The Nuvi 205 - Part 3

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 205 - Part 3

#21 Post by Redstorm » Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:02 pm

atah wrote:Ok, will try that out. Is it ok if I use the WebUpdater to update the MSM NT 2009.40 map?

How about the type of SD card? Do I need to use a high speed card or a normal one will do? I got an old Kingston 256MB SD card. Will it slow down the speed?
No, you can't use webupdate to update the MSM NT 2009.40 map. Just follow the steps prescribed under "Garmin User B", the link for which I had indicated in my earlier post. Any type of SD card will do and you don't have to waste money getting a high speed card. A normal speed card will suffice and 256MB is more than enough.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

User avatar
atah
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:31 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W, HTC Touch 2
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 205 - Part 3

#22 Post by atah » Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:10 pm

Redstorm wrote: No, you can't use webupdate to update the MSM NT 2009.40 map. Just follow the steps prescribed under "Garmin User B", the link for which I had indicated in my earlier post. Any type of SD card will do and you don't have to waste money getting a high speed card. A normal speed card will suffice and 256MB is more than enough.
thanks. got it working already :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

User avatar
atah
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:31 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W, HTC Touch 2
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 205 - Part 3

#23 Post by atah » Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:11 am

Got another problem here. Today I was trying to use the 205W in my wife's car with V-Kool elite all round and the satelite reception is really bad. Always lost satelite reception and recalculating. But when I opened the windows and put the unit nearby to the window, then the reception is much better.

Any idea how to fix this problem? Maybe I need to cut an opening at the windscreen V-Kool film?

Thanks

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 205 - Part 3

#24 Post by dvpro » Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:02 pm

As you Nuvi does not have an external antenna connector, you might want to consider using a re-radiating antenna. Read this: viewtopic.php?p=25087#p25087
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

User avatar
atah
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:31 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W, HTC Touch 2
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 205 - Part 3

#25 Post by atah » Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:31 am

To update my problem with V-Kool elite, I've found that the best position to locate the unit will be at the lower right hand site of the windscreen. I can get quite a good reception there.

Initially, I put it at the mid of the widscreen, behind the rear view mirror and the reception was bad.

So for those who's having problem with V-Kool, please try a few locations and you might be able to get a good reception without the need of cutting a hole at the tint film.

bslee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:20 pm
GPS: Garmin 255W
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 205 - Part 3

#26 Post by bslee » Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:31 pm

Redstorm wrote: A normal speed card will suffice and 256MB is more than enough.
If is for just Malsingmap, thats ok. Otherwise a 2GB card may be a prudent purchase considering its well within affordability. I have one particular map which is 1.6GB in size and lucky I could use back the ori supplied card from my phone. I'm so glad Garmin use the SDcard.

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 205 - Part 3

#27 Post by Redstorm » Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:04 pm

bslee wrote:
If is for just Malsingmap, thats ok. Otherwise a 2GB card may be a prudent purchase considering its well within affordability. I have one particular map which is 1.6GB in size and lucky I could use back the ori supplied card from my phone. I'm so glad Garmin use the SDcard.
Yes, it makes sense to buy a 2GB card nowadays considering that the price has gone far southward and you can hardly find a 1GB card, let alone a 256MB one. In Sg, a 2GB SD card can be had for less than S$10 compared to the early days of digital cam where I paid about S$140 for a 128MB CF card. Madness!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

snazir
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:10 pm
GPS: Garmin
Contact:

Need help on nuvi 205

#28 Post by snazir » Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:15 am

Friend of mine bought a 2nd hand nuvi 205 from e-bay last year. He just came back to malaysia end of last year.
Accidentally, he was deleted some file on his nuvi & it doesn't function anymore.
Please anyody can help to supply the program (i don't know what program has been deleted, better if can give all the software program)?
:prayer: :prayer: :prayer: :muak:

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: Need help on nuvi 205

#29 Post by dvpro » Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:29 am

Nuvi's "operating system" is not stored at the internal memory (drive), and even if the drive is formatted, Nuvi should be able to boot up albeit with limited function. The most important file would be the map, and you can install it with the latest MSM map (after unzipped, GMAPSUPP.IMG should be placed in \Garmin folder). You can also try using Webupdater to restore the support files (voice, text, help) and also update unit's software (if there is a latter version). Thereafter, the Nuvi should be working as normal.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

smartsloc
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:36 pm
GPS: nuvi 500
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 205 - Part 3

#30 Post by smartsloc » Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:42 pm

Hi Guys,

I have loaded the MSM 2012 NT CNY edition map to my Nuvi 205, but the voice instructions is not working. is there any way to get the voice instructions back? thanks in advance.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests