Dopod D810 / HTC P3600

Discussions on Palm /Windows Mobile PDA & PDA Phone + GPS combo

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
rickinson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:10 pm
GPS: nuvi 255w
Contact:

Dopod D810 / HTC P3600

#1 Post by rickinson » Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:31 pm

hi. callin all dopod d810 user. i was using asus p535 with mapking, now i have sold my asus p535 and im planning to buy dopod d810. how does dopod d810 performance with gps. i will be using mapking again with my d810. how is the performance ? hope u guys with d810 will will help me.

thanks guys !

runtime
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:57 am
GPS: Garmin nuvi 265W, D810 with internal GPS, Holux Slim240, iPhone TomTom
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: dopod d810

#2 Post by runtime » Sat Aug 18, 2007 7:32 pm

rickinson wrote:hi. callin all dopod d810 user. i was using asus p535 with mapking, now i have sold my asus p535 and im planning to buy dopod d810. how does dopod d810 performance with gps. i will be using mapking again with my d810. how is the performance ? hope u guys with d810 will will help me.

thanks guys !


Hi,

I have been using D810 with the internal GPS module or Holux Slim240 but I am only using it with GPSProxy and Garmin Que. It is quite good. I could get the fix quite fast provided you stay stationary for maybe 2 min.

I used to be using D810 with wm5 and had problem with GPSProxy getting a com port. After upgrading to wm6, the problem seems to be solve and no com port problem anymore.

Hope that would help a bit.

roddersg
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:50 am
GPS: Note 3, Garmin Nuvi 1350
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: dopod d810

#3 Post by roddersg » Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:54 am

The Dopod 810 works fine with Mapking 2007, also tried it with Garmin Que and GpsGate as well on both WM5 and WM6.
I find mapking a little laggy and had to turn up the sensitivity to 2 for more accurate results.

Will be trying it out with an external GPS end of the month as I want to use my Dopod more as phone/PDA and emergency GPS rather than a dedicated on.

You should have no problems.

demoer
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:42 am
GPS: Dopod D810
Contact:

Re: dopod d810

#4 Post by demoer » Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:52 am

Hi,

I have the dopod D810 for about 2-3 months now. I am using Garmin Que in combination with GPSgate and it works perfectly. Mapking also works fine.
Time to get a fixed position is a bit slow but I guess normal for an internal GPS reciever.

drthein71
Regular
Regular
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:50 pm
GPS: Dopod d810 on Mapking 2007 and Garmin Que
Nuvi 310
Location: KL
Contact:

Re: dopod d810

#5 Post by drthein71 » Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:02 pm

Have been using Mapking 2007 and Garmin Que with GPS gate on my D810. No problems logging on. I find the Mapking interface is more user friendly with better graphics compared to Garmin Que.
I'll like to contribute POIs via the Garmin but after going through the entire WIKI on contributing POIs and map errors I'm still confused...keeps mentioning about GPS proxy 2.2 but there's no GPS proxy on my Garmin Que but it's the GPS gate.Are they similar. I found the track log function on the GArmin Que and able to view my tracks on the PDA but how do I transfer them to the PC ( to be posted for errors/ POIs ?) Hope some experts out there can guide me. Really appreciate that.
Cheers

Willyloke
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:56 pm
GPS: N95 And Dopod D810
Contact:

Re: dopod d810

#6 Post by Willyloke » Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:31 pm

hi guys i'm new to this GPS thingy just bought my D810 wonder where do i buy Mapking or Garmin GPS softwares or is it available free pls pardon me anyone can help thks a million

neskafeice
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 5:13 pm
GPS: D810+Qualcomm MSM 6275
Contact:

Re: dopod d810

#7 Post by neskafeice » Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:06 am

i bought my d810 about a month ago. until now, in term of performance my gadget works well with mapking. no major problem. once we select the destination and voila "gps navigation started" :thumbsup:

ajay
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:02 am
GPS: PAPAGO M9; nuvi 205W
Location: Bdr Baru Bangi
Contact:

Re: dopod d810

#8 Post by ajay » Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:17 am

it's good to know that que + gpsproxy is ok on D810 with WM6. now considering to purchase...
ask not (just) what malsingmaps can do for you
ask what you can do for malsingmaps (also)

cititank
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:39 pm
GPS: None
Contact:

Re: dopod d810

#9 Post by cititank » Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:10 pm

Hi all sifu,

I have install QUE and GPSProxyn into my D810. When I install GPSProxy, it pop up error message that missing "netcf.core.ppc3.arm.cab". May I know is this file really needed? Beside, even got error during installation, I still can run the GPSProxy. however, I cannot detect any satelist signal.

By the way, is built in GPS unit under com9?

Many thanks in advance....

cititank
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:39 pm
GPS: None
Contact:

Re: dopod d810

#10 Post by cititank » Fri Aug 31, 2007 7:47 am

Hi all sifu, Finally, I got it work... currently I am using WM5, Garmin Que and GPSProxy2.2....

cititank wrote:Hi all sifu,

I have install QUE and GPSProxyn into my D810. When I install GPSProxy, it pop up error message that missing "netcf.core.ppc3.arm.cab". May I know is this file really needed? Beside, even got error during installation, I still can run the GPSProxy. however, I cannot detect any satelist signal.

By the way, is built in GPS unit under com9?

Many thanks in advance....

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest