The Nuvi 200 - Part 6

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4928
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Need to get SD card?

#11 Post by SilverBeauty » Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:15 am

IMHO, just buy one, SD now real cheap, especially the 1G ones ( less than Sin$7 ) and slot it into the SD slot and leave it there.

My reasoning, there is no dust cover on the Nuvi SD slot. Putting a card there restricts dust accumulation inside the slot and also protects the contacts of the SD slot. :thumbsup:

User avatar
chee_loong
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:21 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi200 & Nuvi1350
Location: Shah Alam
Contact:

Re: Need to get SD card?

#12 Post by chee_loong » Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:23 am

SilverBeauty wrote:IMHO, just buy one, SD now real cheap, especially the 1G ones ( less than Sin$7 ) and slot it into the SD slot and leave it there.

My reasoning, there is no dust cover on the Nuvi SD slot. Putting a card there restricts dust accumulation inside the slot and also protects the contacts of the SD slot. :thumbsup:
This is a good way to protect the nuvi... but it should come with a dummy card to protect.
Regards,
Chee Loong

User avatar
ktan
Senior Mapper
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 4:46 am
GPS: nüvi 255W
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Need to get SD card?

#13 Post by ktan » Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:27 am

chee_loong wrote: This is a good way to protect the nuvi... but it should come with a dummy card to protect.
Cost cutting, the latest Garmin GPS does not come with dummy SD card to protect the slot. Thank God that I do have one dummy SD card from my pocket PC that I received as free when we purchase a HP laptop a few years ago.
-KT :)

TOKARA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 8:30 pm
GPS: Nil
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 200 - Part 6

#14 Post by TOKARA » Sun Oct 19, 2008 7:44 pm

Upon seeing this: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9262&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=60

I just noted there aint any POI on my Nuvi 200 (Indo). And the graphics on my Nuvi200 is not that fanciful as what was posted.

My version is 3.30! And i cant update it via the webupdate. It says no update avail.

Can anyone help me out? Its so disappointing to see my nuvi200 look not the same like what u guys have :(

Thanks

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 200 - Part 6

#15 Post by tks » Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:20 pm

What map are you using?

TOKARA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 8:30 pm
GPS: Nil
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 200 - Part 6

#16 Post by TOKARA » Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:27 pm

am using this GM-MySin v2.15

Just saw a guy (winterapple) having same prob like me here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9014&start=80

wah i felt very cheated...all i see on my garmin is roads and black out portion...nothing fanciful :(

This is what i see:

Image

Image

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 200 - Part 6

#17 Post by tks » Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:58 pm

Is that night view that you are seeing? Can you switch to day view?

Also, it may not be accurate to compare different things. Can you navigate to the same location as what I did?

TOKARA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 8:30 pm
GPS: Nil
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 200 - Part 6

#18 Post by TOKARA » Sun Oct 19, 2008 9:22 pm

tks wrote:Is that night view that you are seeing? Can you switch to day view?

Also, it may not be accurate to compare different things. Can you navigate to the same location as what I did?
tks...thanks for replying. i even pm u lol didnt know u were the same guy who posted those pictures!

u know what i did. i downloaded taiwanese's 4.10 and installed it LOL i was damn pissed and wanted to kill my nuvi200!

Pictures as follows now:

Image

Image

weeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!! it worked!

But i lost all my histories...ie my recently searched locations

Pls do it at your own risk if so interested! http://www.garmin.com.tw/products/Nuvi2 ... html#speed

Thanks!

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 200 - Part 6

#19 Post by tks » Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:55 am

Congratulations! You got it! A word of advice: now that it works, don't mess with it. Don't upgrade firmware or whatever unless you really need to. Funny that you were able to upgrade your Indon device with TW firmware.

By the way, seems to be your earlier pic is night view?

User avatar
chee_loong
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:21 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi200 & Nuvi1350
Location: Shah Alam
Contact:

Re: Need to get SD card?

#20 Post by chee_loong » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:30 pm

ktan wrote:
Cost cutting, the latest Garmin GPS does not come with dummy SD card to protect the slot. Thank God that I do have one dummy SD card from my pocket PC that I received as free when we purchase a HP laptop a few years ago.
Good idea.... actually I got a few dummy SD card... Can recycle it...
Regards,
Chee Loong

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests