Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#61 Post by Redstorm » Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:19 am

Tested the 5.02 map on my 3790 again recently on the KPE tunnel and the CTE tunnel this morning. This time around it worked without any loss of signal. :thumbsup:
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#62 Post by tks » Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:04 pm

This simple feature is so useful that it is very surprising Garmin took so long to implement it. TomTom has it for some years already, and I raised it previously: http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewt ... 99#p140399

Without it, our Nuvis are almost useless in tunnels as they go completely dead with no info at all. Even the last route info disappears from the screen, leaving you completely stranded.

So, this news is fantastic to me. I only hope that it gets ported to the MSM map as soon as possible. From what the others have reported, MSM 2010.20 still does not have it. Only CN 2010.30 have it, but this map is not so good in my opinion.

May I also ask if this feature works on the older 2xx, 3xx etc series?

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#63 Post by ace » Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:08 pm

tks wrote:.......May I also ask if this feature works on the older 2xx, 3xx etc series?
It works on my 255W and Noah's 205 as reported earlier in this thread. :-'
I don't have free fish......

User avatar
moeyHC
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1343
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 300, 205W, 2575, Papaga N1, iGo, 5800, M1200, M1000B/C
Location: Penang
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#64 Post by moeyHC » Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:18 pm

I'll test it by wrapping it in Aluminum foil while navigating to see if it really works on my Nuvi 205W-Taiwan.... if I don't hear 'Lost Satellite Reception' for 5 mins of driving... it should have work... will report when done.... I'll turn track log on too.... just to see if it's tracking Okay... cheers!

P/s: I doubt it can work on open road as the compiler needs to mark the map for Tunnel to activate 'something'...
MSM Glossary/Index - viewtopic.php?p=57986#p57986

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#65 Post by SilverBeauty » Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:05 pm

moeyHC wrote:I'll test it by wrapping it in Aluminum foil while navigating to see if it really works on my Nuvi 205W-Taiwan.... if I don't hear 'Lost Satellite Reception' for 5 mins of driving... it should have work... will report when done.... I'll turn track log on too.... just to see if it's tracking Okay... cheers!

P/s: I doubt it can work on open road as the compiler needs to mark the map for Tunnel to activate 'something'...
Bro Moey, I do not think it will work. Per my understanding itthis feature only works in places like tunnels where the feature code has been added.

jasonlee
Senior Mapper
Posts: 2075
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2576R, 3560 & Etrex 30
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#66 Post by jasonlee » Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:56 pm

tks wrote: So, this news is fantastic to me. I only hope that it gets ported to the MSM map as soon as possible.
It is already coded in and works for MSM NT v5.xx maps.
Lean not on your own understanding

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#67 Post by tks » Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:32 am

Are the MSM NT v5.xx maps more updated than MSM 2010.20 which is pre-installed in my Nuvi? What about junction view etc?

jasonlee
Senior Mapper
Posts: 2075
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2576R, 3560 & Etrex 30
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#68 Post by jasonlee » Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:52 am

tks wrote:Are the MSM NT v5.xx maps more updated than MSM 2010.20 which is pre-installed in my Nuvi? What about junction view etc?
If my memory serves me right, MSM SgMyMal NT 2010.20 was compiled in March 2010 using data a few months earlier whereas the MSM NT v5.03 was released on 25.11.2010 based on data of a few days earlier. It is obvious that MSM NT v5.xx which is scheduled for (hopefully) weekly release is more up-to-date than the MSM SgMyMal NT 2010.20 which is scheduled for quarterly release and so far this year there has only been 2 releases.

MSM NT v5.xx will have JCV in due course.
Lean not on your own understanding

User avatar
BanBan
Qualified Mapper
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 12:00 am
GPS: 60CS, Unbranded MCX ext. antenna, Nuvi 1460, 2565.
Location: Subang Jaya
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#69 Post by BanBan » Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:20 am

tks wrote:Are the MSM NT v5.xx maps more updated than MSM 2010.20 which is pre-installed in my Nuvi? What about junction view etc?
The important thing to note here is that we have now started using Garmin's own compiler and not cGPSmapper. This will be a notable event in the history of Malsingmaps. Since we are using Garmin's compiler, our map will be able to provide Lane Assist and Junction View just like the Garmin issued NT maps. This shift will of course take time. Mappers have to learn about configuring the new technology. Time will be taken for our map to stabilise through the new compiler.

As of now, those who have the right PNDs are already enjoying Lane Assist features in MSM NT v5.03. New LA codes all over Malaysia are being configured into the map as I write. We are all in the learning curve and things should pick up as time passes. We have not started configuring Junction View like LA just yet. We have to start on one first so as not to induce too many errors that could unstabilise the map. For sure we picked LA first as JV is more challenging to implement. Just having to capture photos of junctions alone is a major exercise. We have to sort that out when the time come.
"Aha! Papa got a new toy!" - BanBan (My 3 yr old daughter)
Image

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Nuvis can now navigate in tunnels with NT maps

#70 Post by tks » Tue Dec 14, 2010 12:52 pm

I tested MSM 5.04 on my old Nuvi China 300 (SM) in both CTE and KPE and this feature does not work on this device.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests