Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
cruiser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 2823
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:43 pm
GPS: SGS Mp4 5.0, S2+S3, S4; TT GO 910+950; Nüvi® 3790 SG/MY, 1490Tv, 775T & 650.
Location: Haagse Duinen
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#11 Post by cruiser » Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:40 pm

My Nuvi 650 has been installed with ~nüMaps Lifetime™ Europe 2011.10~ which has also shown no "dead reckoning" feature as was previous experience when plying through the Craeybeckx tunnel (Antwerp>> Brussels)nor any of the tunnels of our waterways in Holland since I have had this lifetime updates installed. Last week, I did the same too for the 1490TV. I might add the 775T as well to this lifetime update beginning of next year since I don't use this unit now as I preferred using the larger screen found in the 1490TV.

With all the mapping data that the satellite has from the base map, and to have your speed and time synchronized up to the point of entry of a "known" tunnel, albeit short or long, and again thereafter upon additional mapped exit(s), you would not worry anymore about this sudden blackout on your route.... unless you are involved in a road casualty inside the tunnel altogether.
:tracking: Recent caption
I do not claim copyright on the images (when it's not mine) displayed. The image(s) are only added to accentuate &/or amuse my posts.

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#12 Post by Redstorm » Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:50 pm

You guys sure or not? :-k I have been using my Nuvi 3790 and always lost signal inside the tunnel. Just today, I encountered the same problem in KPE tunnel. ](*,) My set cannot be any different from Silverbeauty's, which is also a 3790.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#13 Post by dvpro » Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:00 pm

Perhaps your drive thru the tunnel was longer than the stipulated time based on the last known speed which in turn is used as the average speed to calculate the time it would take to drive thru the tunnel.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#14 Post by Redstorm » Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:06 pm

dvpro wrote:Perhaps your drive thru the tunnel was longer than the stipulated time based on the last known speed which in turn is used as the average speed to calculate the time it would take to drive thru the tunnel.
For info, I have been using the ver 5.xx map. According to my "kaki" (zeus73), I should try the MSM NT 2010.20 map instead. Ok, will give it a go and report my finding. :mrgreen:
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

User avatar
cruiser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 2823
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:43 pm
GPS: SGS Mp4 5.0, S2+S3, S4; TT GO 910+950; Nüvi® 3790 SG/MY, 1490Tv, 775T & 650.
Location: Haagse Duinen
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#15 Post by cruiser » Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:34 pm

dvpro wrote:Perhaps your drive thru the tunnel was longer than the stipulated time based on the last known speed which in turn is used as the average speed to calculate the time it would take to drive thru the tunnel.
At least we can be certain, brudder drove out safely through the storm in that tunnel or he won't be giving us his feedback... :evil: (joking lah.... :thumbsup: )

And now, he's heading back again... :rolleyes:
Have you tried leaving it on the cruiser? (aka cruise control, just to be extra sure that the satellite is monitoring yr unit?)
:tracking: Recent caption
I do not claim copyright on the images (when it's not mine) displayed. The image(s) are only added to accentuate &/or amuse my posts.

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4925
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#16 Post by SilverBeauty » Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:59 pm

Redstorm wrote:You guys sure or not? :-k I have been using my Nuvi 3790 and always lost signal inside the tunnel. Just today, I encountered the same problem in KPE tunnel. ](*,) My set cannot be any different from Silverbeauty's, which is also a 3790.

Bro Redstorm, your problem is you use ver 5.xx map. thus you do not sync with what we see :mrgreen:

Use preloaded MSM NT or Garmin and you see what we are talking about.

And several post down, Wsian already said " We haven't start marking the tunnel in Singapore map " :-'

wsian
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1242
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: SIRFstar III
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#17 Post by wsian » Mon Nov 01, 2010 9:26 pm

Garmin said they marked some of the tunnel base on road name. I believe only few of the famous one like Smart Tunnel were identified. I think MSM NT 2010.20 doesn't have much of tunnel feature.

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#18 Post by ace » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:21 am

dvpro wrote:Bro Ace, were you using Nuvi255W when you experienced the dead-reckoning-like feature?

Bro Wsian, can you confirm this feature works with older Nuvis as well?
Yes. I was using the Nuvi255W set when I experienced the dead-reckoning like feature.
I don't have free fish......

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#19 Post by ace » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:29 am

Zeus73 wrote:How about those maps compiled by Garmin? Like MSM NT 2010.20 or CN SG/MY 2010.30.

I think bro SilverBeauty is currently using those maps. :-k
Bro Zeus73, Garmin CN SG/MY 2010.30 definitely have the dead-reckoning like feature as I was using this map by accident when I first saw it in the KPE. :thumbsup:

But I'm not sure about Garmin compiled MSM NT2010.20 as it has the "Lost Satellite Connection" message when I was testing it on the way back. So for the moment I'll say the test is inconclusive. Maybe like what SB says, the speed has to be constant for a certain distance prior to entering the tunnel. So I guess there are a few test scenarios to work out like jams all the way before tunnel, speeding into tunnel, crawling into tunnel, etc. :mrgreen:

Did not test on the our own compiled version but wsian already say it is NOT there. :lol:
I don't have free fish......

qsrgukp2002
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:38 pm
GPS: GARMIN NUVI 200
Contact:

Re: New Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels.

#20 Post by qsrgukp2002 » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:55 am

I think you guys are totally missing the point here. Dead reckoning involves much more than this. You'd have to get your car calibrated for it.

What's the point of relying on vehicle's last known speed to gauge how far down the tunnel you've travelled?

Garmin used to have old models that can do dead reckoning but they've stopped producing them. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests