Garmin Dakota

Discussions on Garmin eTrex, GPSMap60, GPSMap76, Rino & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: Garmin Dakota

#21 Post by dvpro » Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:09 am

Dakota (WebUpdater) software version 3.40 released: http://www8.garmin.com/support/download ... sp?id=4527

Change History
Changes made from version 3.30 to 3.40:
  • Fixed issue while using spell search in route planner.
  • Fixed issue where tracks could not be disabled from the map.
  • Fixed issues with odometer distance.
  • Fixed shutdown while panning the map for extended periods of time.
  • Fixed occasional shutdown when turning off a marine alarm.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: Garmin Dakota

#22 Post by dvpro » Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:56 am

Dakota (WebUpdater) software version 3.50 released: http://www8.garmin.com/support/download ... sp?id=4527

Change History
Changes made from version 3.40 to 3.50:
  • Added support for Chirp™.
  • Fixed problem with certain custom maps.
  • Fixed issue with Sight 'N Go and user north reference.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

datopage2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:02 pm
GPS: Dakota 20
Contact:

Re: Garmin Dakota

#23 Post by datopage2 » Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:21 pm

Hi, I just bought a dakota 20 with only world basemap, which method do I use to upload malsing maps to my unit? Sorry if asking silly question - totally new to GPS hand held :)

User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2608
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Garmin Dakota

#24 Post by Zeus73 » Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:52 pm

datopage2 wrote:Hi, I just bought a dakota 20 with only world basemap, which method do I use to upload malsing maps to my unit? Sorry if asking silly question - totally new to GPS hand held :)
:welcome:
Copy the map into the Garmin folder of the main memory or microSD card.

Get the map from here and unzip to get the "gmapsupp.img" file.

User avatar
ara_ffat
Junior Mapper
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 11:28 pm
GPS: Mapking2007;Garmin Mobile XT,Nuvi205W,
Dakota 20(dead stone),60Csx(TQ Adil),Nuvi1350
Location: Terengganu
Contact:

Re: Garmin Dakota

#25 Post by ara_ffat » Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:42 pm

Zeus73 wrote:
Copy the map into the Garmin folder of the main memory or microSD card.

Get the map from here and unzip to get the "gmapsupp.img" file.
so u just copy it zues?..why i cant do the same..the newest software version seems did not read copy and paste .img file...i have to transfer from mapsource
how do u do it?? :-k
Y N W A :c0evil:

User avatar
Zeus73
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2608
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:54 am
GPS: Garmin nüvi® 765, Garmin nüvi® 3790T, Garmin Oregon® 550, Kenwood DNX4150BT
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Garmin Dakota

#26 Post by Zeus73 » Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:50 pm

ara_ffat wrote:so u just copy it zues?..why i cant do the same..the newest software version seems did not read copy and paste .img file...i have to transfer from mapsource
how do u do it?? :-k
Err... I'm using Oregon 550 actually. But the software should be similar to Dakota.

I'm currently having 2 maps in my microSD card. Both in Garmin folder. Also, you can change the filename to anything. Mine is "MSM NT v5.04.img" and "Indonesia Map v1.80 NT.img". Both are copy and paste too.

So long the maps are not locked, it should work fine. :mrgreen:

crookerr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:09 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W
Contact:

Re: Garmin Dakota

#27 Post by crookerr » Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:38 am

I have downloaded the map to my Dakota 20 but when I go to a Geocache it does not open the map. I have downloaded V748 zip and move the gmapsupp.img into a new Map file but no road detail shows up? Any suggestions? I am working with the Malaysian maps as I will be vacation there in a month and would like to find some Geo's. Thank you

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Garmin Dakota

#28 Post by SilverBeauty » Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:57 am

crookerr wrote:I have downloaded the map to my Dakota 20 but when I go to a Geocache it does not open the map. I have downloaded V748 zip and move the gmapsupp.img into a new Map file but no road detail shows up? Any suggestions? I am working with the Malaysian maps as I will be vacation there in a month and would like to find some Geo's. Thank you
gmapsupp.img should be in garmin folder

crookerr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:09 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W
Contact:

Re: Garmin Dakota

#29 Post by crookerr » Wed Apr 27, 2016 10:28 am

That trick did it, thank you very much for your fine assistance! PeacocksRus :thumbsup:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests