GPSmap 60CSx

Discussions on Garmin eTrex, GPSMap60, GPSMap76, Rino & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Message
Author
libra6868
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:37 pm
GPS: Nokia5800
Location: Yishun, SG
Contact:

Re: where can i get the lastest basemap for 60csx?

#451 Post by libra6868 » Wed May 21, 2008 9:44 am

singawon wrote: That because that road is not mapped yet, sent the tracklog to garmin, ask them to update their map... :mrgreen:
his map is outdated but how do you know he is using garmin map??? may be just some free map downloaded from the web........

User avatar
JJ007
Regular
Regular
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:42 am
GPS: 60CSx, Nuvi 260W
Oregon 300
Location: Northern Singapore
Contact:

Re: where can i get the lastest basemap for 60csx?

#452 Post by JJ007 » Wed May 21, 2008 11:48 pm

baba wrote:You may try downloading basemap for Mobile xt from here https://buy.garmin.com/shop/store/downl ... 39&pID=420 and put the 'gmapbmap.img' into Garmin folder of the micro sd card.
for 60csx, you can still download the newer basemap ~31MB (with much more details, iso the original 6MB version) from the above link by baba. Since 60CSX only accept 1 map, just patch it with all other maps together and named it gmapsupp.img, put in the uSD card and you are one the road again ...

User avatar
JJ007
Regular
Regular
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:42 am
GPS: 60CSx, Nuvi 260W
Oregon 300
Location: Northern Singapore
Contact:

Re: Power On problem with Garmin GPSmap 60CSx

#453 Post by JJ007 » Wed May 21, 2008 11:51 pm

have you try to update the unit firmware via webupdater to 3.60? might help

SatelLite
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: Garmin 60CSx; Nuvi 300 (TTS); TyTN II (Mapking R12)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Power On problem with Garmin GPSmap 60CSx

#454 Post by SatelLite » Fri May 23, 2008 7:20 am

Does it occur everytime when it is in the bracket? How about if you handhold it?
Celebrating what's right with the world.

beebox
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:52 am
GPS: Garmin GPS60CSx
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: GPS60 CSX Price Watch

#455 Post by beebox » Sat May 24, 2008 4:25 am

i got mine today at perfect watch with 1gb card $610..
fella dunwant to sell at $600..

sylvester_k
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:18 am
GPS: n.a.
Contact:

Max Micro SD Card Memory capacity for 60CSX ?

#456 Post by sylvester_k » Tue May 27, 2008 2:24 am

Dear all,

Getting my 60CSX in a few days times from US.
The units comes with only 64MB micro SD card.
I think I should get a bigger one just in case -
may I know what is the max micro SD card
capacity for 60CSX ? 1-2GB ok ?

Thanks for reading.

With Regards

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Max Micro SD Card Memory capacity for 60CSX ?

#457 Post by SilverBeauty » Tue May 27, 2008 10:12 am

sylvester_k wrote:Dear all,

Getting my 60CSX in a few days times from US.
The units comes with only 64MB micro SD card.
I think I should get a bigger one just in case -
may I know what is the max micro SD card
capacity for 60CSX ? 1-2GB ok ?

Thanks for reading.

With Regards
don't know about 60CsX, but my vista HcX is using 2G with no problems

User avatar
xcqckng
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 3:00 pm
GPS: 60CSx & 255W
Location: subang jaya
Contact:

Re: Max Micro SD Card Memory capacity for 60CSX ?

#458 Post by xcqckng » Tue May 27, 2008 10:19 am

hi there, i am having 2gb sandisk micro sd on 60csx. works seamlessly only cost rm35 @ lowyat, will be perfect get a rechargeable battery too. have fun

mobilegps
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:03 pm
GPS: 60csx
Contact:

Re: GPSMap60CSX showing Firmware version 0.00

#459 Post by mobilegps » Fri May 30, 2008 11:02 am

i have many encounter for this GPS Software version 0.00

i believed it is the power problem.

the firmware is stored in a flash memory, and this flash memory has a RD and WR pin. when you want to program the flash, the WR pin must be held at either LOW or HIGH depending on the chip.

if there is a spike (weak battery , especially rechargeable NICD/NIMH), the WR pin tends to be held at unknown level which causing the data at the DATA BUS written to the flash. Even a single corrupted byte will cause a checksum failure and leads to a corrupted firmware.

NIMH/NICD rechargeables are rated 1.2V per cell, depending on the charger, it will go up to 1.3 to 1.4V, a weaken NIMH/NICD will drop to 1V to 1.1V and two weak batteries add up to 2V or 2.2V which is kinda low for a 3V requirement unit.

as for Bro Stay's case, the starting of the engine will cause the car battery to drop to a certain voltage and then spike back a high voltage when the car is started, this spike could have cause the firmware corrupted.

also when using the unit in USB mode, each time u disconnect either from the windows "Safe remove hardware" or power down the unit, it will generate an "ABNORMAL POWERDOWN" event in the unit. i dunno why this is happening but it should not happen. Please see the attached screen.

anyway this is just my observation, other people might have different encounter.
Attachments
AbnormalPowerDown.gif
AbnormalPowerDown.gif (4.36 KiB) Viewed 1616 times

User avatar
tapahman
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 12:04 pm
GPS: Geko 201
Contact:

Re: GPS60 CSX Price Watch

#460 Post by tapahman » Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:46 am

After a few quotes from KL, and Kuantan for RM 2100 and Rm 1900 respectively,
i settled for S$535 (incl GST) at Sim Lim Tower.(Singapore) Plus a 1G card at Sim Lim Square of S$30. totalled up to S$565. (RM 1327.5 @2.35RM/S$)
Can get $500 if i redeem in Changi Airport, but i came from Woodlands, so no tax refund.


I save about RM580..
:D heheh

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests