GPSmap 76CSx

Discussions on Garmin eTrex, GPSMap60, GPSMap76, Rino & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
Bear30
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:24 am
GPS: GPS76csx
Location: S'pore
Contact:

Any1 knows where to repair broken Garmin 76CSx screen?

#111 Post by Bear30 » Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm

i just broke my GPS76csx. :cry: ](*,) . izzit anyway that i can fix it?? the lcd break also but condition still ok.. how?? any 1 hv any idea??? :-?
BEAR 30

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Any1 knows???

#112 Post by SilverBeauty » Sat Oct 25, 2008 7:19 pm

Bro Bear, in your situation, you will need to have Garmin fix it. Email Garmin Taiwan for a quote.

User avatar
jquah
Regular
Regular
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:02 pm
GPS: Garmin 60Csx
Location: SG, Mount Faber
Contact:

Re: Any1 knows???

#113 Post by jquah » Sat Oct 25, 2008 7:55 pm

Bear30 wrote:i just broke my GPS76csx. :cry: ](*,) . izzit anyway that i can fix it?? the lcd break also but condition still ok.. how?? any 1 hv any idea??? :-?
I don't think Garmin has any local service center here, look like you might have to buy a new one ](*,) .

Juz email their tech support and try your luck techsupp@garmin.com .

BTW, how do you manage to broke such a tough device ?

User avatar
redshadow
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 874
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:52 pm
GPS: Nokia N82+10X,,
Nuvi 350
Location: N 01' 22.436 'E103' 52.920'
Contact:

Re: Any1 knows???

#114 Post by redshadow » Sat Oct 25, 2008 8:12 pm

Bear30 wrote:i just broke my GPS76csx. :cry: ](*,) . izzit anyway that i can fix it?? the lcd break also but condition still ok.. how?? any 1 hv any idea??? :-?

As what Bro jquah had mentioned,,maybe you can buy the parts from them and get it done here in sg
Life Is Full Of Adventure

Bear30
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:24 am
GPS: GPS76csx
Location: S'pore
Contact:

Re: Any1 knows???

#115 Post by Bear30 » Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:10 pm

Hi all,
thank for ur info..
Yeah! i think i hv to get a new GPS :cry: ... ](*,)
but how abt the waypoint that i already have?? can i still have it?? :-?
BEAR 30

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Any1 knows???

#116 Post by SilverBeauty » Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:15 pm

If it is just the screen that is "koyak" you can hook it up to Lappy / PC and copy the POI / Waypoint data. You may have to put it to data mode. Without the screen, you have to do it via memory the steps to get it to data mode.

Bear30
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:24 am
GPS: GPS76csx
Location: S'pore
Contact:

Re: Any1 knows???

#117 Post by Bear30 » Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:18 pm

SilverBeauty wrote:If it is just the screen that is "koyak" you can hook it up to Lappy / PC and copy the POI / Waypoint data. You may have to put it to data mode. Without the screen, you have to do it via memory the steps to get it to data mode.

hmmm ok later when i go back from werk i try...
so i just save it into my comp for the waypoint..

thankz bro :prayer: :tq:
BEAR 30

mobilegps
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:03 pm
GPS: 60csx
Contact:

Re: Any1 knows???

#118 Post by mobilegps » Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:34 am

hi bear

if just the outer screen broke, u can talk to any sg garmin dealer to sell you the fake unit, the case is taken from the real unit.

if the inner LCD also broke, u can email garmin taiwan for a repair quote or maybe email this guy see if they carry the LCD http://stores.ebay.com/Nuvi-2007

oh by the way, if u can edit your title "Any1 knows???" to something more meaningful, it will really do the forum and other forumer a great help.

thanks

User avatar
bernGPS
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3369
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Garmin 10x, GPSmap78s (now become a lemon) & etrex Vista HCx
Location: Sabah & Sarawak
Contact:

Re: Any1 knows???

#119 Post by bernGPS » Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:52 am

SilverBeauty wrote:If it is just the screen that is "koyak" you can hook it up to Lappy / PC and copy the POI / Waypoint data. You may have to put it to data mode. Without the screen, you have to do it via memory the steps to get it to data mode.
Not need to remember by memory. Just hooke up your USB cable to your GPSr and fire it up. Than fire up Mapsource and click Download from Device and save the files.
Download from device.png
Download from device.png (25.08 KiB) Viewed 2069 times
To get the tracks, just take out the microSD Card.

User avatar
bernGPS
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3369
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Garmin 10x, GPSmap78s (now become a lemon) & etrex Vista HCx
Location: Sabah & Sarawak
Contact:

Re: Any1 knows???

#120 Post by bernGPS » Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:56 am

mobilegps wrote:<snip>

oh by the way, if u can edit your title "Any1 knows???" to something more meaningful, it will really do the forum and other forumer a great help.

thanks
Is the new title more intuitive? I hope Bear30 dont mind me editing it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests