Nokia N95

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Message
Author
User avatar
low4
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 524
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:51 pm
GPS: Dopod_D810 + GMXT.
Nuvi 650,
Holux m241
Location: Southern KL
Contact:

Re: N95

#511 Post by low4 » Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:31 pm

sevenvii wrote:thx.. which means for n95, will actually hv to purchase? they will not be free mobileXT to use for n95, rite?
Bro,
If you looking for something is free,
HERE
岂能尽如人意,但求无愧吾心。- 刘四

User avatar
badrol
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 736
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:12 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi200
Location: Bandar Baru Bangi, Selangor Malaysia
Contact:

Re: N95

#512 Post by badrol » Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:47 pm

low4 wrote: Bro,
If you looking for something is free,
HERE

Low4, it is for Window Mobile based phone, our friend here is using symbian Series 60 based phone.
Image

sevenvii
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:55 pm
GPS: N95
Contact:

Re: N95

#513 Post by sevenvii » Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:54 pm

hmm guess the only way is to pay..
shd i buy germin XT mobile or just activate Navfone?

User avatar
low4
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 524
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:51 pm
GPS: Dopod_D810 + GMXT.
Nuvi 650,
Holux m241
Location: Southern KL
Contact:

Re: N95

#514 Post by low4 » Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:20 pm

badrol wrote:Low4, it is for Window Mobile based phone, our friend here is using symbian Series 60 based phone.
OH! my mistake, sorry about that, and thanks bro badrol for reminding me.
:oops:
岂能尽如人意,但求无愧吾心。- 刘四

libra6868
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:37 pm
GPS: Nokia5800
Location: Yishun, SG
Contact:

Re: N95

#515 Post by libra6868 » Thu Jul 24, 2008 9:45 am

sevenvii wrote:hmm guess the only way is to pay..
shd i buy germin XT mobile or just activate Navfone?
in the event you wanna change your handphone.....

you can resell and keep GMXT....but nobody bother your N95 got navfone or not.....

User avatar
SuperBaby
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:05 am
GPS: N95
Location: Kulim, Kedah
Contact:

Nokia N95

#516 Post by SuperBaby » Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:24 pm

I am using N95 8Gb + Garmin XT. Everytime I enter or re-enter a country (switch country), Garmin will prompt me whether I allow internet connection. It says internet connection is required for POSITIONING.

I have a few questions:

(1) Must I allow it? It seems that even if I press "NO" to disallow internet connection, I still can get GPS signal.

(2) What is the connection for actually? How much data is downloaded?

enigma
Regular
Regular
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:32 pm
GPS: nokia 6110 - Garmin Mobile XT, Mapking Map, Nokia Map and Route 66
Location: Kuala Terengganu
Contact:

Re: N95+Garmin XT: Internet connection required for positioning?

#517 Post by enigma » Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:30 pm

SuperBaby wrote:I am using N95 8Gb + Garmin XT. Everytime I enter or re-enter a country (switch country), Garmin will prompt me whether I allow internet connection. It says internet connection is required for POSITIONING.

I have a few questions:

(1) Must I allow it? It seems that even if I press "NO" to disallow internet connection, I still can get GPS signal.

(2) What is the connection for actually? How much data is downloaded?
You should desable AGPS on your phone setting.
borderless Navigate

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: N95+Garmin XT: Internet connection required for positioning?

#518 Post by dvpro » Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:40 pm

SuperBaby, you may find more info here: The differences of GPS you found on Nokia Phone
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

User avatar
jans_wkh
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 2:41 pm
GPS: n95+gmxt, vista hcx
Location: Prai, Penang
Contact:

Re: N95+Garmin XT: Internet connection required for positioning?

#519 Post by jans_wkh » Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:25 am

enigma wrote:
You should desable AGPS on your phone setting.
:-k I don't recall any prompting from my phone when I launch GMXT even with the AGPS setting on.

tympg
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Holux Slim 236 + Dopod 838pro (WM6); Garmin eTrex Vista HCx
Location: George Town South
Contact:

Re: N95+Garmin XT: Internet connection required for positioning?

#520 Post by tympg » Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:03 pm

jans_wkh wrote: :-k I don't recall any prompting from my phone when I launch GMXT even with the AGPS setting on.
The key point here is that SuperBaby is only getting the prompt when he is switching national coverage areas (such as from Malaysia into Thailand) because the software is asking you (as an act of courtesy) whether you are willing to bear the cost of roaming data charges.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests