Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:12 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 245 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 ... 25  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:25 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:32 am
Posts: 16
Location: kuching, Sarawak
GPS: none at the moment
hi kucau,

(1) I had brought back some dvd from US and I am able to play them here in malaysia. so i don't think there is any issue.

(2) you can play dvd while driving, just need to tell your audio installer to bypass the safety switch. In US, you need to pull the handbrake first before you can play the dvd.

(3) junction view feature is not your issue here. the usa kenwood units come with north american map. can you download the latest malsingmaps into this US kenwood unit?

(4) local unit come with pre-install malsingmaps.

which is the better choice?

I think it depends on three questions

(1) how much is US kenwood unit? how much is the local unit? I think the local units cost around RM6k here in kuching

(2) local unit come with one year warranty, what about us unit?

(3) are you able to download latest malsingmaps into this us kenwood unit? Even if you can, does it work properly?

_________________
Children are our future


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 43
GPS: Kenwood
sammy wrote:

Sorry I haven't been on for some time. What I did was rename the file to gmapsupp.img and put it under the Garmin directory on a SD card with no .unl file. When starting up the Kenwood, it says that map is locked and to input the unlock code on the screen using an onscreen keyboard. I did this with the 2009.3 map. When I replace the gmapsupp.img with the 2009.5 version, the Kenwood didn't ask me for a new unlock code. It just works. I can go back and forth between Jerome's map and 2009.5 by swapping SD cards.



Hi sammy,

what do you mean by the phrase in red? I am unable to unlock 2009.5 on my 7039 too


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:12 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 43
GPS: Kenwood
I kept getting maps locked with maps downloaded here on my Kenwood set 7039. Anyone managed to unlock can share with me?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:32 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 2622
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550
paithorn wrote:
I kept getting maps locked with maps downloaded here on my Kenwood set 7039. Anyone managed to unlock can share with me?

Do you happen to know anyone with a nuvi? Maybe can use card ID to generate unlock code instead.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:20 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 43
GPS: Kenwood
Zeus73 wrote:
Do you happen to know anyone with a nuvi? Maybe can use card ID to generate unlock code instead.



Hi sir, I have no NUVI friends. What is card ID?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:25 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 2622
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550
paithorn wrote:
Hi sir, I have no NUVI friends. What is card ID?

I'm referring to this method.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:11 pm
Posts: 36
GPS: Kenwood DNX-7100, Nuvi 660, 60CS, Holux Slim 236
paithorn wrote:
Hi sammy,

what do you mean by the phrase in red? I am unable to unlock 2009.5 on my 7039 too


Sorry. Don't get on much. For my Nuvi, I have to put the unlock code in a file called gmapsupp.unl in the same directory that gmapsupp.img is in. However for the Kenwood, I don't need the gmapsupp.unl. My Kenwood 7100 asks me for the unlock code when I start it up and I just key it in. Are you in Singapore? If you are, I might be able to meet up


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:14 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:40 pm
Posts: 4
GPS: Kenwood DNX 8120 and Nuvi 310
I just bought DNX 8120 from US. It's a 2nd hand set.

For those would like to unlock the malsingmap which loaded in the SD card, you can get the unit ID from the garmin map in kenwood, copy this unit ID in garmin SG website to get the unlock code, paste it to the file with xxxx.unl for e.g. gmapsupp1.unl in the garmin folder which gmapsupp1.img also in the same folder.

It will work when you restart the garmin without asking unlock code again.

Another method is you can use the mini usb cable to insert at the back of the DNX 8120 and copy the garmin folder into the DNX (xm satelite mini usb port). *Please ask your installer to do it for you.

You also can copy the vehicle icons and voice files into the DNX as well. (copy into SD drive will not work for voice file and vehicle icons)

For DNX 8120 FM radio frequency to change from 200 khz to 50 khz radio spectrum. You can do the following steps.

1) Press volume down button, source button and follow by reset button.
2) Release the reset button and hold the volume down button and source button until the kenwood logo display appear.
3) you should get the 50 khz FM radio frequency.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:57 pm 
Offline
Regular
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 6:07 pm
Posts: 108
GPS: HTC Touch HD; Kenwood DNX7100; Garmin Oregon 300
Anyone knows that the Kenwood's GXM30 XM Smart Antenna can be used for the newly launched TMC service from LTA? i have seen the traffic info from the Nuvi 1460 and I find it quite useful.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:11 pm
Posts: 36
GPS: Kenwood DNX-7100, Nuvi 660, 60CS, Holux Slim 236
I don't think it will work because the GTM 25 seems to be a customized one for Singapore/Malaysia and if you have a pre IT show 1460, you have to return it to Garmin for a firmware update. I have a GTM 20 with my Nuvi 660 bought from the US and it doesn't work.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 245 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 ... 25  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group