Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:23 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 353 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 ... 36  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:56 am 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 561
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
trex92 wrote:
Hi,

thanks all. Unit is Aeco Unit which I had confirmed during purchase through the Garmin website using the unit serial number.

Problem should be corrupted map as I had just installed a free routable map of Australia into it but now I can't see the unit as a drive so how do I remove it? I thought using the cure file would help me to boot up the device so that I can then remove off the Australian map.


Maybe you did not read all previous posts regarding installing maps into internal memory initially........precisely because of situation where a corrupt map may bring down the Nuvi. It is always recommended to install the map into a SD card, so that if the map is corrupt, removing the SD card will allow the Nuvi to power up normally.

Back to your problem, can you go to Computer Management console > Disk Management (right-click at My Computer at Desktop and select Manage). Plug in your Nuvi, see if it can detect your device here.....if you can't see the device, maybe you can try removing driver for your nuvi from here and let the computer redetect and reinstall the driver. See if it work.

Or you can try reading from here and my problem with my device earlier on.
viewtopic.php?p=182397#p182397

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:19 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:31 pm
Posts: 25
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W, HTC Touch 2
Zeus73 wrote:
It's asking you to connect ONE SD Card to your nuvi OR PC.


just to confirm, does it means that i must have a SD card to install the Malsingmaps Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei NT2010.40 (2010-Q4) map?

can't use the internal memory?

thanks


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:43 pm 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
Posts: 4819
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Panasonic ICE+Garmin
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad3
atah wrote:

just to confirm, does it means that i must have a SD card to install the Malsingmaps Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei NT2010.40 (2010-Q4) map?

can't use the internal memory?

thanks



You can store in either Main Memory or SD card.

The recommendation is to do it in SD card as any corruption of map data in SD card is easily corrected by removing the card :thumbsup:


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:31 pm
Posts: 25
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W, HTC Touch 2
SilverBeauty wrote:

You can store in either Main Memory or SD card.

The recommendation is to do it in SD card as any corruption of map data in SD card is easily corrected by removing the card :thumbsup:


thanks. but as reported above, the installation will ask for an external card. can i proceed without it?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:34 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 561
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
atah wrote:
thanks. but as reported above, the installation will ask for an external card. can i proceed without it?


No.

And please read my experiences on the after effects and what other steps you need to do after the MSM file is installed to the SD card.

viewtopic.php?p=183035#p183035

_________________
I don't have free fish......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:39 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:37 am
Posts: 1
GPS: Nuvi255W
i have a Nuvi255W with map info of NT2009.3.

How do i install the latest map?

Never try before..... :ko:


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:52 am 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
Posts: 4819
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Panasonic ICE+Garmin
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad3
essentials wrote:
i have a Nuvi255W with map info of NT2009.3.

How do i install the latest map?

Never try before..... :ko:



Download our map from here viewtopic.php?p=184112#p184112

Unzip and put it in the SD card / garmin directory.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:15 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:48 pm
Posts: 2
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 255W
Hello! everyone.

My nuvi 255W, purchased Aug 2009 cannot switch on at all. If I slide the switch, it will switch off just after 'loading maps' words appear. The same cycle repeats again and again.
I have tried everything:
1. When I connect to the car cigarette charger, the same thing happens. The red light on the charger seems ok.
2. I hv also used the same charger and plugged into different car. Same.
3. I have connected to a PC using USB port. Same. It is not even detected as a storage device.
4. It does not have reset button. So I tried to slide on while touching bottom right hand screen. Same.

I'm sad because it has not been used heavily. I'm going to drive for a family vacation this weekend and another trip during the coming school break and would rely on it to travel around in unfamiliar areas.

I can only think of two problems: Dead unit or dead battery. But is it?

Pls help.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:53 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 1295
Location: Penang
GPS: Nuvi 300, 205W, 2575, Papaga N1, iGo, 5800, M1200, M1000B/C
Sad to hear of your problem.

I think you may have corrupt something within the unit. If it is battery problem it should start up once you connect the charger. It is not the charger too as you have tried with a PC.

Why not do a Reset?

- Press and hold the lower Right corner of the screen
- Slide the power switch on and hold it until you see the Garmin sign.
- Let go the power switch while still holding On to the lower right screen.
- When the system prompt 'Do you really want to erase all user data?' answer No first. If this does not work then answer Yes after repeating the above (this will erase all your POIs and settings).

Hope this helps.... If it does not help, do a hard reset. You have to remove the Serial Number sticker (this will void your warranty) to locate the hole for the Reset switch. Use a toothpick to active the Reset switch to see if it will turn On.... Good Luck!

_________________
MSM Glossary/Index - http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=57986#p57986


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:07 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:48 pm
Posts: 2
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 255W
I tried as suggested. But the same thing happens.
As written, the unit does not have a reset button. Behind the sticker, there are two screws for cover.
I hope others can give opinion before I throw it into a river. Just kidding!!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 353 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 ... 36  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: noslen and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group