The Nuvi 755T

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#41 Post by tks » Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:52 am

bahathir wrote:Ok, I just back from several trips, and SAD to say that, 7x5T did not able to tracking in 600 meters or more tunnels. The tunnels which 7x5T able to track without 'satellite signal lost' error is Penchala Link and tunnel near Jelapang at North South Highway. Other than that, such as SMART tunnel and Karak Highway tunnel, 7x5T showed "Lost Satellite signal" dialog after around 1 km. inside the tunnel.

TQ
Looks like in this significant area, Garmin has still not improved. I used TomTom before. When it enters a tunnel and loses satellite signal, the display will grey out but navigation continues based on the projected route and speed. Not accurate but at least it gets you out of the tunnel at the correct exit. Is there a new Nuvi model that does something like this? If not the 7x5T, then which series?

ianazlan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:22 am
GPS: Nuvi 205W prevoius, Now Nuvi 760
Location: Subang
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#42 Post by ianazlan » Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:53 pm

Hi Guys,

Just got my toy last week. Got the same error as u all mentioned but that problem resolves once i did the update from webupdater... :thumbsup: ....Btw, this is my 3rd invesment on the nuvi series....205W, 760, now...755T..only setback now is the POI does not appear like in 760 while on the move. Hope the gurus can solve it for us....

Regards..

bahathir
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:45 pm
GPS: Garmin nüvi 755T,
Mapsource
Google Maps,
Google Earth.
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#43 Post by bahathir » Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:52 pm

Congratulation... ianazlan, and welcome to the 7x5 club :)

Yes, 7x5 cannot shows certain customized POI icons, and quite plain during navigation. But, this is my first GPS, I have not much problem with it.

If I have a chance/ :$gone: I might grab this one :) Or just wait for Garmin release it's firmware to 7x5T.

Nuvi 765TWN
http://garmin.com.tw/products/Nuvi765_TWN/index.html

nutzs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 12:15 am
GPS: None
Location: SG
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#44 Post by nutzs » Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:56 am

hi folks, i have been doing some read up on nuvi 755T, a quick question. how accurate is the Text to Speech pronunciation?
E.g.
Kg Java should pronounce as kampong java not kilogram java

Anyone has encounter on this?

thanks

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#45 Post by tks » Tue Feb 10, 2009 7:51 am

I believe that until and unless there is a localised English voice for this part of the world, current voice packs for Nuvi will always think "Kg" is "kilogram" and will not be able to pronounce names such as "Telok Kurau". It is not a case of the TTS being inaccurate. Just that it is a ang moh TTS.

Tom2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:42 am
GPS: Garmin 755T
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#46 Post by Tom2 » Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:29 am

Hi, I am new to this forum but own a 755T. Now resident in US and got this unit online at very....very attractive price during Christmas promotion. Would be returning to Malaysia in summer and would like to have the Mal/Sig map in my unit.

Do have a few questions to ask, can the map run on version 3.1 software? Can I keep the US map and download the Mal/Sig map on a SD card?

User avatar
mnd_43
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 950
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:51 am
GPS: 6210 Navigator
Location: MALAYSIA
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#47 Post by mnd_43 » Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:00 pm

Tom2 wrote: Do have a few questions to ask, can the map run on version 3.1 software? Can I keep the US map and download the Mal/Sig map on a SD card?
As long as your gps brand is GARMIN , u can use our free maps
download maps
better prepare a SD card
create 'garmin' folder
copy gmapsupp.img to this folder
plug n play

:D
:D ... de 9W2BPN

Tom2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:42 am
GPS: Garmin 755T
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#48 Post by Tom2 » Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:56 am

Thanks. 2 file version here and which one should work for 755T?

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#49 Post by SilverBeauty » Wed Feb 11, 2009 9:32 am

Tom2 wrote:Thanks. 2 file version here and which one should work for 755T?
Bro Tom2, use the second one as illustrated below :

File comment: GMAPSUPP for all except MXT Symbian
GM-MySin.exe [14.89 MB]

Tom2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:42 am
GPS: Garmin 755T
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 755T

#50 Post by Tom2 » Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:57 am

Thanks. I have downloaded and the map file is indicated on the map screen list. I guess I only able to see the map function when I reach home. Another question. To function the Mal-Sig map, what I need to do is deactivate the North America map and activate the Mal-Sig map, right. Will the text voice and traffic function?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests