GMXT - Questions & Guide Part3

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
bartmp8
Senior Mapper
Posts: 3059
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:35 pm
GPS: GPSV(r),10X+PDA(r),Nuvi200(r),VistaHCx, 60CSx, Nuvi765(r),Oregon550 & Nuvi3790 (from Redstorm)
Location: Sandakan
Contact:

GMXT - Questions & Guide Part3

#1 Post by bartmp8 » Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:35 pm

GMXT - PDA, GMXT - Nokia and GMXT - Sony Ericsson (GMXT Capable)
has been merged in this topic


GMXT - Nokia/Symbian Phones

A) MSM/Garmin NT Format Maps for Non Localised Units - Free but requires Unlock Code
(Click to read the whole topic, Latest map is the one with the highest number value - 2010.XX)


B) Find the In-house MSM NT Format Maps in this Sub-Forum - Free and Unlocked
(Latest Map is the one with the highest number value - v5.xx)


Click Here for:

1) Bro Sootoon's Symbian S60 NEWBIE GUIDE BY NEWBIE & Questions & Guide Part1

2) GMXT - Nokia Symbian: Questions & Guide Part2
3) Nokia Sports Tracker
4) Nokia Sports Tracker User Guide

GMXT - PDA

A) MSM/Garmin NT Format Maps for Non Localised Units - Free but requires Unlock Code
(Click to read the whole topic, Latest map is the one with the highest number value - 2010.XX)

B) Find the In-house MSM NT Format Maps in this Sub-Forum - Free and Unlocked
(Latest Map is the one with the highest number value - v5.xx)


Click Here for:

1) GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 1
2) GMXT - PDA: Questions and Guide Part 2
3) Proxy/Que - PDA Questions & Guide
4) Touch Diamond & GMXT
5) HTC without SD Slot
6) DIY Garmin Mobile XT for HP, PDA and Palm

ATTENTION GMXT USERS

Zeus73 wrote:To use MSM NT on GMXT, you also need to change the file name.
    gmapprom1.img -> gmapsupp.img
    gmapprom1.unl -> gmapsupp.unl

The map is to be placed in the "Garmin" folder of SD card.


For certain SE models running on UIQ3.0 which supports GMXT
Try also this - DIY Garmin Mobile XT for HP, PDA and Palm

leryee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:47 pm
GPS: p1i
Contact:

GMXT - Sony Ericsson: Questions & Guide

#2 Post by leryee » Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:39 pm

Hi there guys,

I tried to read clearly and I've downloaded the GMXT 4.10.60 for UIQ3 on my P1i. I followed step by step and downloaded the Malsing unlocked map into the Garmin folder as instructed. But however when i view map, there is no map shown,

I'm not planning to have any GPS10X at the moment as I only want to view the map on my phone. Nothing more than that. Still I can't seem to figure out what is actually wrong. Under the 'Map Sets' and also 'About' in the tools and settings, I can see that the map is inside the phone but still no map shown under 'View Map'.

Where have I got it wrong actually? Thanks in advance for any answers. Cheers.

User avatar
baba
Tracker
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 4:28 pm
GPS: 60csx / 10x + GMXT / Holux M-1000 / GMPC on 901eeepc / Garmin-Asus M10
Location: Putrajaya / Kitakyushu
Contact:

Re: P1i no map problem

#3 Post by baba » Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:59 pm

You need another file "gmapbmap.img" (world basemap) in your garmin folder so that you can see your initial position when you are not connected to any gps device (10x)....than you can manually navigate to malsingmap. :mrgreen:

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: P1i no map problem

#4 Post by dvpro » Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:03 pm

The default location if you've never had a GPS fix is somewhere in the US. You've got to simulate a New Location somewhere within the map, to "see" the map. Not sure about UIQ MXT, but in WM MXT, the setting is at [Settings] [System] [Remote GPS] [GPS Info] [New Location], zoom out, browse to desired location, zoom in and select. And as stated by Baba, having a Basemap will definitely help this process, get it here (if you don't have it already): http://www8.garmin.com/support/download ... sp?id=3645
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

leryee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:47 pm
GPS: p1i
Contact:

Re: P1i no map problem

#5 Post by leryee » Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:10 pm

Would try it out now. Thanks for the tip.

leryee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:47 pm
GPS: p1i
Contact:

Re: P1i no map problem

#6 Post by leryee » Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:17 pm

Alright, got it working. And now to contribute, i download the latest open map for mapsource and start contributing rite? Got it. Thanks mate and Happy Chinese New Year to those who are celebrating.

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: P1i no map problem

#7 Post by dvpro » Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:31 pm

leryee wrote:...
i download the latest open map for mapsource and start contributing rite? Got it.
...

Make sure it's this one -> viewtopic.php?f=26&t=31
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

dyet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:40 pm
GPS: none
Contact:

Re: P1i no map problem

#8 Post by dyet » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:54 am

Hello Everybody,

I also need your expert comments to my problem. I have the same problem as above. I have Dopod 818 Pro and have downloaded Garmin Que on that. I don't intend to buy a GPS device now, but I want to see the map on my PDA. I have downloaded base map also on my PDA. Now I can see the base map. I also changed the default location in Malaysia, but still I am unable to see the detailed map. I have copied the deltailed all in one open map in the garmin folder at my storage card.

Hope to get a solution from you all.

Thank is advance.
Rgds

User avatar
dvpro
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2887
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:37 pm
GPS: Handheld, PDA Based
Location: KUL, MY
Contact:

Re: P1i no map problem

#9 Post by dvpro » Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:05 pm

Looking at the Free GMAPSUPP.IMG download page, there's 2 versions of GMAPSUPP.IMG, only 1 is compatible with Que, did you get the right one? And how did you actually change the default location to Malaysia?
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

dyet
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:40 pm
GPS: none
Contact:

Re: P1i no map problem

#10 Post by dyet » Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:33 pm

Thanks A lot dvpro. I got this map working. I again downloaded the map from the link given by you. I was wondering how come it was not working earlier as earlier I had downloaded the file from the malsingmaps download page, when its seem to be of same size.

Its not actually default location I changed, I put a new location at malaysia. As told by you above. Sorry for my wrong wordings.

Once again thanks for your prompt reply and help.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests