The Nuvi 765

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Message
Author
User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2619
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 765T

#231 Post by Zeus73 » Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:06 pm

SilverBeauty wrote:Jerome's map is NOT an overlay but a full map. It is identical to MSM map for Sin and Johor except for the polygons

You need to remove the MSM map tiles for Sin and Johor and replace them with Jerome's maps tiles. Only then will you have the best of both worlds.
Jerome did release 3 versions of his map this month.

The overlay is for use with MSM Garmin version.
Attachments
PIC00001.jpg
PIC00001.jpg (6.79 KiB) Viewed 1199 times

lanujang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 1:10 pm
GPS: garminasus A10
Location: Setiawangsa
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 765 Sing/Mal Version

#232 Post by lanujang » Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:37 am

lanujang wrote:hi,
i bought this new model from AECO

compared to my Nuvi 205W, i found that the internal speaker is very very soft. i can hardly hear the voice while driving even at 100%. with Nuvi 205W i always set my volume at 70% only.

anybody whith the same problem? :-?

thanks
update: regarding the slow volume issue of Nuvi 765 (refer to 1st page)

i found that, using the bundled in car charger really made the different. the volume is loud and clear now. 70% is enough already. :thumbsup:

fyi, i used a motorola USB in car charger previously.

i guess it's the case of not enough current after all... :mrgreen:

thanks
~
lanujang

User avatar
jovially
Regular
Regular
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:36 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 765
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 765T

#233 Post by jovially » Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:49 am

[quote="SilverBeauty]
Jerome's map is NOT an overlay but a full map. It is identical to MSM map for Sin and Johor except for the polygons

You need to remove the MSM map tiles for Sin and Johor and replace them with Jerome's maps tiles. Only then will you have the best of both worlds.[/quote]

I'm using overlay map with MSM 3.04 as I do not know how to remove MSM JB/SIN maps and replace Jerome.
I think I will stick to it until I learn how to remove map and combine them again. anyway. thanks

User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2619
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 765T

#234 Post by Zeus73 » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:13 am

jovially wrote:I'm using overlay map with MSM 3.04 as I do not know how to remove MSM JB/SIN maps and replace Jerome.
I think I will stick to it until I learn how to remove map and combine them again. anyway. thanks
You can read the "Newbie Guide to Mapsource Installation & Use [v6.15.6 etc]".

Fyi, you can replace Singapore tile only. If you replace both Singapore and Johor tiles, routing might not work between Johor and MNS tiles. I used to have this issue with the older version. Not sure if this issue has been solved.

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 765T

#235 Post by Redstorm » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:18 am

jovially wrote:I'm using overlay map with MSM 3.04 as I do not know how to remove MSM JB/SIN maps and replace Jerome.
I think I will stick to it until I learn how to remove map and combine them again. anyway. thanks
Zeus73 wrote: You can read the "Newbie Guide to Mapsource Installation & Use [v6.15.6 etc]".

Fyi, you can replace Singapore tile only. If you replace both Singapore and Johor tiles, routing might not work between Johor and MNS tiles. I used to have this issue with the older version. Not sure if this issue has been solved.
Bro Zeus73, I think it should not be an issue routing beyond Johor with a combined Jerome and MSM map. I have done it a couple of times without any problem.

Bro jovially, you can use mapsource to combine both Jerome and MSM v3.04 maps. Just remove the Sg and Johor tiles and replace them with Jerome's before your send you map to device. Thanks.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

User avatar
jovially
Regular
Regular
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:36 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 765
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 765T

#236 Post by jovially » Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:13 am

Hi Bro Redstorm & Zeus73,
Thanks for your guidance and the link.
I have mistaken all along that we can't use mapsource to transfer map to device.
ok, I will try it tonight. Thanks a lot.

User avatar
jovially
Regular
Regular
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:36 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 765
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 765T

#237 Post by jovially » Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:26 am

I have successfully transfer the map to my device yesterday night. check everything ok.
This morning, when travel on the road,
1) discover the the road width was showing "thin road" compare to the old map. very funny when the car icon was on the road. but highway was normal.
2) when travel along Jalan Kayu exit to TPE/SLE, the road was missing.
Am I missing something? I combine MSM 3.04, Berneo 3.05 and Jerome Map, when transfer to device, I "cut" MSM Sin and JB maps and replaced by Jerome's Map.
When install Jerome map, I select 2 for "P" (Nuvi / Mapsource). correct?
thanks

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 765T

#238 Post by dvpro » Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:49 am

jovially wrote:...
1) discover the the road width was showing "thin road" compare to the old map. very funny when the car icon was on the road. but highway was normal.
...
MSM mapset in Mapsource is installed as Full Customization (no option to select Partial), hence the thin road in Nuvi.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

User avatar
jovially
Regular
Regular
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:36 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 765
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 765T

#239 Post by jovially » Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:56 am

dvpro wrote:MSM mapset in Mapsource is installed as Full Customization (no option to select Partial), hence the thin road in Nuvi.
Hi Bro dvpro,
I'm referring to Jerome's Map. there are 4 selections. so should I install as full? Thanks

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 765T

#240 Post by Redstorm » Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:11 am

jovially wrote:...
1) discover the the road width was showing "thin road" compare to the old map. very funny when the car icon was on the road. but highway was normal.
...
dvpro wrote: MSM mapset in Mapsource is installed as Full Customization (no option to select Partial), hence the thin road in Nuvi.
Bro dvpro, the thin road in Nuvi is peculiar only to the 765. I also have the 765 and I face the same problem too. Tried both Full and Partial customisation during installation of the map and the result is still the same.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 64 guests