GPS Satellite Aquisition Problem

NEWBIES, USE THIS FORUM AS YOUR FIRST STOP. Seniors will guide you on whether to obtain info and which forum to post your queries.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
scarlet38
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:13 pm
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 200
Contact:

Nuvi 200 No Satellite Signal At All??

#1 Post by scarlet38 » Sat Feb 23, 2008 5:27 pm

I have been using my Garmin Nuvi 200 since Nov and yesterday, when I turn it on it does not seem to get any satellite signals at all...did hard reset & others like going open areas but to no avail. Any idea what's wrong with it??

User avatar
GPSPowered
Regular
Regular
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:18 pm
GPS: Authorised Garmin Retailer at Digital Mall, PJ.
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 200 No Satellite Signal At All??

#2 Post by GPSPowered » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:51 am

This is common among GPSr, especially for Nuvi. Please send it for warranty.

Cheers, Kelvin.

User avatar
ahbahari
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:41 pm
GPS: Nuvi 200 v3.4; eTrex Vista HCx + PC mobile Re Radiating antenna
Location: KL, Johor and Perak
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 200 No Satellite Signal At All??

#3 Post by ahbahari » Sun Feb 24, 2008 6:23 pm

scarlet38 wrote:I have been using my Garmin Nuvi 200 since Nov and yesterday, when I turn it on it does not seem to get any satellite signals at all...did hard reset & others like going open areas but to no avail. Any idea what's wrong with it??
Bro

Have you check your setting?

Make sure the GPS is in off mode :rolleyes:
Come on Gunners..

User avatar
aceedburn
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 596
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:44 pm
GPS: nüvi 42LM
Location: Where the music plays...
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 200 No Satellite Signal At All??

#4 Post by aceedburn » Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:13 pm

ahbahari wrote:
scarlet38 wrote:I have been using my Garmin Nuvi 200 since Nov and yesterday, when I turn it on it does not seem to get any satellite signals at all...did hard reset & others like going open areas but to no avail. Any idea what's wrong with it??
Bro

Have you check your setting?

Make sure the GPS is in off mode :rolleyes:
you mean gps simulation in off mode!
GPS & Music, can live with it, can't live without it.
http://soundcloud.com/rknair

User avatar
kepiting1sg
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:50 pm
GPS: Nuvi 360, Nuvi 670, GVN53, GPSMAP® 60CSx, Nuvi 1460, Nuvi 3790V, Nuvi 2565LM,
Location: Pleasure Island
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 200 No Satellite Signal At All??

#5 Post by kepiting1sg » Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:49 pm

scarlet38 wrote:I have been using my Garmin Nuvi 200 since Nov and yesterday, when I turn it on it does not seem to get any satellite signals at all...did hard reset & others like going open areas but to no avail. Any idea what's wrong with it??

Hard Reset by pressing the lower right corner only clear user data.

Try to see whether you can get into Maintenance Mode i.e
Turn on the power and press on the top left corner of the screen.

Once you are in Maintenance Mode, clear way points and restart again.
I think you might have send POIs to your Nuvi 200 by PC/Lap top and has manually deleted some of them from your Nuvi 200.

Good Luck!
Image
Cheers!

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 200 No Satellite Signal At All??

#6 Post by Redstorm » Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:34 pm

kepiting1sg wrote:
scarlet38 wrote:I have been using my Garmin Nuvi 200 since Nov and yesterday, when I turn it on it does not seem to get any satellite signals at all...did hard reset & others like going open areas but to no avail. Any idea what's wrong with it??

Hard Reset by pressing the lower right corner only clear user data.

Try to see whether you can get into Maintenance Mode i.e
Turn on the power and press on the top left corner of the screen.

Once you are in Maintenance Mode, clear way points and restart again.
I think you might have send POIs to your Nuvi 200 by PC/Lap top and has manually deleted some of them from your Nuvi 200.

Good Luck!
Before you do a hard reset, please backup your data i.e. favourites otherwise they will be wiped clean. I accidentally pressed something and before I could say NO, it did a reset and my favourites were all gone. :cry:
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

User avatar
cruiser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 2823
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:43 pm
GPS: SGS Mp4 5.0, S2+S3, S4; TT GO 910+950; Nüvi® 3790 SG/MY, 1490Tv, 775T & 650.
Location: Haagse Duinen
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 200 No Satellite Signal At All??

#7 Post by cruiser » Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:10 pm

Redstorm wrote: Before you do a hard reset, please backup your data i.e. favourites otherwise they will be wiped clean. I accidentally pressed something and before I could say NO, it did a reset and my favourites were all gone. :cry:


I almost went thru that last night Bro Reddy... :-k but thanks for my eyes and still controlled self... I paused a sec and ran a rerun of my "internal" cache with a deep "chi" routine :prayer: and VOILA!!.... \:D/ my favorites remained and a new planned destination saved for the undertaking when in the UK at several new destinations!!!

_________________

Hotels & Lodgings ~ Cheaper Rentals ~ Invest in Resort Condos & Villas ~ Investment Tours ~ PayPal Calculator
Image ~ Tournaments << Black Mountain Golf & Realty >> Animation – Interested? Contact at this >> Email.
>> WiKi Smart move or >> WiKi Basics or >> WiKi on PDA + BT >>SpeedTest HERE<< Nuvi Tutorial ~ I use GlareStomper® Shades
:tracking: Recent caption
I do not claim copyright on the images (when it's not mine) displayed. The image(s) are only added to accentuate &/or amuse my posts.

User avatar
ahbahari
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:41 pm
GPS: Nuvi 200 v3.4; eTrex Vista HCx + PC mobile Re Radiating antenna
Location: KL, Johor and Perak
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 200 No Satellite Signal At All??

#8 Post by ahbahari » Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:19 pm

cruiser wrote:
Redstorm wrote: Before you do a hard reset, please backup your data i.e. favourites otherwise they will be wiped clean. I accidentally pressed something and before I could say NO, it did a reset and my favourites were all gone. :cry:


I almost went thru that last night Bro Reddy... :-k but thanks for my eyes and still controlled self... I paused a sec and ran a rerun of my "internal" cache with a deep "chi" routine :prayer: and VOILA!!.... \:D/ my favorites remained and a new planned destination saved for the undertaking when in the UK at several new destinations!!!

_________________

Hotels & Lodgings ~ Cheaper Rentals ~ Invest in Resort Condos & Villas ~ Investment Tours ~ PayPal Calculator
Image ~ Tournaments << Black Mountain Golf & Realty >> Animation – Interested? Contact at this >> Email.
>> WiKi Smart move or >> WiKi Basics or >> WiKi on PDA + BT >>SpeedTest HERE<< Nuvi Tutorial ~ I use GlareStomper® Shades

Good for you bro

Whatever we doing, if not too sure just back up the data in our HD :mrgreen:
Come on Gunners..

petrolhd
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:50 pm
GPS: Garmin 200w
Contact:

GPS Satellite Aquisition Problem

#9 Post by petrolhd » Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:16 pm

Hi Bros,
I have a problem of slow satellite aquisition after driving out of a covered car park. It takes 6 to 7 mins to get to the 3rd bar. Is this normal. Otherwise the malsinmaps and poi's are excellent and this thing is a gem to use.

Oh BTW i have a 200W with the following firmware:

Software Version 2.90
Audio Version 2.20
GPS SW version 3.00s

Thanks.
Last edited by bartmp8 on Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited Title

sentravip
Regular
Regular
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:05 pm
GPS: Nuvi 200
Location: Anywhere
Contact:

Re: Slow in aquiring satellite signal

#10 Post by sentravip » Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:35 pm

If you completely lost satellite reception then turn off your unit, and restart, I think it shud be warm start, not hot start. Furthermore, by driving around, it doesn't help either. One shud stay put until one get a lockon.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests