Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:53 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Asus A696
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:35 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 4:31 am
Posts: 1
GPS: asus a696
Hi, I am new in this forum and would like to seek the experts advise. I have this problem
Everytime Mapking 2007 activated it prompt me to a wrong direction, it take a while to be stable, and sometime traveling halfway, it will prompt me to turn left and immediate it prompt again to turn right, where it actually on a straight road. I really get confuse where to turn, does anybody got this problem ?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 6:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:07 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Singapore, Sembawang
GPS: MapKing 2007 (Asus P535)
I do have a bit of your stated problem but not as serious as what you have described. I am using the Asus P535 with Mapking 2007.
My problem is mainly at the beginning and I believe that might be understandable. Once the vehile is moving, it will know where the direction that you are heading.

It seem to be that Mapking will ask you to make a U-turn (if you have miss the turn) when it comes across an intersection, even if there is no U-turn sign or simply impossible even you try to make an "un-official" one. It will also warn you of the speed camera even if you are traveling at the different roads. Look like it is a pure location based (the camera is on top of the expressway while I am below).

Anyway, it is better than having none at all. Although GPS is not a new technology but, it is relatively new to general user. Endure just for a few more years and it will be matured by then.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Asus A696
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:45 pm
Posts: 3
GPS: ASUS MyPal A696. MapKing 10
Hello, I just bought a GPS/PDA brand Asus Mypal A696. Bought 2nd hand from a friend of mine act. Thanks to him for supplying Mapking G10 for my gps. Here, I found there's also map for garmin. May i know, can i install map for garmin as well in my A696? Thank you.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:25 pm 
Offline
Veteran
Veteran

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:02 am
Posts: 593
Location: Bdr Baru Bangi
GPS: PAPAGO M9; nuvi 205W
my short answer : can
if you want to know how then you have to do the work of reading the wiki section first :)

_________________
ask not (just) what malsingmaps can do for you
ask what you can do for malsingmaps (also)


Last edited by bartmp8 on Tue Jan 08, 2008 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Moved from Newbie Lounge


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:45 pm
Posts: 3
GPS: ASUS MyPal A696. MapKing 10
ajay wrote:
my short answer : can
if you want to know how then you have to do the work of reading the wiki section first :)


TQVM bro, now I can surf my GPS amicably. One more think, I find lot of useful waypoint supplies with Garmin format *.gdb but mine is using *.G10. Is there any ways that I can convert it into G10?

Thanks


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: ASUS A696
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:54 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:18 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Bishan, SG
GPS: Garmin nuvi 360
Hi,

I am new here. Just want to find out whether the map here can be downloaded to ASUS A696


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: ASUS A696
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:05 pm 
Offline
Councillor
Councillor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 984
Location: Klang, Selangor
GPS: Nuvi1350 and Google Maps Android
Did you try doing search.php?keywords=a696 ? :-k

_________________
The world is my 4sq venue!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 9:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:49 am
Posts: 22
GPS: Garmin GPSmap 60CS; PDA with BT GPS module
I tried the instructions in the Wiki for GPSProxy and Garmin Que installations for Asus A696 but found to be inoperable (I have a Taiwanese language version so that might be different). After some trial and error I found the following settings worked.

Asus A696 (Built-In GPS)

* Settings->System->GPS
o GPS program port : None
o GPS hardware port : None
o Access : Check "Manage GPS automatically"

* GPSProxy2.2c:(has to install the "Normal" version)
* Menu->Virtual COM Ports
o Virtual Com Port Number : COM9

* Menu->Extensions->NMEA Input
o GPS Com Port:
+ Port Type:COM Port
+ Com Port: COM5(serial 3)
+ Baud rate: 4800 (previously set to 56000)

* Output COM Port
o
+ Port Type:COM Port
+ GPS Com Port: COM9 (GPSProxy Virtual Com Port)
+ Baud rate: 4800

* Menu->Extensions->Garmin Protocol Output
o Application Com Port: COM9
+ Port Type:COM Port
+ GPS Com Port: COM9 (GPSProxy Virtual COM)
+ Baud rate: 4800

Can someone please try and see if it works, and if amendments needed to the Wiki section on A696.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:17 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:10 am
Posts: 2
GPS: Ipaq 6965
I am only a casula user of GPS and MalSing Maps. I purchased my PDA with GPS last year and have only occasionally used the GPS with older MalSing Map.

Sometimes I will like to contribute but since my GPS device is not a dedicated device I am not sure if the POIs I contribute will be accurate. :-?

Any seniors would like to comment? If not an issue, then I can start giving my 0.5 cts worth back to this forum.

Thank you


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:57 am 
Offline
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:54 pm
Posts: 4825
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra
GPS: Garmin Nüvi 1350, 3790T
Fenix
eTrex HcX
Panasonic ICE+Garmin
Samsung Note3
Apple iPad3
Calahan wrote:
I am only a casula user of GPS and MalSing Maps. I purchased my PDA with GPS last year and have only occasionally used the GPS with older MalSing Map.

Sometimes I will like to contribute but since my GPS device is not a dedicated device I am not sure if the POIs I contribute will be accurate. :-?

Any seniors would like to comment? If not an issue, then I can start giving my 0.5 cts worth back to this forum.

Thank you



:welcome: bro calahan :welcome: to malsingmaps.

You are welcome to contribute POIs. It does not need to originate from a Garmin / Mapking based GPS. All you need is to note down the GPS co-ordinates and co-relate it with Mapsource running in your PC / Lappy

Download the latest maps from here. viewtopic.php?f=26&t=31

Don't worry about it being mentioned that it is "Locked". It is only locked to being transferred to your Garmin hardware GPS. It is perfectly workable to run in your PC/Lappy.

Use Mapsource to generate a file xxx.gdb and post is in respective POI/Error reporting forum here. viewforum.php?f=24


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group