Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
cruiser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 2823
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:43 pm
GPS: SGS Mp4 5.0, S2+S3, S4; TT GO 910+950; Nüvi® 3790 SG/MY, 1490Tv, 775T & 650.
Location: Haagse Duinen
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#101 Post by cruiser » Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:48 pm

nf0rc3r wrote:Don't understand why Garmin restricts this feature to only Tunnels.
TomTom enables this feature on all roads and it turns to a black & white map to indicate its in simulation mode.
2 advantages of this is:


As far as our situation goes with satellite coverage through the Nuvis in the tunnels here, it works but NOT all the time.

It depends on the length and depth of the tunnel too however, this applies to TomTom as well. It does go gray with Garmin units but that is nothing unusual. With the TomTom, it remains unchanged giving the impression of the coverage & signals remaining constant & optimal until one gets to hear of Satellite disconnection.

I have both Garmin Nuvi & TomTom GO Live functioning respectively by my dashboard always.
:tracking: Recent caption
I do not claim copyright on the images (when it's not mine) displayed. The image(s) are only added to accentuate &/or amuse my posts.

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#102 Post by tks » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:23 pm

Guys, sorry to dig up this old thread. I was away from MSM for a year and lost touch with developments.

Is this "tunnel projection" feature implemented in the lastest MSM 2012 v5.xx, Malsingmaps NT 2011.xx and City Navigator Singapore/Malaysia NT 2011.xx maps?

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#103 Post by SilverBeauty » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:31 pm

tks wrote:Guys, sorry to dig up this old thread. I was away from MSM for a year and lost touch with developments.

Is this "tunnel projection" feature implemented in the lastest MSM 2012 v5.xx, Malsingmaps NT 2011.xx and City Navigator Singapore/Malaysia NT 2011.xx maps?
Works with Garmin CN NT maps

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#104 Post by ace » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:54 pm

SilverBeauty wrote:
tks wrote:Guys, sorry to dig up this old thread. I was away from MSM for a year and lost touch with developments.

Is this "tunnel projection" feature implemented in the lastest MSM 2012 v5.xx, Malsingmaps NT 2011.xx and City Navigator Singapore/Malaysia NT 2011.xx maps?
Works with Garmin CN NT maps
Should worked with all Garmin generated map....ie City Navigator, MSM NT 2011.xx....

I'm not sure about latest MSM 2012 v5.xx map, but I thought it works too as well...
I don't have free fish......

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#105 Post by tks » Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:47 pm

ace wrote:
Should worked with all Garmin generated map....ie City Navigator, MSM NT 2011.xx....
I'm not sure about latest MSM 2012 v5.xx map, but I thought it works too as well...
It depends on whether this was programmed into the map. The last time I checked, this feature was implemented in City Navigator NT 2010.30 and MSM v5.04 but not in Malsingmaps NT 2010.20.

jasonlee
Senior Mapper
Posts: 2075
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2576R, 3560 & Etrex 30
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#106 Post by jasonlee » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:56 pm

tks wrote:
It depends on whether this was programmed into the map. The last time I checked, this feature was implemented in City Navigator NT 2010.30 and MSM v5.04 but not in Malsingmaps NT 2010.20.
Malsingmaps NT 2010.20 is too old and that was before mappers encoded tunnels into the map.
Lean not on your own understanding

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests