Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

Post and upload your tracks, waypoints, error reports and feedbacks HERE (ADVANCED USERS)

Moderators: Moderators, Mappers

Forum rules
POSTING FEEDBACK
You can post feedback via the forum interface or by using the Malsingmaps Garmin Webmap. Either way works for us. When you post a feedback, just ensure that your feedback goes to the right locality. That's it! Thanks for your support!
Message
Author
User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#31 Post by SilverBeauty » Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:02 am

yongster7 wrote:
What is a satellite lock ? I am still able to select " View Map " and it gives me the correct position while i am driving , the only issue I have is that it couldn't route from A to B hence can't give me any directions.

Bro younster, your problem is really one for the X-files. ](*,)

A GPS does not discriminate cross borders across different countries.

Question : Does your really work in Klang, Malaysia ? :-?

All the diagnosis points to a possible faulty GPS ... :-k :-'

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#32 Post by ace » Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:31 am

Guys, there is one last thing that I think we have not try... :-k

When did he buy his set? Or when did he last update the firmware?
I don't have free fish......

User avatar
onetree710
Senior Mapper
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:07 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 205W, 1350, 60CSX
Location: PJ, Selangor
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#33 Post by onetree710 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:30 pm

yongster7 wrote:What is a satellite lock ? I am still able to select " View Map " and it gives me the correct position while i am driving , the only issue I have is that it couldn't route from A to B hence can't give me any directions.
Have you delete all your user data?
view your map contributions at masmap online

yongster7
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:20 pm
GPS: Garmin 765
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#34 Post by yongster7 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:58 pm

SilverBeauty wrote:
yongster7 wrote:
What is a satellite lock ? I am still able to select " View Map " and it gives me the correct position while i am driving , the only issue I have is that it couldn't route from A to B hence can't give me any directions.

Bro younster, your problem is really one for the X-files. ](*,)

A GPS does not discriminate cross borders across different countries.

Question : Does your really work in Klang, Malaysia ? :-?

All the diagnosis points to a possible faulty GPS ... :-k :-'
SilverBeauty , affirmative it works in the Klang Valley , no problem at all , I just seem to have this problem when I came back to Singapore.
ace wrote:Guys, there is one last thing that I think we have not try... :-k

When did he buy his set? Or when did he last update the firmware?
Ace , I bought my set at the end of 2009 , it comes as a free gift when I bought my car at Volvo Singapore.

Software version 4.3
Volvo Dealers 3.0
GPS 2.90
DSP 2.40
Text 2.50
Voice 1.90
onetree710 wrote:
yongster7 wrote:What is a satellite lock ? I am still able to select " View Map " and it gives me the correct position while i am driving , the only issue I have is that it couldn't route from A to B hence can't give me any directions.
Have you delete all your user data?
onetree , I have did a hard reset as instructed by the guys in this forum , I did check the data and all favorites and customized stuff are back to default.

jasonlee
Senior Mapper
Posts: 2075
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:44 pm
GPS: Magellan Meridian Color
Garmin Nuvi 200, 260, 1460, 2465, 2576R, 3560 & Etrex 30
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#35 Post by jasonlee » Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:23 pm

If you can show your GPS to one of the Sifu in Singapore, it can very quickly be determined if it is an operational or configurational issue or your set needs to go into ICU.

Unfortunately you are too far from Penang for me to help.
Lean not on your own understanding

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#36 Post by ace » Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:22 pm

I was wondering....why the error occurs?

And if I read this issue correctly, it could means that he is routing from two saved POIs or to a saved POI from his current position.

I do know that sometimes the exact location of POI on the map could put it out of alignment after the map is updated. So maybe, he could try reacquiring the POI from the map again and see if the routing error would still occurs.
I don't have free fish......

yongster7
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:20 pm
GPS: Garmin 765
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#37 Post by yongster7 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:54 pm

ace wrote:I was wondering....why the error occurs?

And if I read this issue correctly, it could means that he is routing from two saved POIs or to a saved POI from his current position.

I do know that sometimes the exact location of POI on the map could put it out of alignment after the map is updated. So maybe, he could try reacquiring the POI from the map again and see if the routing error would still occurs.
Ace, sounds very logical , i always route from present location to POI in the map.

How do I reacquire the POI from the map again ?

User avatar
SilverBeauty
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 4924
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Pioneer AVH-P8450BT
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad2
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#38 Post by SilverBeauty » Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:56 am

yongster7 wrote:
ace wrote:I was wondering....why the error occurs?

And if I read this issue correctly, it could means that he is routing from two saved POIs or to a saved POI from his current position.

I do know that sometimes the exact location of POI on the map could put it out of alignment after the map is updated. So maybe, he could try reacquiring the POI from the map again and see if the routing error would still occurs.
Ace, sounds very logical , i always route from present location to POI in the map.

How do I reacquire the POI from the map again ?

What bro ace means is to navigate from-to an embedded POI in map vs personal POIs in "favourites of Nuvi"
For example Fullerton Hotel ( N1.28611 E103.85279 ) to Park Royal Hotel Beach Road ( N1.30014 E103.86048 )

Sometimes if a POI is placed too far from a road, this could cause the error as what you experienced.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ace
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: Nuvi 2565, Nuvi 255W, HP iPaq 3715 with Rikaline 6033 (retired), Mapking G10 (retired)
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#39 Post by ace » Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:00 am

In simple terms....

Don't use the POI that you have saved in your Favourites.

Look for another Point of Interest in the new map or search for a familiar POI in the new map. And route to the new POI and see if the error occurs again.
I don't have free fish......

yongster7
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:20 pm
GPS: Garmin 765
Contact:

Re: Error : Cannot Calculate the Route

#40 Post by yongster7 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:39 pm

ace wrote:In simple terms....

Don't use the POI that you have saved in your Favourites.

Look for another Point of Interest in the new map or search for a familiar POI in the new map. And route to the new POI and see if the error occurs again.
yea that's what i did , the error is the same regardless whether it's from favorites or new POI in the map

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests