The Nuvi 1460

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
tlchuan
Junior Mapper
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:20 pm
GPS: 10x, Oregon 300, 255w(retire) 2575RLM
Location: Subang Jaya
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#11 Post by tlchuan » Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:23 pm

How about Auto Zoom Setting will it allow to switch off or manual control ?
Ham Callsign = 9W2KDX
http://9w2kdx.blogspot.com/
Now In Subang Jaya

frez
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:19 am
GPS: Garmin eTrex Cx, Nuvi 3790
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#12 Post by frez » Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:24 pm

what is powered mount? how is it beneficial to the users?

thanks.

tlchuan
Junior Mapper
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:20 pm
GPS: 10x, Oregon 300, 255w(retire) 2575RLM
Location: Subang Jaya
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#13 Post by tlchuan » Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:31 pm

same like Nuvi 765 or 760, it connect to the cradler not the unit it self
Ham Callsign = 9W2KDX
http://9w2kdx.blogspot.com/
Now In Subang Jaya


stkhoo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 3:44 pm
GPS: Garmin 610
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#15 Post by stkhoo » Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:36 am

scyap wrote:Hi,

The Garmin Nuvi 1460 is being introduced here. Apparently it is a Sing/Mal Version.

Wonder if anyone has one now and can share how this unit is performing here. In particular, I am interested to know whether if this version has a powered cradle; although the Nuvi 1490 does not have.

Thank You.
I just got the Nuvi 1460 just two days ago and it SUCKS BIG TIME!

Making address search to save as favorites is a big chore, unlike the Nuvi 610 that has more flexibility with the Malsingmaps. It either hangs or resets itself most of the time even after updating it. The drag to scroll maps and it goes every where but where you want it. Best of all its a local set but the ID does not even generate a unlock code.

I am going to call the dealer I bought from to have it changed to a more stable model. IMO this Nuvi is a LEMON.

User avatar
mad_dog
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 11:48 am
GPS: Garmin 60CS
Garmin Nuvi 1460
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#16 Post by mad_dog » Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:32 pm

stkhoo wrote: I just got the Nuvi 1460 just two days ago and it SUCKS BIG TIME!

Making address search to save as favorites is a big chore, unlike the Nuvi 610 that has more flexibility with the Malsingmaps. It either hangs or resets itself most of the time even after updating it. The drag to scroll maps and it goes every where but where you want it. Best of all its a local set but the ID does not even generate a unlock code.

I am going to call the dealer I bought from to have it changed to a more stable model. IMO this Nuvi is a LEMON.
I got no problem with any search. Drag to scroll maps & goes everywhere - to me, it is very sensitive, so I used my nail to scroll & it works fine. (ID does not even generate a unlock code) - This sentence I don't understand.

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#17 Post by ace » Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:35 pm

mad_dog wrote:.... (ID does not even generate a unlock code) - This sentence I don't understand.
I think he meant that the set ID when he key it in at the Garmin website did not generate the unlock code for our maps..

Maybe he enter the serial number of the unit instead of the unit ID. :-k
I don't have free fish......

User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2619
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#18 Post by Zeus73 » Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:16 pm

ace wrote:I think he meant that the set ID when he key it in at the Garmin website did not generate the unlock code for our maps..

Maybe he enter the serial number of the unit instead of the unit ID. :-k
There's always a confusion because there's 2 unlock code generator at Garmin.

The unlock code generator for Malsingmaps Community requires Unit ID.

The unlock code generator for localized nuvi models and nuvi /zumo series that were purchased from Garmin authorised dealers in Singapore/Malaysia with official shipping records from Garmin requires Serial Number.

jacjac
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:44 am
GPS: 1460
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#19 Post by jacjac » Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:55 am

just get my 1460 2 day ago and it auto reset or shut down after key in search address and press "GO" button, anyone have similar problem? overall no problem only
iritating auto shut down when press "Go" button.....:( out of 10 time about 2 times auto shut down...dam iritating

chuachuanaik
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 9:25 am
GPS: Garmin
Contact:

nuvi 1460

#20 Post by chuachuanaik » Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:53 am

Hi all,

I am new to GPS. I just brought a GPS from authorized dealer in Comet. But the set have lots of problem. I need help to overcome.

1) Set auto reset itself after i continuously search ( That is the SW issue)
2) Map not detail. All the HDB block didn't appear on the map. I try others Malsing map & save it in the micro-SD card (x:garmin/gmapsupp.img) & de-select the original map.Upon entering the Map. it will reset itself.
May i know how to overcome this issue?

thank in advance for the help

** This thread will be merged with "The Nuvi 1460" thread later on. ** - Zeus73

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests