Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:25 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:02 pm 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
Posts: 2767
Location: Hougang, Sg
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
atah wrote:
Ok, will try that out. Is it ok if I use the WebUpdater to update the MSM NT 2009.40 map?

How about the type of SD card? Do I need to use a high speed card or a normal one will do? I got an old Kingston 256MB SD card. Will it slow down the speed?


No, you can't use webupdate to update the MSM NT 2009.40 map. Just follow the steps prescribed under "Garmin User B", the link for which I had indicated in my earlier post. Any type of SD card will do and you don't have to waste money getting a high speed card. A normal speed card will suffice and 256MB is more than enough.

_________________
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:31 pm
Posts: 25
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W, HTC Touch 2
Redstorm wrote:
No, you can't use webupdate to update the MSM NT 2009.40 map. Just follow the steps prescribed under "Garmin User B", the link for which I had indicated in my earlier post. Any type of SD card will do and you don't have to waste money getting a high speed card. A normal speed card will suffice and 256MB is more than enough.


thanks. got it working already :thumbsup: :thumbsup:


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:11 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:31 pm
Posts: 25
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W, HTC Touch 2
Got another problem here. Today I was trying to use the 205W in my wife's car with V-Kool elite all round and the satelite reception is really bad. Always lost satelite reception and recalculating. But when I opened the windows and put the unit nearby to the window, then the reception is much better.

Any idea how to fix this problem? Maybe I need to cut an opening at the windscreen V-Kool film?

Thanks


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:02 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2906
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
As you Nuvi does not have an external antenna connector, you might want to consider using a re-radiating antenna. Read this: viewtopic.php?p=25087#p25087

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:31 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:31 pm
Posts: 25
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W, HTC Touch 2
To update my problem with V-Kool elite, I've found that the best position to locate the unit will be at the lower right hand site of the windscreen. I can get quite a good reception there.

Initially, I put it at the mid of the widscreen, behind the rear view mirror and the reception was bad.

So for those who's having problem with V-Kool, please try a few locations and you might be able to get a good reception without the need of cutting a hole at the tint film.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:20 pm
Posts: 19
GPS: Garmin 255W
Redstorm wrote:
A normal speed card will suffice and 256MB is more than enough.


If is for just Malsingmap, thats ok. Otherwise a 2GB card may be a prudent purchase considering its well within affordability. I have one particular map which is 1.6GB in size and lucky I could use back the ori supplied card from my phone. I'm so glad Garmin use the SDcard.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:04 pm 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
Posts: 2767
Location: Hougang, Sg
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
bslee wrote:

If is for just Malsingmap, thats ok. Otherwise a 2GB card may be a prudent purchase considering its well within affordability. I have one particular map which is 1.6GB in size and lucky I could use back the ori supplied card from my phone. I'm so glad Garmin use the SDcard.


Yes, it makes sense to buy a 2GB card nowadays considering that the price has gone far southward and you can hardly find a 1GB card, let alone a 256MB one. In Sg, a 2GB SD card can be had for less than S$10 compared to the early days of digital cam where I paid about S$140 for a 128MB CF card. Madness!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

_________________
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Need help on nuvi 205
PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:15 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:10 pm
Posts: 6
GPS: Garmin
Friend of mine bought a 2nd hand nuvi 205 from e-bay last year. He just came back to malaysia end of last year.
Accidentally, he was deleted some file on his nuvi & it doesn't function anymore.
Please anyody can help to supply the program (i don't know what program has been deleted, better if can give all the software program)?
:prayer: :prayer: :prayer: :muak:


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:29 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2906
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Nuvi's "operating system" is not stored at the internal memory (drive), and even if the drive is formatted, Nuvi should be able to boot up albeit with limited function. The most important file would be the map, and you can install it with the latest MSM map (after unzipped, GMAPSUPP.IMG should be placed in \Garmin folder). You can also try using Webupdater to restore the support files (voice, text, help) and also update unit's software (if there is a latter version). Thereafter, the Nuvi should be working as normal.

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:36 pm
Posts: 1
GPS: nuvi 500
Hi Guys,

I have loaded the MSM 2012 NT CNY edition map to my Nuvi 205, but the voice instructions is not working. is there any way to get the voice instructions back? thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group