tried to install in Mapsource, and I transfer to the Venture HC.

It says Cant Unlock Map.
Free map can install in MapSource meh? :-k

udaloy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:16 pm
GPS: Legend C
Contact:

Re: How to upload maps to VENTURE HC ??

#5 Post by udaloy » Sun Aug 17, 2008 4:55 am

pumbaa wrote:

OK..... I tried to load with v2.15 whcih is the free map.

I tried to install in Mapsource, and I transfer to the Venture HC.

It says Cant Unlock Map.

How to get the gmapsupp.img to send into the Venture ah ??

Sigh...

Thanks...

Pumbaa
2344 16082008
You cannot transfer gmapsupp.img directly into Venture.

After self-extracting v2.15, it will create a gmapsupp.img file.

You need to install this program, SENDMAP20.

Connect GPS to PC. Open Sendmap20, and Select "ADD MAPS", and choose the gmapsupp.img file which was created earlier from v2.15. You should see this screen

Image

Then you click "UPLOAD MAPS TO GPS", and it will transfer the maps to your device.

Done

Hope that works for you. Cheers
:D

pumbaa
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi300
GPSMap76CSx
N82
Location: Penang
Contact:

Re: How to upload maps to VENTURE HC ??

#6 Post by pumbaa » Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:27 pm

Udaloy,

Nope... it doesnt work..

Dont know whats wrong... the sendmap just HANG....

Any other ways of getting the map into Venture ??

Thanks in Advance...

Pumbaa
1727 17082008
I'll start DIET tomorrow !!

BURP !!

User avatar
bernGPS
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3369
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Garmin 10x, GPSmap78s (now become a lemon) & etrex Vista HCx
Location: Sabah & Sarawak
Contact:

Re: How to upload maps to VENTURE HC ??

#7 Post by bernGPS » Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:00 pm

Pumbaa,

Have you tried upgrading your firmware which was version2.7 dated 19 February 2008? Maybe you also want to download the latest driver here http://www8.garmin.com/support/collecti ... 0-00632-00

I had some problem uploading maps to my friend's etrex vista and after flashing the latest firmware, it loaded ok.

If it still fails, you can send it here N5 58 10.9 E116 04 13.5. :mrgreen:

udaloy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 6:16 pm
GPS: Legend C
Contact:

Re: How to upload maps to VENTURE HC ??

#8 Post by udaloy » Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:12 pm

pumbaa wrote:Udaloy,

Nope... it doesnt work..

Dont know whats wrong... the sendmap just HANG....

Any other ways of getting the map into Venture ??

Thanks in Advance...

Pumbaa
1727 17082008
Hi Pumbaa

I have gone through my instructions, and everything is in order.

At which point did the Sendmap hang ? Did you see this screen ?

Image
At what percentage did the transfer process hang ?
Did it state that your AVAILABLE MEMORY is 24MB ?

It's really difficult to trouble shoot the problem. Perhaps if you really need the maps urgently, you can try this.

Download GM-MySin v1.26.exe from here : http://hewds.tmsk.uitm.edu.my/MalSing/i ... s/GM-MySin

This is the good old way of loading maps to the GPS. First the maps will be installed in Mapsource, and then you select the relevant maps to be transferred to the GPS.
I hope you are familiar with Mapsource.

pumbaa
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi300
GPSMap76CSx
N82
Location: Penang
Contact:

Re: How to upload maps to VENTURE HC ??

#9 Post by pumbaa » Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:31 pm

I tried download the firmware and it says its the same as the unit's firmware.

Update the USB drive too.... no difference.

How ah ?

Need alot help here.... SendMap still HANG when want to upload to the unit....

Sigh...

Thanks in Advance....

Pumbaa
2231 17082008
I'll start DIET tomorrow !!

BURP !!

pumbaa
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi300
GPSMap76CSx
N82
Location: Penang
Contact:

Re: How to upload maps to VENTURE HC ??

#10 Post by pumbaa » Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:37 pm

udaloy wrote: Hi Pumbaa

I have gone through my instructions, and everything is in order.

At which point did the Sendmap hang ? Did you see this screen ?

Image
At what percentage did the transfer process hang ?
Did it state that your AVAILABLE MEMORY is 24MB ?

It's really difficult to trouble shoot the problem. Perhaps if you really need the maps urgently, you can try this.

Download GM-MySin v1.26.exe from here : http://hewds.tmsk.uitm.edu.my/MalSing/i ... s/GM-MySin

This is the good old way of loading maps to the GPS. First the maps will be installed in Mapsource, and then you select the relevant maps to be transferred to the GPS.
I hope you are familiar with Mapsource.

It hangs at TRYING USB

After that.... U need to force quit it......

I tried leaving it >30mins... still nothing....

V1.26 ?? Err.... Abit outdated kua.... No ah ??

Any other better idea to help me ah ??

Pumbaa
2236 17082008
I'll start DIET tomorrow !!

BURP !!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests