Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:34 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 353 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 ... 36  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:12 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 568
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Is this the same as copying the installed maps from the SD card to the internal memory?

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:14 pm 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
Posts: 2767
Location: Hougang, Sg
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
ace wrote:
Ok.. I finally managed to get the operating system to quick format the internal memory.

1. After quick format, I can access the Nuvi internal directory.
2. I found that my Favourites in the gpx file is still intact and quickly copy it out.. :mrgreen:
3. Detach from PC and let it boot up....No routable map found is the message. #-o
4. Shut down Nuvi, slot in the SD card with the CN 2010.30 map inside and it can boot up.
5. Shut down Nuvi, reattached to PC. Go to backup and copy nearly all files except gmapbmap, gmapprom1, fs_image.ver, nuvi_drive.ico
6. Go to Garmin Map Update and download MSM 2010.40. The map was installed into the SD card where the CN 2010.30 map was.....I thought that was strange....Did all of you get the same installation to the SD card? :-k
7. Detach Nuvi from PC and boot up...Go to Map info and I can only see the CN map....the MSM map was not shown.... Anybody knows why this is so??? :-? :-?
8. Download 5.02 and copy to a different SD card....Nuvi can't see and tell me it need a routable map.

So now I have a different set of problems. Basically accessing the Nuvi is now not the problem. Getting the Nuvi to read the MSM Garmin map and our own compiled map is the new problems..

All advises and recommendations are welcome..... :prayer: :prayer:


Hey Joseph, long time no see. :mrgreen: I think the reason why the MSM NT 2010.40 map was not installed into your SD card was probably your card does not have enough space for it. Since you already have the Garmin CN map in it, do u know that the combined JCV files for both Garmin CN and MSM NT map is closed to 1GB (966MB to be exact)? If you add both maps, u need more than 1GB of space to store both maps including the JCV files in it. Just my conjecture.

_________________
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:24 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 568
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Redstorm wrote:
Hey Joseph, no time no see. :mrgreen: I think the reason why the MSM NT 2010.40 map was not installed into your SD card was probably your card does not have enough space for it. Since you already have the Garmin CN map in it, do u know that the combined JCV files for both Garmin CN and MSM NT map is closed to 1GB (966MB to be exact)? If you add both maps, u need more than 1GB of space to store both maps including the JCV files in it. Just my conjecture.


Hey Lawrence, long time no see too.... :mrgreen:

No, the MSM NT2010.40 was installed into the SD card where the CN Garmin NT2010.30 map was installed....

The MSM NT2010.40 did not installed in the internal memory which is what I expect it to happen. So that means all the Gamin maps is in the SD card.

The funny thing is that the Nuvi can't read the 5.02 map in another SD card.

So I suspect there is something that I missed out on when copying all the files back....

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:36 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 568
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Zeus73 wrote:
Want to try installing the new map without running the installer?

Unzip the EXE file with WinRAR. Look for the MapData folder. Copy the map and JCV file into your nuvi manually.


Bro Zeus73,

It works. I just copied the MSM NT2010.40 and the JCV files from the SD card to the internal memory and it shows up... \:D/

Now, if I delete the JCV file from internal memory and move it to the SD card....I wonder if it will works.. :-k

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:37 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 2622
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550
ace wrote:
Bro Zeus73,

It works. I just copied the MSM NT2010.40 and the JCV files from the SD card to the internal memory and it shows up... \:D/

Now, if I delete the JCV file from internal memory and move it to the SD card....I wonder if it will works.. :-k

It should work. Just remember to rename the map file to gmapsupp.img and unlock code file to gmapsupp.unl. Also, place them in the Garmin folder.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:53 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 568
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Zeus73 wrote:
It should work. Just remember to rename the map file to gmapsupp.img and unlock code file to gmapsupp.unl. Also, place them in the Garmin folder.


Bro Zeus73, thanks for the pointer.

Now I even have the 5.02 showing up after I moved the file to the internal memory. \:D/

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:04 pm 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
Posts: 4848
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Panasonic ICE+Garmin
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad3
Bro Ace, just remember the below mentioned valid Map files that 255W will recognize

Main Memory : gmapoem.img, gmapbmap.img, gmapprom.img, gmapprom1.img, gmapsupp.img
SD card : gmapsupp.img

You can use the above mentioned names for any map you wish to load into your Nuvi. So theoretically you can have 6 maps max loaded at one time.

Take note that for map assigned with file name gmapoem.img is permanently enabled as ling as the file name exists in main memory. It cannot be deactivated via Main Memory - Tools - Settings - Map - Info.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:48 am 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 568
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Thanks, Bro SB, for the pointers...

Yup, I have now renamed the v5.02 to gmapprom since the official CN 2010.30 is using gmapsupp in the SD card.....name swapping... :mrgreen:

And Bro Zeus73, I have also tested removing the MSM NT2010.40 JCV file from main memory to the SD card while the MSM NT2010.40 stays in the main memory. No problem..... :mrgreen: JCV pictures pops up as normal.....this gives us more space in the internal memory... :mrgreen:

I think I can now officially says my Nuvi255W is back to active duty.... :mrgreen: :lol:

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 1:45 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:31 pm
Posts: 2
GPS: Garmin nuvi 255w
Hi guys im new here....and recently i got my garmin 255w from the states and i really appreciate your help as to how i go about installing the singapore / malaysia map to my unit?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:32 am 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
Posts: 4848
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Panasonic ICE+Garmin
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad3
irwin27 wrote:
Hi guys im new here....and recently i got my garmin 255w from the states and i really appreciate your help as to how i go about installing the singapore / malaysia map to my unit?



Bro irwi27, first backup everything including hidden files.

Download map from here viewtopic.php?p=183128#p183128

Copy map into SD card / garmin directory.

If you multiple maps in your Nuvi,
Go to Main Menu / Tools / system / map / mapinfo and deselect map that you do not use


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 353 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 ... 36  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group