GPSmap 60CSx

Discussions on Garmin eTrex, GPSMap60, GPSMap76, Rino & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Message
Author
User avatar
waypoint
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 439
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Trimble Ensign.Foretrex 101/401.Etrex H/Vista HCx.Nuvi 255W/205.NOKIA E72.iPad 64GB 3G.
Location: The L'il Red Dot
Contact:

Re: What is the water temperature for ?

#611 Post by waypoint » Sun Aug 17, 2008 4:26 pm

Hey beebox,

As what Silver Beauty has mentioned, some gps units can be interfaced with certain sensors from those of a fish-finder. And fish finders being what they are, use a whole host of sensors from thermometers to sonar to find the temperature, depth, density and even salinity of water in the local area in order to pinpoint the location of game fish.

In the back-end of things, within some hidden menus in our gps units, there is an internal sensor of sorts which measures the internal temperature of the unit, extreme temperature fluctuations of the these sensitive components may affect the time-keeping/syncing functions which help to calculate a reasonably accurate location on earth.

BR,
w a y
Last edited by waypoint on Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Heroes are born when bullets fly, when the earth explodes, when cannons roar, When Trumpets Fade."

User avatar
waypoint
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 439
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Trimble Ensign.Foretrex 101/401.Etrex H/Vista HCx.Nuvi 255W/205.NOKIA E72.iPad 64GB 3G.
Location: The L'il Red Dot
Contact:

Re: Find address doesn't work on GPSMAP 60CSx?

#612 Post by waypoint » Sun Aug 17, 2008 4:30 pm

Personally, I feel that the 'Find Address' feature is over-hyped. The 'traditional' spell method is much more intuitive and friendly. Still, in the larger scheme of things, it is the next 'natural' step in making the maps here in MSM more professional and 'complete' in terms of functions and features.

Kudos to The Team hard-at-work in the back-rooms!

BR,
w a y
"Heroes are born when bullets fly, when the earth explodes, when cannons roar, When Trumpets Fade."

beebox
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:52 am
GPS: Garmin GPS60CSx
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: What is the water temperature for ?

#613 Post by beebox » Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:56 am

Thanks bro!

I thought can measure ambient temperature as well :lol:

Cheers!

mobilegps
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:03 pm
GPS: 60csx
Contact:

Re: GPSMap60CSX showing Firmware version 0.00

#614 Post by mobilegps » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:24 am

if msyah1202's unit can acquire sat for 2 minutes like he/she said, then it is not the firmware version 0.00 problem.

mobilegps
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:03 pm
GPS: 60csx
Contact:

Re: What is the water temperature for ?

#615 Post by mobilegps » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:30 am

it takes NMEA from other NMEA output devices.

User avatar
keong8260
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:07 pm
GPS: 60CSx
Nuvi 205W
GMXT
Location: Kedah
Contact:

Re: Find address doesn't work on GPSMAP 60CSx?

#616 Post by keong8260 » Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:20 am

Wow... it works already!
Thanks!!!
:tq: :tq: :tq:
色不異空 空不異色 色即是空 空即是色 受想行識亦復如是 ~ 般若波羅蜜多

LKH3
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:38 pm
GPS: Nuvi & Handheld
Contact:

60CSx using power cable

#617 Post by LKH3 » Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:17 am

If I plug in my 60CSx to car's cigarette charges (using power cable), do I need to take out the AA batteries? Anyone can answer me, pls? Thks a lot.

User avatar
FZLeong
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:05 pm
GPS: Garmin 60csx
Contact:

Re: 60CSx using power cable

#618 Post by FZLeong » Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:44 pm

No need to take out the batt, it just switch to the external power source, but too bad it did't charge your batt. :thumbsdown:

User avatar
cflai
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:11 am
GPS: Garmin GPSMAP60Csx
Garmin NUVI 760
Dopod U1000 Mapking
Location: Seremban, N. Sembilan
Contact:

Re: 60CSx using power cable

#619 Post by cflai » Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:46 pm

FZLeong wrote:No need to take out the batt, it just switch to the external power source, but too bad it did't charge your batt. :thumbsdown:
You take out the batteries and just plug in the power source from the cigar lighter - it will also work.....

9W6VX
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:15 am
GPS: 60CSX
Location: The Land Below The Wind
Contact:

Re: 60CSx using power cable

#620 Post by 9W6VX » Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:17 am

I use rechargeable AA batteries on my 60cxs and when I plug in the cigarette lighter power cable it does not charge the batteries at all.

So, in summary, you can leave the batteries in place.

Cheers
73 de 9W6VX

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest