The Nuvi 205W - Part 3

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: 205w keeps going to charging mode when connects to PC

#31 Post by SilverBeauty » Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:00 am

skselvan wrote:My 205w keeps going to charging mode when connects to PC. Previously (since 2008) it was OK, this only started to occur 2 months ago. How I can get it to Storage mode. I have change the cables and also verified the cable with with 2 other GPS nuvi 265w sets (the cable is fine with this set). appreciate if anyone can help me out to get my GPS connected back so I can do updates.

The Nuvi 205W may have a faulty USB port connector as it is not communicating with your PC :-'

justin_5
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:37 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W
Contact:

after update problem

#32 Post by justin_5 » Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:57 pm

after i update my Nuvi 205W to software to sgmy software ver. 3.10,

when im using my gps, you know the top left part beside the name of the road you are going, there is this little indicator showing how much distance left before you have to make a turn. but mine is gone!!

hope can get help from you guys! really need help as i always missed the junction without it.

wsian
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1191
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: SIRFstar III
Contact:

Re: after update problem

#33 Post by wsian » Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:19 pm

You must be running multiple maps of a same region. Please always keep only ONE map activated.

justin_5
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:37 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W
Contact:

Re: after update problem

#34 Post by justin_5 » Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:05 am

thanks, i fixed it already,

by the way, i noticed what makes it react that way is that when i installed the new malsing map, it comes with a gmapprom1.img . that what makes it like that i suppose.

but if i delete it, the new locations also dissapears. so how to update my Nuvi 205W properly without the gmapprom1.img happen?

i mean something like merging the gmapprom.img with the new gmapprom1.img. or i installed the wrong files?

User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2611
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: after update problem

#35 Post by Zeus73 » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:21 am

justin_5 wrote:thanks, i fixed it already,

by the way, i noticed what makes it react that way is that when i installed the new malsing map, it comes with a gmapprom1.img . that what makes it like that i suppose.

but if i delete it, the new locations also dissapears. so how to update my Nuvi 205W properly without the gmapprom1.img happen?

i mean something like merging the gmapprom.img with the new gmapprom1.img. or i installed the wrong files?
New maps are activated by default when you copy them into your nuvi.

To deactivate them, touch Tools -> Settings -> Map -> Map Info.

justin_5
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:37 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W
Contact:

Re: after update problem

#36 Post by justin_5 » Thu Mar 31, 2011 1:38 pm

got it.. thanks bunch!

wilbert_nka
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 11:16 pm
GPS: Garmin nuvi 205
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 205W - Part 3

#37 Post by wilbert_nka » Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:05 pm

Hi All, my Nuvi 205 (Local Set) and Nuvi 205W (US Set) both does not have the icon of proximity alert in the setting. Is that any way I can install back this feature so that I can be alert on speed trap and traffic light camera?

Need help on this!!!

chancp13
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:03 am
GPS: Nuvi 205W
Contact:

Re: Is Junction View in MSM 5.xx supported in Nuvi 205W?

#38 Post by chancp13 » Sun May 15, 2011 11:05 am

chuakk wrote:Hi,
Any idea whether I can still downgrade the firmware to 2.30? Is there a place I can still download this old firmware?

Rgds,
KK Chua
Yes, my 205W has this problem oso. Used to be able to see JV but once firmware upgraded, is unable to...

Also, how do i know my set is a localised unit? I bought it in Singapore (Sim Lim) and it's Made in Taiwan...

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Is Junction View in MSM 5.xx supported in Nuvi 205W?

#39 Post by Redstorm » Sun May 15, 2011 11:48 am

wilbert_nka wrote:Hi All, my Nuvi 205 (Local Set) and Nuvi 205W (US Set) both does not have the icon of proximity alert in the setting. Is that any way I can install back this feature so that I can be alert on speed trap and traffic light camera?

Need help on this!!!
I am afraid there isn't anything you can do about it. I know proximity alert can provide visual and audio alerts, which can be helpful near school zones, red lights and safety cameras. However, not all is lost. You can still have audio alert by installing POI files for these alerts. To me, having audio alert is much better than visual. Most of the time, our eyes should be on the road and we only glances at the device when we are close to a turning.
chancp13 wrote:
Yes, my 205W has this problem oso. Used to be able to see JV but once firmware upgraded, is unable to...

Also, how do i know my set is a localised unit? I bought it in Singapore (Sim Lim) and it's Made in Taiwan...
I wonder how you managed to view JCV since there has never been a localised 205W set. There is a localised 205, however.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

chancp13
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:03 am
GPS: Nuvi 205W
Contact:

Re: Is Junction View in MSM 5.xx supported in Nuvi 205W?

#40 Post by chancp13 » Sun May 15, 2011 3:22 pm

Redstorm wrote:
I wonder how you managed to view JCV since there has never been a localised 205W set. There is a localised 205, however.

Hmmm..maybe i m unclear oso...is JCV the "photo" that appears at left half of the screen when we r approaching an expressway exit?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests