Loading MSM into NUVI Part 6

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
limsaiseong
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 9:16 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 1450
Contact:

Re: HELP!!!! GARMIN NUVI 1450

#31 Post by limsaiseong » Thu May 05, 2011 1:49 pm

Thanks thanks...manage to 'barely' get it work...any way which i can use the junction view?

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: HELP!!!! GARMIN NUVI 1450

#32 Post by Redstorm » Thu May 05, 2011 2:00 pm

limsaiseong wrote:Thanks thanks...manage to 'barely' get it work...any way which i can use the junction view?
Your US version of 1450 will not be able to display JCV if used with MSM NT 2011.10 or Garmin CN 2011.10 map. Only the MSM v5.13 is able to but currently the JCV display is limited to only a few areas in KL, if I remember correctly.

PS. Please do not double post similar question in another sub-forum. One post will suffice. The other post has been deleted. Thank you.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

yangyang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 3:39 pm
GPS: nuvi 1390T
Contact:

Nuvi 1390T

#33 Post by yangyang » Thu May 05, 2011 5:06 pm

Bought a Nuvi 1390T from US.
Tried all procedures to load MSM 2011.xx or 5.xx to my Garmin but were unsuccessful. I copied them into my Garmin's folder but nothing appear.
The only successful attempt was the installation file via its website, but after installation, I don't have any point of interest, etc... all fields were empty, just that I've a Singapore map with limited postal code search, and shows the wrong location for full addresses that i've entered.

Please assist

jasonlee
Senior Mapper
Posts: 2075
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2576R, 3560 & Etrex 30
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 1390T

#34 Post by jasonlee » Thu May 05, 2011 5:42 pm

yangyang wrote:Bought a Nuvi 1390T from US.
Tried all procedures to load MSM 2011.xx or 5.xx to my Garmin but were unsuccessful. I copied them into my Garmin's folder but nothing appear.
The only successful attempt was the installation file via its website, but after installation, I don't have any point of interest, etc... all fields were empty, just that I've a Singapore map with limited postal code search, and shows the wrong location for full addresses that i've entered.

Please assist
Have you tried this?

Forget about the 2011.xx. Just load the v5.xx
Last edited by bartmp8 on Fri May 06, 2011 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: This Topic will be merged into "Loading MSM into Nuvi Part 6" in Newbie Lounge at a later date
Lean not on your own understanding

yangyang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 3:39 pm
GPS: nuvi 1390T
Contact:

Re: Loading MSM into NUVI Part 6

#35 Post by yangyang » Sun May 08, 2011 4:29 pm

today, i've tried the SD card method on my 1390T using MSM 5.13. Still the same problem.
1. limited postal codes.
2. Points of Interest = empty.. could only see those from my original US map.

jasonlee
Senior Mapper
Posts: 2075
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2576R, 3560 & Etrex 30
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Loading MSM into NUVI Part 6

#36 Post by jasonlee » Sun May 08, 2011 10:01 pm

yangyang wrote:today, i've tried the SD card method on my 1390T using MSM 5.13. Still the same problem.
1. limited postal codes.
Singapore Postcodes are not yet fully covered. Malaysian Postcodes cannot be searched.
2. Points of Interest = empty.. could only see those from my original US map.
Have you tried to uncheck your USA map through Tools/Settings/Map/Map Info? Even if there is no interference, it is bad practice to have the USA map checked when you are not in USA. In the very least you are forcing the GPS to read and load more maps than necessary which will slow the start up.
Lean not on your own understanding

tonyffh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 6:08 pm
GPS: garmin 1350
Contact:

Re: Loading MSM into NUVI Part 6

#37 Post by tonyffh » Thu May 12, 2011 1:20 pm

im sorry you may have heard the same questions 100 times already but i still have to ask: how do you search by postcode with v5.13?

User avatar
bartmp8
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3062
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
Location: Sandakan
Contact:

Re: Loading MSM into NUVI Part 6

#38 Post by bartmp8 » Thu May 12, 2011 4:34 pm

tonyffh wrote:im sorry you may have heard the same questions 100 times already but i still have to ask: how do you search by postcode with v5.13?
Pls note you cannot search by Postcode in Malaysia

Read this, it may help you ...

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewt ... 01#p142901

vivio_rsr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:05 am
GPS: 12345678
Contact:

GARMIN NUVI 550 Need later Map update?

#39 Post by vivio_rsr » Tue May 17, 2011 4:50 pm

Hi, can anyone guide me where can i download malsingmap for my Nuvi 550? Thank you.

User avatar
bartmp8
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3062
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
Location: Sandakan
Contact:

Re: GARMIN NUVI 550 Need later Map update?

#40 Post by bartmp8 » Tue May 17, 2011 4:56 pm

vivio_rsr wrote:Hi, can anyone guide me where can i download malsingmap for my Nuvi 550? Thank you.
Go to our Portal Page (main Page) and look under "What's New"
Look for:

"MSM NT v5.13 released. No lock! Download link here..." that's our latest map. Just un-Rar,
copy the gmapsupp.img and paste into your Garmin folder. This action will replace your
existing map with the same file name. I suggest you back up that file first in case its a
map of another region.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests