Malsingmaps Forum

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 8:25 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 211 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 22  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Mapper
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
Posts: 3027
Location: Sandakan
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
GMXT - PDA, GMXT - Nokia and GMXT - Sony Ericsson (GMXT Capable)
has been merged in this topic


GMXT - Nokia/Symbian Phones

A) MSM/Garmin NT Format Maps for Non Localised Units - Free but requires Unlock Code
(Click to read the whole topic, Latest map is the one with the highest number value - 2010.XX)


B) Find the In-house MSM NT Format Maps in this Sub-Forum - Free and Unlocked
(Latest Map is the one with the highest number value - v5.xx)


Click Here for:

1) Bro Sootoon's Symbian S60 NEWBIE GUIDE BY NEWBIE & Questions & Guide Part1

2) GMXT - Nokia Symbian: Questions & Guide Part2
3) Nokia Sports Tracker
4) Nokia Sports Tracker User Guide

GMXT - PDA

A) MSM/Garmin NT Format Maps for Non Localised Units - Free but requires Unlock Code
(Click to read the whole topic, Latest map is the one with the highest number value - 2010.XX)

B) Find the In-house MSM NT Format Maps in this Sub-Forum - Free and Unlocked
(Latest Map is the one with the highest number value - v5.xx)


Click Here for:

1) GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 1
2) GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2
3) Proxy/Que - PDA Questions & Guide
4) Touch Diamond & GMXT
5) HTC without SD Slot
6) DIY Garmin Mobile XT for HP, PDA and Palm

ATTENTION GMXT USERS

Zeus73 wrote:
To use MSM NT on GMXT, you also need to change the file name.
    gmapprom1.img -> gmapsupp.img
    gmapprom1.unl -> gmapsupp.unl

The map is to be placed in the "Garmin" folder of SD card.


For certain SE models running on UIQ3.0 which supports GMXT
Try also this - DIY Garmin Mobile XT for HP, PDA and Palm


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:39 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:47 pm
Posts: 4
GPS: p1i
Hi there guys,

I tried to read clearly and I've downloaded the GMXT 4.10.60 for UIQ3 on my P1i. I followed step by step and downloaded the Malsing unlocked map into the Garmin folder as instructed. But however when i view map, there is no map shown,

I'm not planning to have any GPS10X at the moment as I only want to view the map on my phone. Nothing more than that. Still I can't seem to figure out what is actually wrong. Under the 'Map Sets' and also 'About' in the tools and settings, I can see that the map is inside the phone but still no map shown under 'View Map'.

Where have I got it wrong actually? Thanks in advance for any answers. Cheers.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: P1i no map problem
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:59 pm 
Offline
Tracker
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 4:28 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Putrajaya / Kitakyushu
GPS: 60csx / 10x + GMXT / Holux M-1000 / GMPC on 901eeepc / Garmin-Asus M10
You need another file "gmapbmap.img" (world basemap) in your garmin folder so that you can see your initial position when you are not connected to any gps device (10x)....than you can manually navigate to malsingmap. :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: P1i no map problem
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:03 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
The default location if you've never had a GPS fix is somewhere in the US. You've got to simulate a New Location somewhere within the map, to "see" the map. Not sure about UIQ MXT, but in WM MXT, the setting is at [Settings] [System] [Remote GPS] [GPS Info] [New Location], zoom out, browse to desired location, zoom in and select. And as stated by Baba, having a Basemap will definitely help this process, get it here (if you don't have it already): http://www8.garmin.com/support/download ... sp?id=3645

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: P1i no map problem
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:47 pm
Posts: 4
GPS: p1i
Would try it out now. Thanks for the tip.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: P1i no map problem
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:17 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:47 pm
Posts: 4
GPS: p1i
Alright, got it working. And now to contribute, i download the latest open map for mapsource and start contributing rite? Got it. Thanks mate and Happy Chinese New Year to those who are celebrating.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: P1i no map problem
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:31 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
leryee wrote:
...
i download the latest open map for mapsource and start contributing rite? Got it.
...

Make sure it's this one -> viewtopic.php?f=26&t=31

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: P1i no map problem
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:54 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:40 pm
Posts: 2
GPS: none
Hello Everybody,

I also need your expert comments to my problem. I have the same problem as above. I have Dopod 818 Pro and have downloaded Garmin Que on that. I don't intend to buy a GPS device now, but I want to see the map on my PDA. I have downloaded base map also on my PDA. Now I can see the base map. I also changed the default location in Malaysia, but still I am unable to see the detailed map. I have copied the deltailed all in one open map in the garmin folder at my storage card.

Hope to get a solution from you all.

Thank is advance.
Rgds


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: P1i no map problem
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:05 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
Posts: 2887
Location: KUL, MY
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Looking at the Free GMAPSUPP.IMG download page, there's 2 versions of GMAPSUPP.IMG, only 1 is compatible with Que, did you get the right one? And how did you actually change the default location to Malaysia?

_________________
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: P1i no map problem
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:40 pm
Posts: 2
GPS: none
Thanks A lot dvpro. I got this map working. I again downloaded the map from the link given by you. I was wondering how come it was not working earlier as earlier I had downloaded the file from the malsingmaps download page, when its seem to be of same size.

Its not actually default location I changed, I put a new location at malaysia. As told by you above. Sorry for my wrong wordings.

Once again thanks for your prompt reply and help.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 211 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 22  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group