The Nuvi 1460

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
jasonlee
Senior Mapper
Posts: 2075
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2576R, 3560 & Etrex 30
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#311 Post by jasonlee » Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:21 pm

brandonliew wrote:Hi

Im the proud owner of the nuvi 1460.
I'm planning to upgrade the latest map so i downloaded the gmapsupp_v505 file from the website.

At the moment i don't have additional SD Card install on this Garmin, how can i copy the file to the GPS?

I have try to copy to the Garmin folder but it is still not working.

I have even change the file name and it doesnt work too

Anyone can share some tips

NEwbie
Nuvi 1460 reads maps installed in the /.System Folder in the internal memory (not /Garmin Folder as for earlier Nuvis). Even so, it is advisable to place your maps in a /Map folder because you can name your maps with meaningful names like China.img instead of gmapsupp.img. Having said that, my recommendation is to buy an SD card and create your /Map folder in the card. An SD card is less than RM100 for even 8GB but to restore the 2GB internal memory, it would cost you a new GPS. Just simple logic and economics.
Lean not on your own understanding

jasonlee
Senior Mapper
Posts: 2075
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2576R, 3560 & Etrex 30
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#312 Post by jasonlee » Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:33 pm

zamoza wrote:hi to all experts,
I am using nuvi 1460. There is one feature "avoidance" in the device. Under avaoidance, there is a tick for traffic. My question is if I tick this "traffic", does that mean my gps will try to find route that is less traffic jam? or what?
Experts' help are sought
Dear Bro Zamoza,

The Traffic feature is not available in Malaysia. If you are in Singapore, you can have it if you pay extra for it but that only works in Nuvis with a 'T' as a suffix to the model number. The irony is that if you buy a T model (from USA or elsewhere), you have already paid for a life-time traffic feature which unfortunately does not work outside of USA unless you pay more. So if you click the Traffic option in the avoidance menu, NOTHING WILL HAPPEN if you are in Malaysia, or in Singapore but have not paid extra for the service or if your Nuvi does not have the T suffix.
Lean not on your own understanding

Madmax67
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:16 am
GPS: Garmin 1460
Contact:

Nuvi 1460 - Need assistance with JCV file

#313 Post by Madmax67 » Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:14 am

I got a local version of the 1460 SG/MY.

In the .System directory, there is JCV directory. In it, there are 2 files, SgMyMal.JCV and SgMyTA.JCV.

I want to load my unlocked US 2012.10 map and the JCV file into the SD card.

I renamed the img file to gmapsupp.imp and placed it into the folder SD:\Garmin.
I placed the US2012.10 JCV file into the folder SD:\Garmin\JCV.

I powered it on. When I checked the map info, it shows only the MSM SG/MY JCV files are recognised. I can't see the US JCV file in the map info. The US img file is recognised.

Am I doing something wrong? Is there a naming convention for the JCV file when the map is gmapsupp.img?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 1460 - Need assistance with JCV file

#314 Post by Redstorm » Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:47 am

Madmax67 wrote:I got a local version of the 1460 SG/MY.

In the .System directory, there is JCV directory. In it, there are 2 files, SgMyMal.JCV and SgMyTA.JCV.

I want to load my unlocked US 2012.10 map and the JCV file into the SD card.

I renamed the img file to gmapsupp.imp and placed it into the folder SD:\Garmin.
I placed the US2012.10 JCV file into the folder SD:\Garmin\JCV.

I powered it on. When I checked the map info, it shows only the MSM SG/MY JCV files are recognised. I can't see the US JCV file in the map info. The US img file is recognised.

Am I doing something wrong? Is there a naming convention for the JCV file when the map is gmapsupp.img?

Thanks in advance.
There is no such thing as an "unlocked" US map. Any Garmin map has to be purchased and it usually comes preloaded in a new device with unlocked code or in a SD card where the unlocked code is tied to the SD card's ID. For localised set, it is not bundled with any foreign map and in your case, I believe, you got it thru other means which is considered illegal. Sorry, because of copyright infringement, we can't entertain your queries here. Thank you.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

epteh
Regular
Regular
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:15 pm
GPS: Garmin 1460, Garmin GPSMAP 76CSx with External Antenna
Location: Subang Jaya
Contact:

Re: The Nuvi 1460

#315 Post by epteh » Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:02 am

Hi,

Is there an upper limit for the number of addresses inside the address file in the CUSTOM POIs folder (Garmin/Poi/address.gpi)?
I have 75 addresses in the address.poi and the unit only reads 48 of them.

I have been working various ways for 1 day and still got no clue.
Help from the seniors and sifu's would be very muct appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

tanjm348
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:33 pm
GPS: Garmin GPS 3+
Garmin XP on Nokia E72
Garmin Nuvi 765
Garmin Nuvi 1460T
Garmin Nuvi 50LM
Contact:

Need Help! Unable to go to PC mode for Nuvi 1460

#316 Post by tanjm348 » Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:19 pm

Need help!!
My Nuvi 1460 out of sudden was unable to go to PC Mode. Once I connect it to my laptop, it just go into a charging mode.

Previously it was working fine when I updated my map.
The Traffic function icon is gone as well.

I search on the web to do a hard reset by turnning it on and pressing the bottom right corner.
And was unable to solve the problem....

Anyone has any ideas??

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Unable to go to PC mode for Nuvi 1460

#317 Post by SilverBeauty » Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:32 pm

tanjm348 wrote:Need help!!
My Nuvi 1460 out of sudden was unable to go to PC Mode. Once I connect it to my laptop, it just go into a charging mode.

Previously it was working fine when I updated my map.
The Traffic function icon is gone as well.

I search on the web to do a hard reset by turnning it on and pressing the bottom right corner.
And was unable to solve the problem....

Anyone has any ideas??
Do not use an external USB hub. Plug your Nuvi direct to USB port of PC/Lappy
Use a different USB port
Use a different USB cable
Use a different PC/Lappy
Reload Windows driver
Disable Ant-Virus ........... :-k :-'

tanjm348
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:33 pm
GPS: Garmin GPS 3+
Garmin XP on Nokia E72
Garmin Nuvi 765
Garmin Nuvi 1460T
Garmin Nuvi 50LM
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Unable to go to PC mode for Nuvi 1460

#318 Post by tanjm348 » Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:39 pm

SilverBeauty wrote:
tanjm348 wrote:Need help!!
My Nuvi 1460 out of sudden was unable to go to PC Mode. Once I connect it to my laptop, it just go into a charging mode.

Previously it was working fine when I updated my map.
The Traffic function icon is gone as well.

I search on the web to do a hard reset by turnning it on and pressing the bottom right corner.
And was unable to solve the problem....

Anyone has any ideas??
Do not use an external USB hub. Plug your Nuvi direct to USB port of PC/Lappy
Use a different USB port
Use a different USB cable
Use a different PC/Lappy
Reload Windows driver
Disable Ant-Virus ........... :-k :-'
I didn't use an external hub
Use a different USB port - Tried
Use a different USB cable - Tried
Use a different PC - Tried on 2 other PC....
Reload driver - will try that one
Disable - will try as well

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Unable to go to PC mode for Nuvi 1460

#319 Post by SilverBeauty » Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:38 pm

Here is some troubleshooting tips from Garmin http://iqc.garmin.com/eCustomer/KODSelf ... 0000000%7D

sbkw
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:57 pm
GPS: not really yet
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Unable to go to PC mode for Nuvi 1460

#320 Post by sbkw » Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:33 am

tanjm348 wrote:
I didn't use an external hub
Use a different USB port - Tried
Use a different USB cable - Tried
Use a different PC - Tried on 2 other PC....
Reload driver - will try that one
Disable - will try as well
[/quote]

I also had this problem lately, car charger keep prompting "External power lost", connect to pc unable to detect, random can charge but must move the connector abit to get better connection.

Tried all different USB port, cables, pc and laptop, update new driver also doesn't work.

Any help will be appreciated.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests