GPSmap 76CSx

Discussions on Garmin eTrex, GPSMap60, GPSMap76, Rino & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
toda_k20
Regular
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:33 am
GPS: Garmin GPS76CSx, Nuvi 360
Location: Singapore
Contact:

tide tables feature in Garmin 76csx

#1 Post by toda_k20 » Sun Sep 09, 2007 8:43 am

I have recently gotten the 76csx and according to garmin's website, the unit has "tide tables" feature.

I have tried refering to the manual but to no avail. Is there a software which I need to install to enable this feature ?

sabre23t
Councillor
Councillor
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi1350 and Google Maps Android
Location: Klang, Selangor
Contact:

Re: tide tables feature in Garmin 76csx

#2 Post by sabre23t » Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:21 pm

It's the "fish and hunt" feature in the 76CSx and 60CSx. Though the tide table used is not accurate for ports along the Straits of Melaka. Do google search for "fish and hunt site:malsingmaps.com" should get you some oldforum threads on this issue. Just change the forum/ reference to oldforum reference.
The world is MyMaps!

toda_k20
Regular
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:33 am
GPS: Garmin GPS76CSx, Nuvi 360
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: tide tables feature in Garmin 76csx

#3 Post by toda_k20 » Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:31 pm

sabre23t wrote:It's the "fish and hunt" feature in the 76CSx and 60CSx. Though the tide table used is not accurate for ports along the Straits of Melaka. Do google search for "fish and hunt site:malsingmaps.com" should get you some oldforum threads on this issue. Just change the forum/ reference to oldforum reference.
thanks. did a search and I am aware of the fish&hunt function but there was no information pertaining to the tidal information. (ie, I need to know the high and low tide readings).

sabre23t
Councillor
Councillor
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi1350 and Google Maps Android
Location: Klang, Selangor
Contact:

Re: tide tables feature in Garmin 76csx

#4 Post by sabre23t » Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:59 pm

toda_k20 wrote:... I am aware of the fish&hunt function but there was no information pertaining to the tidal information. (ie, I need to know the high and low tide readings) ...
Ah, if you need the high tide and low tide readings the simplest is just to use the Web (via WAP/GPRS or PDA phone). This Malaysian "Jabatan Kajicuaca" site gives Port Klang tide readings, http://www.met.gov.my/htdocs2/data/IDM2 ... n%20Kelang.

You can correlate 60CS best time for fishing (I believe this is high-tide[*]) and good time for fishing (I believe this is low-tide[*]) to the tide timing, but no info on tide height.

For Port Klang on my 60CS the correlation is opposite to other ports like Singapore, Bintulu and Kemaman that is open to South China Sea, or Langkawi to the Indian Ocean. It seems Garmin tidal information didn't take into account the impact of Straits of Malacca to the tide.

[*] Unfortunately, I coudn't find the post in the oldforum where I did the detailed correlation against the tide table.[/i]
The world is MyMaps!

toda_k20
Regular
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:33 am
GPS: Garmin GPS76CSx, Nuvi 360
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: tide tables feature in Garmin 76csx

#5 Post by toda_k20 » Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:32 pm

sabre23t wrote:<snipped>
Thanks! Yes, I am aware of the correlation between fishing time to tides and using moon age to gauge extremes between high and low but I was expecting to be able to retrieve tidal information (high and low) along with the corresponding timings.

User avatar
adilothman
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 724
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: GPS V,Colo 300, 60CSx, Forerunner 305 & 405, Oregon 300, Nuvi 255W, 1350, 1460, 3790, 62S
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Contact:

Re: tide tables feature in Garmin 76csx

#6 Post by adilothman » Mon Sep 10, 2007 3:38 pm

The tide tables come from Bluecharts CD. The tide tables do not require an unlock code so you can freely upload them into your receiver if you have the CD. Once uploaded, under "Find" you will see a new icon for tide tables. Its just a visual display that looks like waves with highs and lows based on the date and time of day.
Malsingmaps is now an official partner of Garmin to produce maps for MY, SG & Brunei.

sabre23t
Councillor
Councillor
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi1350 and Google Maps Android
Location: Klang, Selangor
Contact:

Re: tide tables feature in Garmin 76csx

#7 Post by sabre23t » Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:44 pm

adilothman wrote:The tide tables come from Bluecharts CD. The tide tables do not require an unlock code ...
Does this "tide table" work on 60CSx too? So, I can expect to see something similar to what CTide (postcard-request free software) can display on PPC, eh?
Attachments
ctide main_view.gif
ctide main_view.gif (5.43 KiB) Viewed 7625 times
The world is MyMaps!

toda_k20
Regular
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:33 am
GPS: Garmin GPS76CSx, Nuvi 360
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: tide tables feature in Garmin 76csx

#8 Post by toda_k20 » Mon Sep 10, 2007 5:34 pm

adilothman wrote:The tide tables come from Bluecharts CD. The tide tables do not require an unlock code so you can freely upload them into your receiver if you have the CD. Once uploaded, under "Find" you will see a new icon for tide tables. Its just a visual display that looks like waves with highs and lows based on the date and time of day.
Thanks ! Now I am clear ! :)

toda_k20
Regular
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:33 am
GPS: Garmin GPS76CSx, Nuvi 360
Location: Singapore
Contact:

How do I check the firmware rev of my GPS - 76CSx

#9 Post by toda_k20 » Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:27 am

I am using a 76CSX now which I purchased in 3 weeks ago.

Any clues how do you check the firmware revision of this gps ? Garmin listed v3.3 (dated 2 Aug 07) as the latest firmware. Would like to check if mine is current or earlier.

trajet2b
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 949
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: 60CSx, 10X, Nuvi3597LMT, Kenwood DNX9170S
Location: SG
Contact:

Re: How do I check the firmware rev of my GPS ?

#10 Post by trajet2b » Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:07 am

[Menu][Menu][Setup][System][Menu][Software Version]

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests