Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
cheongk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:43 pm
GPS: Nuvi 310
Contact:

Re: Australian version of Nuvi 1250 - okay for loading MSM?

#281 Post by cheongk » Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:35 pm

Thank you very much. Now I can go out and buy one (with peace of mind).
Last edited by bartmp8 on Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic merged - Bartmp8

cheowkwen
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 10:27 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 40
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#282 Post by cheowkwen » Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:58 am

Hi, I'm currently working in US for 1 month, found the Garmin Nuvi 40 is on good price in US and the features are good enough for me too. I'm wishing to buy this unit and will use it for about 1 month in US. But when I back to Malaysia, I wish to load the Malaysia map.

But I'm not sure is the MSM map can be used with this model as this model is quite new.

Can someone please advise? Just wanna be sure this model can be used with MSM Malaysia before I buy.

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#283 Post by Redstorm » Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:26 am

cheowkwen wrote:Hi, I'm currently working in US for 1 month, found the Garmin Nuvi 40 is on good price in US and the features are good enough for me too. I'm wishing to buy this unit and will use it for about 1 month in US. But when I back to Malaysia, I wish to load the Malaysia map.

But I'm not sure is the MSM map can be used with this model as this model is quite new.

Can someone please advise? Just wanna be sure this model can be used with MSM Malaysia before I buy.
As long as it is a Garmin, regardless of whether it is the newest or an older model, you can download and use our maps. No problem at all.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#284 Post by ace » Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:35 am

Redstorm wrote:
cheowkwen wrote:Hi, I'm currently working in US for 1 month, found the Garmin Nuvi 40 is on good price in US and the features are good enough for me too. I'm wishing to buy this unit and will use it for about 1 month in US. But when I back to Malaysia, I wish to load the Malaysia map.

But I'm not sure is the MSM map can be used with this model as this model is quite new.

Can someone please advise? Just wanna be sure this model can be used with MSM Malaysia before I buy.
As long as it is a Garmin, regardless of whether it is the newest or an older model, you can download and use our maps. No problem at all.
Looking at the review, the only thing that is probably a serious consideration for you to decide is whether the Junction View and Lane Assist can work in Singapore. So far only localised version of the Garmin units can use this two features. Other units produced for other markets cannot used these features in MY and SG even thought the units have them.
I don't have free fish......

cheowkwen
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 10:27 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 40
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#285 Post by cheowkwen » Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:45 am

But i thought the MSM NT 5.xx consists JVC also but it is still limited to certain places in MYS and it is still updating. Right?

Another question is, once is the MSM NT 5.xx consist also POI as well? Or just the map?

User avatar
nazrose
Qualified Mapper
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:07 am
GPS: Garmin 60CSx + GA25MCX
Location: Seberang Jerteh, Besut...
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#286 Post by nazrose » Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:06 am

cheowkwen wrote:But i thought the MSM NT 5.xx consists JVC also but it is still limited to certain places in MYS and it is still updating. Right?

yup,, thats right

Another question is, once is the MSM NT 5.xx consist also POI as well? Or just the map?
Both maps MSM NT 5.xx and MSM NT 2011.xx consist POI as well..
:D

cheowkwen
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 10:27 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 40
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#287 Post by cheowkwen » Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:03 pm

Hi guys, thanks for the advise. I've bought the Garmin Nuvi 40 from one of the local store here. Just finish doing register with Garmin and updated the device firmware and the preloaded map. Now i want to load the MSM map into my SD lo....hehe...

User avatar
cruiser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 2823
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:43 pm
GPS: SGS Mp4 5.0, S2+S3, S4; TT GO 910+950; Nüvi® 3790 SG/MY, 1490Tv, 775T & 650.
Location: Haagse Duinen
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#288 Post by cruiser » Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:11 pm

You must be excited for sure... ;) :drive: Drive carefully and watch out for Police Ambush!!! :mrgreen: :thumbsup:
:tracking: Recent caption
I do not claim copyright on the images (when it's not mine) displayed. The image(s) are only added to accentuate &/or amuse my posts.

cheowkwen
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 10:27 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 40
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#289 Post by cheowkwen » Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:45 pm

Haha, i've loaded the MSM NT v5.31 into the SD card and tried it with my new Garmin Nuvi 40, seems working fine. I'm able to find the POI when I set it to stimulator mode.

Thanks a lot, guys. This is the best GPS forum and thanks for those people who pay their effort to update the map. :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :tq: :tq: :tq:

User avatar
HighlandPathFinder
Qualified Mapper
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:48 am
GPS: Montana 650
Garmin GPSmap 76CSx, 60CSx, 62s
Garmin Mobile XT in Nokia N95 8GB, Nokia N8
Location: Miri, Sarawak
Contact:

Re: Can My GPS use MSM? [If not sure, pls ask before buying]

#290 Post by HighlandPathFinder » Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:47 pm

cheowkwen wrote:Haha, i've loaded the MSM NT v5.31 into the SD card and tried it with my new Garmin Nuvi 40, seems working fine. I'm able to find the POI when I set it to stimulator mode.

Thanks a lot, guys. This is the best GPS forum and thanks for those people who pay their effort to update the map. :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :tq: :tq: :tq:
Glad to know that you love it. We will continue our level best to update our map and your contribution will definitely help it grows further.
UR What U Think UR

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests