The Nuvi 1250

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1250

#41 Post by Redstorm » Wed Mar 24, 2010 7:30 pm

isaac976 wrote:oops ... sorry my bad bro, I am using the nuvi255w, I just got so caught up reading and looking for a solution that I never thought this post was in the nuvi1250, thanks for answering the question, I do hope it will work the same as nuvi1250
If you have the Nuvi 255W, then you have to create a folder named Garmin in the SD card and install your map there. Remember, for storage in the SD card, they can only be named gmapsupp.img and only one map can be there. If you try to install more than one map, it will overwrite the earlier map. You need multiple SD cards if you need to store more maps. The other way is to store your maps in the main memory where each map can go by a different name e.g. Garmin CN map - gmapprom.img, MSM NT map - gmapprom1.img and MSM map - gmapsupp.img.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

isaac976
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:30 am
GPS: Mapking, Nuvi 255W, Garmin XT
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1250

#42 Post by isaac976 » Wed Mar 24, 2010 7:41 pm

alright ! Will try that later, SD card got corrupted after installing the maps ](*,) ! LOL ] got to format it now, anyway Will do what you have advise, I believe it will work ! yeah I got greedy and Installed like 3 maps in one card, 4gb ma. thanks alot bro ! will see what happens. I believe your advise is invaluable to everyone! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

batibot8888
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:02 pm
GPS: DOPOD D810
Contact:

Re: Qwerty keyboard for the Nuvi 1250

#43 Post by batibot8888 » Sat Apr 10, 2010 2:49 pm

Hi I do exactly as u say but can not i rename the original file to en_us to en_usbak and save edited file as en_us, what went wrong
chiamtj wrote:The standard Nuvi 1250 only has the ABCDE keyboard but I found a way to enable the QWERTY keyboard function.

Connect your Nuvi to your computer and make a copy of the en_US.kbd file in the /KBD/ folder.

Edit the file using any text editor and search for line 10. See below:

<group name="QWERTY" priority="1" wide_screen_only="false">

Simple change the word "true" to "false"

Save the file and reupload to your Nuvi 1250

Be sure to backup the original en_US.kbd file in case something goes wrong!

Your QWERTY keyboard is now enabled!

If the above is Greek to you, I've also attached the file :)

User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2619
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Qwerty keyboard for the Nuvi 1250

#44 Post by Zeus73 » Sat Apr 10, 2010 2:57 pm

batibot8888 wrote:Hi I do exactly as u say but can not i rename the original file to en_us to en_usbak and save edited file as en_us, what went wrong
:welcome:
Maybe you can upload the original file here.

Or someone can post the edited version.

batibot8888
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:02 pm
GPS: DOPOD D810
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1250

#45 Post by batibot8888 » Sat Apr 10, 2010 4:50 pm

now ok, need to remove the original file from the kb dir, can't simply rename thanks

batibot8888
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:02 pm
GPS: DOPOD D810
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1250

#46 Post by batibot8888 » Sat Apr 10, 2010 6:01 pm

http://www8.garmin.com/buzz/ecoroute/

how come i don't have the less fuel option on the route preference

User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2619
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1250

#47 Post by Zeus73 » Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:11 pm

batibot8888 wrote:http://www8.garmin.com/buzz/ecoroute/

how come i don't have the less fuel option on the route preference
Localized unit don't have full ecoRoute. :cry:

batibot8888
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:02 pm
GPS: DOPOD D810
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1250

#48 Post by batibot8888 » Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:02 am

can i download the software from garmin, but the web updater is not allowing me to download, is there any way?

User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2619
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1250

#49 Post by Zeus73 » Sun Apr 11, 2010 1:31 pm

batibot8888 wrote:can i download the software from garmin, but the web updater is not allowing me to download, is there any way?
Nope, it cannot be done this way.

Localized unit can only download software update from here.

mlwang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:28 pm
GPS: D810+Garmin Que+Malsingmap
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1250

#50 Post by mlwang » Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:09 pm

Hi all

I have a Nuvi 1200, what is the difference with the Nuvi 1250? Can the Nuvi 1200 have junction view for Malaysia/ Spore maps?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests