Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:58 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 279 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 28  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: The Nuvi 200W
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 12:42 am
Posts: 4
GPS: Garmin 250W
Hi... Me just got the Garmin nuvi 200w. My wife love it...

Just joined the forum, got to know of the new software 3.10 for nuvi 2xx. Anyone know if it is the same for use in my nuvi 200w. My current version is 2.90.

Thanks

Eric


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone got nuvi 200w
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:03 pm 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
Posts: 2740
Location: Hougang, Sg
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
The 3.10 ver should have no problem running on the 2xx series including yours.

_________________
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone got nuvi 200w
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:13 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 948
Location: SG
GPS: 60CSx, 10X
koheric wrote:
Hi... Me just got the Garmin nuvi 200w. My wife love it...

Just joined the forum, got to know of the new software 3.10 for nuvi 2xx. Anyone know if it is the same for use in my nuvi 200w. My current version is 2.90.

Thanks

Eric

before you do anything, i would strongly suggest you to make a full backup (including the hidden files) of your current Nuvi.

unless you are using dial up, it is quite safe to use webupdater in a broadband enviroment for an update. Webupdater will check your system first for compatibility. And to be doubly safe, your Nuvi battery power level is better to have it fully charged before the updating process.

While updating, it is best not to multitask. Makesure the process is complete before you touch/stop anything. You do not want to disconnect anything while it is over writing your unit system files.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone got nuvi 200w
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:05 pm 
Offline
Regular
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:25 pm
Posts: 178
Location: 47100 MY
GPS: nuvi 200
thank you sifu trajet2b, I've done that except to backup my ori files... so far so good but the satellites lock up seem to take longer time :-k

_________________
N 2º 58.657’ E 101º 36.652’


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone got nuvi 200w
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:22 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 12:42 am
Posts: 4
GPS: Garmin 250W
Hi... I had tried... The webupdater told me there isn't any upgrade... So now I still remain in verson 2.90...

Eric


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone got nuvi 200w
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:44 pm 
Offline
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:42 pm
Posts: 73
GPS: nüvi 750
Read in the GPSPassion Forum that the satellite lock up for 200 series takes a longer time due to the built in antenna which is smaller or placed in an awkward position whereas the external flip up antenna for the 300/600 series is large and faces the sky.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone got nuvi 200w
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 12:42 am
Posts: 4
GPS: Garmin 250W
Not exactly true... My 200w give me almost instant navigation when I powered up...

Eric


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone got nuvi 200w
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 6:31 pm 
Offline
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:42 pm
Posts: 73
GPS: nüvi 750
Is the instant power up a warm start or cold start? If it is a warm start, then it is normal to have an instant power up. The concern here is on the cold start.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone got nuvi 200w
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:49 pm 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
Posts: 2740
Location: Hougang, Sg
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
A fast startup is considered a hot start whereas a cold start takes a much longer time. Again, how fast it locks onto the satellites depends on a lot of factors.

_________________
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone got nuvi 200w
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:14 pm 
Offline
Regular
Regular

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:56 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Singapore
GPS: Nuvi 270
eMap
You may wish to refer to the following for a review:
http://www.gpspassion.com/forumsen/topi ... C_ID=95930

He opened up his GPS, again! The last time he opened up a regular 2xx.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 279 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 28  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group